We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place with zero hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Neemrana Fort-Palace
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Alwar
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Terrible place with zero hospitality”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Well let me start with checkin experience
1) Haphazard. No order. The staff is always on lookout of tips.
2) Restaurant. With the kind of price they charge, I would say 1/3rd variety. Service is very poor. You keep on waiting for dishes to refill. The staff response is rude and uncooperative. I had gone there with my 10 month old and whatever we ordered for him used to be served after 45 minutes. breakfast was mess as people were waiting for dishes to be served. During Billing they overcharged
3) Room. AC's ineffective. Noise in the AC. Bathroom. No water in faucet. Toilet seat was as if it was one start property. We ordered for towels and we didn't get any.
4) Ambience: No directions to find rooms. The whole setup is so confusing.

Good:
1) Evening folk dance. Snacks served in the evening.
2) Swimming pool is decent but without any life guard.

Inference: Not worth what they are charging for. 2 * property for me.

Room Tip: Dont Choose a room which is on top. you will get exhausted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashwanisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to learn that your stay at Neemrana Fort-Palace did not work out as expected. We are writing to apologise and to offer an explanation.

At the hotel reception, there are two desks separately designated for check-in and check-out with trained personnel to ensure smooth and quick check-in procedure. Also, on weekends usually the counters are a bit busier than usual. We apologise for the inconvenience caused.

With reference to the feedback about the food, please note that the lunch and dinner buffet includes approximately 15 dishes with a mixture of Indian, Chinese, and Continental cuisine including vegetarian and non-vegetarian soups, salads, starters, main courses, and various Indian and Continental breads and desserts. Do give our Chefs an opportunity and they will try and please you whenever you choose to visit next.

Also, in addition to the buffet we have recently introduced the Maha Burj thali restaurant that serves vegetarian and non-vegetarian Rajasthani thalis on weekends. The F&B staff has been given the necessary training to ensure quick service at the dining areas.

Do let us know the details of your stay and the room via email on the below mentioned address, so we may look into the problem at the bathroom and fix the same at the earliest.

As Neemrana is a 12 tiered property with hanging gardens and terraces, all guests are given a map of the property along with the welcome letter which has other information. We do have signage for public areas and meals. However, guests are requested to view the map which helps them discover various nooks and corners of the Fort.

We have noted all your observations and shall be taking the requisite action at the earliest. It is our endeavour to constantly improve our services and feedback such as yours helps us to do so.

We do hope that you will give us a chance to overlay your previous experience with a fresh and memorable one.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    598
    261
    91
    108
See reviews for
591
613
39
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

nice palace, needs better professional management. food needs improvement in quality and variety. Child policy not tourist friendly especially for nuclear or bigger families. Children below 12 should be free and above that till age of 15 should be charged half, at par with most of the hotels.
Linens and toiletries needs to be improved and so is the buffet spread. Changing rooms should be nearer to pools and Gym is totally neglected are. Better marking/ direction arrows should be there. Life guard at deep pool is must.

Overall a nice place but better food , management and child friendly policies would improve the staying experience.

Room Tip: fourth floor munna mahal is nearer to pool, eating area, gym and amhitheatre.for better view take u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimple P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about Neemrana Fort-Palace.

We have responded to a similar review from a fellow traveller from your group of family/friends.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We went to Neemrana fort palace after lot of discussion on nearby places for a night or two on the occasion of our wedding anniversary , as it happened to be on Tuesday so weekend packages were out . Neemrana has the advantage of being nearer to gurgaon and Delhi, just two hrs drive from Delhi. Our stay was comfortable as we have chosen a palace for three. It could comfortably house four of us. It is a nice property , staff is polite but not well trained. Food is not upto the mark, it has lot of room for improvement . It's rather expensive too. Neemrana policies are not family friendly . Children below 4 is free and children upto nine are charged fifty percent and any child above nine is charged full amount. Children upto 12 are considered free in most of the five stars and here it actually pinches you especially if you have children aged 10 and 11. Cost becomes double the expected amount ,neemrana group must consider this point . It's a great property but tourism friendly policies should be adopted.
Linen and curtain quality needs huge improvement . Toiletries should include small tooth paste and may be brushes . Direction to various parts of the fort are not clearly written / visible. Night lighting is one of the big plus point . I appreciate morning and evening complimentary tea, however the venues for it is so far that most of the guests miss it . Swimming pools are nice and it's really great to have two swimming pools. A life guard should be employed at deep pool. Changing rooms should be adjacent to pool but they are so far flung and difficult to locate that you are either force to return to your room or change in toilet . Bath robes at least for female guests should be provided at pool as there are no nearby changing room especially at deep pool. Gym seems to be most neglected part of the palace . There were no instructors and it's in shabby condition.

Overall it was a good experience as it's nearer Delhi, driving time is less,Road is good, many eateries are there on highway, property is great , only if it could be managed more professionally and tourist friendly policies, it will be great destination. Food is actually not worth the prices charged , they must work on it to improve quality and buffet should have more varieties .

Room Tip: Upper stories would have better view . Closer to swimming pool and dining area would save you too mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panwar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Neemrana Fort-Palace heritage resort near Delhi.
We are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay at Neemrana Fort-Palace, and had an easy journey to the hotel, it being close to Delhi and Gurgaon.

As you may be aware, Neemrana tries to employ as many local staff, who are often not educated. We put them through a training program, and try to empower them to run our local heritage with pride. We have shared the feedback with the Manager and the team.

With reference to the feedback about the food, please note that the lunch and dinner buffet includes approximately 15 dishes with a mixture of Indian, Chinese, and Continental cuisine including vegetarian and non-vegetarian soups, salads, starters, main courses, and various Indian and Continental breads and desserts. The child policy is framed keeping in mind the fixed and elaborate buffet system. Do give our Chefs an opportunity and they will try and please you whenever you choose to visit next.

We are surprised to read your feedback about the linen as regular checks are undertaken. However, the housekeeping department has been pulled up for the same. Also, toothpaste kits are available from the reception, and contain a toothbrush and toothpaste for guest use.

Also, all guests are given a map of the property along with the welcome letter which has other information. We do have signage for public areas and meals. However, guests are requested to view the map which helps them discover various nooks and corners of the Fort.

Regarding your feedback about the pool, bathrobes are placed in the higher category rooms and are available for guest use free of charge. Also, these are available near the pool area upon request.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon at our 27 properties across India!

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

pathetic !!!!, i booked a room as a gift to a honeymoon couple and was given 2 separate beds. I had also mentioned in the special request to do something good as they were a honeymoon couple, this is what they did. Crazy, it is the last thing one can expect from anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Buddhi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to learn that your planned visit to Neemrana Fort-Palace did not work out as expected.

We are writing to offer an explanation.
We have investigated the matter internally, and it has been found that this booking was routed to us through an Online Travel Agent that had requested for Baag Mahal clearly, knowing that the room has 2 single beds. Additionally, it was mentioned as part of the booking that the guests are a honeymoon couple. The concerned reservations personnel then contacted the Travel Agent repeatedly to inform that the room is not suitable for a couple; after which the confirmation for the same room along with the payment was received by our Delhi office.

We recommend contacting our Sales team about your requirements, so that they may be able to gladly assist you in finding suitable rooms whenever you choose to stay with us.

We do hope that you will give us a chance to overlay your previous experience with a fresh and memorable one.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Excellent week end break from Delhi. Converted 15century fort. Delhi was 45 degrees centigrade. So was Neemrana. However the fort was breezy and the swimming pool very inviting. Little nooks and crannies. Courtyards at different levels. Just simply enchanting. Only negative is there is no room service. Thus you have to join the buffet dinner which was elaborate but not of the highest culinary quality. Management is over fussed about bringing in any outside food , water, drinks etc even for consumption in your own room. Which is absurd. No where in the world does this happen. Authentic Japanese cuisine available right outside the fort.
The fort hotel is amazing and a must do for a weekend. Lots of uphill and downhill walking. Ditch the high heels.

Room Tip: Surya mahal is a two bedroom suite and very quaint. A stiff walk up to the pool and bar. But as a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MallikaNarayandelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Neemrana Fort-Palace resort near Delhi.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the property with its old-world charm and various areas to explore within.

With reference to the feedback about the food, please note that in addition to the elaborate lunch and dinner buffet we have recently introduced the Maha Burj thali restaurant that serves vegetarian and non-vegetarian Rajasthani thalis on weekends.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back at our 27 hotels across India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel in April 2014 with 3 of my friends. We had heard a lot about this hotel and after seeing pictures and reviews on TripAdvisor we thought of giving a visit to this place. It was an impromptu plan so we had no prior bookings and we left for this place in evening from Delhi around 6pm thinking that in case we don't get check in for any room we would at least have a nice dinner in this so called 5 star property but to our horror when we reached to the gate of this property around 8pm, guard at gate just started shouting rudely that property is closed. When we tried to enquire further he started shouting more louder saying the same thing that property is closed and go back. I mean he was a complete retard who didn't know anything except answering same thing for any question. We were so pissed off with his attitude that we instead preferred to talk to guests who were coming out of the hotel and then that gentleman told us that these guys at hotel don't allow outsiders to go in after 6pm, not even for a dinner (I mean which 5 star hotel does that?). Then we thought of booking a room and stay there for a night but again that idiot at gate started shouting saying that if you have no booking you can't be allowed to go in and their out of the world front desk gets closed after 6pm. This hotel has Complete insane rules and most pathetic person guarding the hotel at gate. We returned to delhi regretting our decision to visit this property and since then I have suggested a lot of people for not visiting this place who were even thinking about it in their mind. Pathetic stafffff.... Pathetic rules..!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jai b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about the Neemrana Fort-Palace heritage resort near Delhi.

With reference to your feedback about the entry into the hotel, please be informed that non-residents are allowed to enter the fort until 3pm only at an extra charge as a standard policy. Our website also mentions the same and hence the staff at the entry gate and the front desk is given instructions to communicate the same to all guests. Also, this entry charge can be partially adjusted against the lunch buffet and an overnight stay (in case the guests choose to avail of after they have entered the premises)

However, in case non-resident guests want to explore the fort after 3pm, they may do so only in case they communicate their preference of availing the dinner buffet to the front desk team.

The above guidelines are a part of Neemrana’s policy, owing to the fact that Neemrana Fort-Palace is a monument hotel.

The Neemrana philosophy is different from hotels where modern- day amenities are given priority over ambience and old-world charm. At Neemrana, we try and strike a balance between the two so that the past is not completely obliterated. We have never claimed to be a star-rated hotel and the property dates back to the 15th century.

We believe that our discerning travellers leave home to taste the 'difference' and seek authenticity rather than faked luxury. Your observations have been conveyed to the personnel concerned. Please be assured that the necessary corrective action has already been initiated.

It is our constant endeavour to improve our services and feedback such as yours helps us do the same. We do hope that you will give us an opportunity to overlay your past experience with a fresh and memorable one.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Nice, romantic, destination-kinda- hotel made by recent restoration of a 15th century fort. Each room is unique and has been named based on fort's usage by its inmates at that time. We stayed in Shringar Mahal which had a small room, a long vestibule leading to a large open- air bath. I could say it had a personal terrace as well (since it was not connected to any other room). Common areas of the fort have been lavishly decorated and maintained. swimming pools were good. Although buffet was limited but food was good.

i advise getting there in off-season when they offer flat 20% off on the rent. We went in august, had a comfortable stay...only issue creepy- crawlies which were just about everywhere...because of monsoons!!! but anyway it helped me overcome my phobia of them :P

One suggestion to the hotel management... they have done a good job in restoration, it would have been better had the furniture been more traditional and antique-looking....to match the ambience.

Room Tip: all rooms are unique and different. So can't say. But definitely try for rooms at higher levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mansi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana Fort-Palace, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about the Neemrana Fort-Palace heritage resort located on the Delhi-Jaipur highway.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the property. The 27 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity. Your compliments have been conveyed to the Chairman and the restoration team.

With reference to the feedback about the food, please note that the lunch and dinner buffet includes approximately 15 dishes with a mixture of Indian, Chinese, and Continental cuisine including vegetarian and non-vegetarian soups, salads, starters, main courses, and various Indian and Continental breads and desserts. Also, we have recently launched the Maha Burj Thali restaurant that serves its guests on weekends. Do give our Chefs an opportunity and they will try and please you whenever you choose to visit next.

Although regular pest control is done at the property, there are certain limitations because of the architecture of the heritage structures and the greenery that surrounds the property.

We hope that as you continue to discover real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alwar
36.6 mi away
Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli
1.0 mi away
Ramada Neemrana Jaipur Hwy
43.0 mi away
Sariska - Tiger Heaven, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Treehouse Dwarka Hotel and Club
5.7 mi away
Grand Hira Resorts
Grand Hira Resorts
#2 of 8 in Neemrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
38.1 mi away
Alwar Bagh (Sariska) by Aamod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana Fort-Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana Fort-Palace

Property: Neemrana Fort-Palace
Address: Village Neemrana, Alwar 301705, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Alwar District > Alwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alwar
#2 Spa Hotel in Alwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Neemrana Fort-Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the last three decades, the ‘Neemrana’ of the stunningly restored 15th century Fort-Palace, has come to mean many things. For architects it is a unique example of utter waste turned into a 14-tiered marvel with palace wings, courts and stepped gardens, felicitated with national and international awards. For guests, it means discovering over five centuries of history experienced with modern comforts. Only 100 kms from Delhi, just off the main highway NH8 to Jaipur, Neemrana Fort-Palace is a favourite site for celebrations, feasts, conferences, a quiet retreat for yoga and relaxation or India’s first site where you can indulge in five thrilling zip-line tracks that literally fly you in the sky. Built since 1464 CE, on a plateau of the two billion year old Aravalli ranges, this 14-tiered property sprawls across 10 green hectares / 25 acres. For guests, this offers 72 rooms / suites, 3 conference halls (Jazam, Qanat & Kasturi), hanging gardens, arched pavilions and balconies. The upper levels of the northern wing of the Fort-Palace can now be accessed from the car park by a 110 feet high lift which leads by the Saat Bagh to a second box lift. This architectural wonder can now also be enjoyed by the elderly and the less-abled who can be shown the upper parts carried on a palanquin chair by four able men ! Neemrana Fort-Palace has two spectacular pools that lean out to the sun. The upper pool is heated in the winter months to take the enjoyment of sunsets to another level. An intimate play area for young toddlers & the adjacent Neemrana eco-farm have been added recently so that you consume healthy organic food. Try our Maha Burj gold-platter thali for Rajasthani cuisine, or the buffet with a variety of cuisines that suits many palates. Wander the 2.4 hectares/6 acres of Palace with a self-guided multimedia tour. Ride a camel/camel cart or a vintage car. Walk out to the 16th century step well which descends 7 floors into the earth. Feel a new Indian high. To have you here is to share our life’s vision of how ruins can revitalise a whole region. Neemrana not only strive to revive and restore the heritage structure but it also generates jobs and economic opportunities hiring and consuming locally. It is no wonder that Neemrana has been listed in the 100 things you must do on the planet Earth before its time for you to leave it ! But when this list was made, only one Neemrana existed – now there are 23 ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Neemrana Fort-Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana Fort-Palace Hotel Alwar
Neemrana Fort Palace Rajasthan
Neemrana Fort-Palace Alwar, India - Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing