We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Place”
Review of Dadhikar Fort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dadhikar Fort
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Alwar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2013

It's a good weekend getaway place from all the noise and pollution in the city. Good for one night and is very peaceful. It's a vegetarian place and the food is quite good. However, there's no room service so if you've missed the meal timings you need to wait for the next one. The staff is very courteous and helpful, especially the manager.

Definitely worth an experience!

Room Tip: Stayed in their suite but the jacuzzi doesn't work properly so not quite worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devvaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

went to celebrate my mom and dad 31st anniversary. Perfect place for a weekend getaway. We reached in two and a half hours. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Staff is cooperative and extremely courteous. Food was excellent, way beyond expectations. My whole family loved the food. Fort is beautiful and at perfect location. Totally worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

If you are looking for peace, good Rajasthani food, and quality time together, Dadhikar Fort is the place to go ! The scenery is breathtaking ! The staff is friendly and helpful. The food is totally vegetarian, and reminds you of typical Rajasthani home food, with things like Daal Baati Churma and Gatta and Sangri.

The rooms are good too ! We stayed at Kokilavan, which is great value for money, and a very good choice for couples as it is secluded and there is no disturbance. It opens into a courtyard of sorts where noone comes, so its better than most of the jharoka rooms. We had a look at some other rooms too, and all seemed nice and clean. We didn't find any insects and lizards as specified in some other reviews. The staff is helpful, though a bit slow in service.

There was a really nice Rajasthani troupe that performed for us in the evening. There aren't too many activities yet, as the place is relatively new. The approach road is unique, you cant see the fort till ur 200m away from it ! Ask for Bala quila in Alwar, and from there it is easy to find this fort.

The place is not very child friendly, as there are lot of open edges without railings and you need to take care of your child (but i guess this is expected in a fort). Also, dont eat the 'continental and italian' part of the food, stick with the Indian and Rajasthani. Also they dont have room service, which is a drawback. Overall, a serene experience, far away from the hustle and bustle of daily city life !

Room Tip: We stayed at Kokilavan, which is great value for money, and a very good choice for couples as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kumud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This hotel is great, very different from what you see in NCR. It’s very near to Alwar surrounded by Arawali hills the style is very cosmopolitan and very chic. The rooms are big and very clean, and the amenities are perfect. The service is amazing and you have a different test of Rajsthani culture with food. We have a great time with all principals and their family of Alwar Sahodya. Specially the lunch was so yummy.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent specially "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renu150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We are "westerners" who stayed at the fort for 2 nights w/our 2 young children. The valley where this fort lies is absolutely stunning. Some of the most beautiful scenery in India. The restoration of the fort took real vision and the rooms are lovely. Our room was near the back stairs above the staff room and we, unfortunately, had to listen to the staff talking & working and also to the staff that stand at the top of the stairs and then yell down to the staff at the bottom. This is not an inexpensive hotel by any means and it put a damper on our trip to listen to this while trying to fall asleep. I have a few other "suggestions" for this property which would definitely make me want to return..... 1) The front desk area where you check-in is located in such a peculiar place. Instead of utilizing the front entrance of the hotel, they have sandwiched it in a hallway on the way to their terrace where meals are served. I don't know why anyone is interested in seeing the front desk, surveillance cameras and paperwork every time they walk through to enjoy the terrace and/or have a meal. 2) The dinner buffet is served at 8 pm which was more like 8:30 when we were there. This is quite late for those that have children. Not to mention it is very, very cold outside in January and this is your only option of where to eat. It would be nice to offer the breakfast room w/some candles and nice music. Just an idea.... perhaps this hotel needs a feminine touch! The men (including what appeared to be the manager) walk around in a daze acting like they just opened the day before.
I will say that some of the staff was very sweet and were trying hard. It just didn't seem that they were trained properly. The food was quite good and they did have some very nice choices. All in all, it was a strange stay and I can't say that I would recommend this unless you are getting some amazing rate (we paid $150 for a suite w/3 main lights that did not work) and/or have patience for a start up hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangerkitty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This has the potential to be a fabulous hotel, but don't go now while it is under renovation. It was NOISY to the point of not being a pleasant visit. The staff and views are wonderful, the food amazing, but the workmen have no consideration for the guests - they worked late and started early, didn't know how not to shout to one another or keep their music low. The banging and shouting was constant. Also, they advertise that they are near Sariska Tiger Preserve when they are actually about an hour away. That is important when you have an early morning safari planned. We actually missed out jeep because we arrived at the preserve too late. Ended up in a larger vehicle with crying children and didn't (surprise, surprise) see any tigers. One other complaint - they advertised that they had wi-fi when in reality they have a surf-stick they'd rent to you. We enjoyed the food, but nowhere in their literature do they tell you it is 100% vegetarian.

Room Tip: Try to ascertain where the construction is going on and get as far away as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjdbjd1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This is a wonderful getaway option from Gurgaon. The property is about 3 hours drive and in the middle of a village. You get beautiful views of the terrain and village harvests. The last few km of approach is broken and rural, otherwise most of the ride is pretty good. There are several size and budget rooms, each with its own charm. Food is simple and tasty. Main drawback is that it is completely vegetarian! One can indulge in sports like TT and badminton and also watch TV and use library. Service is a little slow but everyone is there to look after needs. Food is served in setting overlooking hillock. Go and enjoy the quiet and peace

Room Tip: Choose from the larger rooms and if you are a large family go for the suite
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Vikram_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alwar hotels
10.3 mi away
Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli
29.1 mi away
Neemrana Fort-Palace
20.8 mi away
Sariska - Tiger Heaven, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Alwar Bagh (Sariska) by Aamod
7.8 mi away
Burja Haveli Hotel
Burja Haveli Hotel
#7 of 23 in Alwar
94 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Aravali
Hotel Aravali
#10 of 23 in Alwar
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dadhikar Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dadhikar Fort

Address: Village Dadhikar, Alwar 301001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Alwar District > Alwar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Alwar
Price Range: £52 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dadhikar Fort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dadhikar fort is a heritage property which has been converted in to heritage hotel, which is just 6 kms from alwar city and close to sariska tiger santuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dadhikar Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dadhikar Fort Alwar, India - Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing