We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fort with a special flavour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Alwar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I was, with my family, at the fort for two nights. The place is magic and charming, with signs of history in every stone. Very friendly and professional staff and a very good restaurant. Two weaknesses: 1) rooms are not at the level of the residence (they need to undergo refurbishment since equipment are very obsolete). 2) the hotel manager is very kind and organises travel and pick ups, but it is quite evident that he is retaining a significant percentage (for him, for the hotel, how much. Not very clear).

Stayed: August 2014
Thank matbartolomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about the Hill Fort Kesroli heritage hotel in Rajasthan.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the ambience of the 14th C property. Your compliments have been conveyed to the restoration team. It is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love in converting a dilapidated ruin into a heritage monument-hotel.

Your compliments regarding the service by the staff have been conveyed to the Manager and his team.

At Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated. Your feedback about the furnishings has been shared with the housekeeping team.

Thank you for your visit and for your patronage to the Neemrana brand in India. We look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

We travelled here as a group of 10 friends and colleagues and had a blast! The property is a 2.5-3 hour drive away from Gurgaon - opt for the route through Bhiwadi and on the Alwar-Tijara road.

The property is located in the Kesroli village, so you are pretty much restricted to the hotel for a weekend trip. A great pool, and a TV lounge (there are no TVs in the rooms) with Carrom and some other board games are good to while away time.

Tip: do try their grilled chicken sandwiches!

If possible, opt for one of the grand rooms. These can fit 3-4 people comfortably (Nirmal, Mangal and Sitara is what we stayed at) and come with private sit outs, terraces or balconies.

The dinner spread was awesome, and the Lal Maas is a must-have!

Places they could really improve on is the breakfast. The spread is fairly limited, plus not very well cooked. Basic items such as sausages and scrambled eggs did not impress. They could also do with a few more fresh juices.

Moreover, one of the terrace rooms (Sitara) had a poorly functioning shower. There was barely any pressure, and this couldn't be rectified during our stay.

Besides a few minor glitches, the property is great, service is friendly and welcoming, and all in all a good weekend getaway. Do try it out!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the first floor, and preferably the grand rooms since they come with cute sitouts/ te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Triptidahiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your heartwarming feedback about the Hill Fort Kesroli heritage hotel in Rajasthan.

We are delighted to learn that you chose to spend the weekend at the hotel with friends.

We are happy to learn that you were able to relax at the three grand rooms and enjoyed the attached outdoor spaces.

Your compliments about the service and cuisine have been conveyed to the Manager and the Chef and his team. For breakfast, a variety of breads, juices, egg preparations in addition to fruits and other local preparations are served. Our Chef will be delighted to incorporate any special requests whenever you choose to stay with us next.

It is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love in converting a dilapidated ruin into a heritage monument-hotel. We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back at our 27 hotels across India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This place is just 150 Kms from Delhi, that makes it an excellent option for a relaxing weekend (long weekend) outing option.

We went here recently over the 15th August 2014 long weekend - and it turned out to be a good option for relaxing.

We had Mayur Mahal and Bhawani Mahal for 2 nights. The rooms are basic, but that is the USP that these are old fort rooms made into AC usable rooms.

The food is simple but excellent. Do not expect lavish dishes like in a 5 star, but yes a good variety and tasty food for sure. Restaurant staff is very friendly, and takes care you get what you want.

This is a place just for relaxing. Do not expect anything apart from it. You have a swimming pool, a TV lunge, badminton, books... for you to have a lazy stay.

Totally recommended - if you are a kind who goes on a vacation to relax. Those who like to see places, just avoid it.

Recommended place - for a short weekend drive and chilling out!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Udit78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative feedback about the Hill Fort Kesroli heritage hotel in Rajasthan.

We are delighted to learn that you preferred the location of the hotel due to its proximity to Delhi and chose to spend the long weekend at the hotel.

It is heart warming to learn that you were able to relax at the two rooms, the swimming pool and the cuisine. Your compliments have been conveyed to the restoration team and the Chef and his team.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed lazing around at the lounge areas and the outdoor spaces at the fort.

It is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love in converting a dilapidated ruin into a heritage monument-hotel. We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back at our 27 hotels across India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I would like to share my bad experience of my stay at hill fort kesroli on 8th of August night.
we Booked Hindola Mahal for our stay there. As soon as we entered the room we found out our intercom was not working, we assured by the staff that problem will be fixed very soon but it was not sorted out till our check out.
Next we found out that geyser was not working so we had to take bath only with very cold water because of that two of us suffered from cough and cold which made there trip miserable. Water pressure in shower and tap was also very low and more bad was there was no water in washroom in next morning. I was standing with soap on my body almost for an hour after that somehow my wife arranged a bucket of water for my bathe.
Electricity was also an issue with our room, next early morning there was no electricity only in our room almost for two hours because of that we couldnt sleep properly.
None of the above problem was sorted out in our room except for electricity till our check out.
Though the manager provided a minor discount in our total bill but this cdnt bring back our precious time and improve our time.
It was feeling of just wastage of our time and money.

Dr. Surendra Gupta

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank drsurendra_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are extremely disappointed to learn about your experience at Hill Fort-Kesroli. We are writing to apologise and to offer an explanation.

As you may be aware, there was heavy downpour during your stay due to which there was a technical glitch in the electricity panel, causing problems with the intercoms, geyser and electricity. The issue was rectified as soon as possible. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

As a gesture of apology the Manager and his team offered the Sitara Mahal room to you on a complimentary basis for your convenience along with snacks and did not charge for the extra bed. This was the best that the hotel team could have done in the given circumstances.

We are sorry that your stay did not work out as expected and do hope that you will give us a chance to make up for this at any of our 27 properties across India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night in April, it was really enjoyable.
After much dithering, we chose the Nirmal Mahal room because it sounded like it was a Turret room. It wasn't actually a turret room, but it did have a private outside terrace area in the top of the turret, which was very cool, as well as a seating area just outside the front door. The room was really nice, with a little inside seating area as well. The food was fine, in particular a delicious chocolate mousse at lunch. The grounds were lovely.
The pool was very nice and we spent a lot of our time relaxing there. I would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Altai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative feedback about the Hill Fort Kesroli heritage hotel in Rajasthan.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Nirmal Mahal room, and were able to relax at its outdoor areas and the pool. Your compliments have been conveyed to the restoration team. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love in converting a dilapidated ruin into a heritage monument-hotel.

We are happy to learn that you liked the food served at the hotel. Your compliments have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

Thank you for your visit and for your patronage to the Neemrana brand in India. We look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Kesroli for 3 days and 2 nights and boy it was nice. We booked the room in Hill Fort from their website and it was a pretty straight forward process. Loved it!

We arrived at the fort sometimes in the afternoon and were taken to our room, Teetar Mahal. The room was a twin stay, unorthodox but had all what I needed. Decent bed, fresh linen, refrigerator, air conditioning and a monster bathroom. I did feel that bathroom was as big as the room (a little exaggeration just to spice this review).

The property has great corners from a courtyard that gives you a feeling of an old town square in Italy to the recreation room that gives you the feeling of old Mediterranean property.

The resort serves Indian and Continental food but all in buffet. A decent spread that can suffice any palate.

What stood out for me is the staff. They were pleasant, warm and considerate. I and my friend were late for most meals as we were traveling but they never had an eyebrow raised or a wry smile. Thank you so much for that. Special mention for staff Ashok and Jitendra - you were brilliant. Kapil the manager gem of a person!

Must do!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Explore_Tarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Owner at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Traveller,

You loved Kesroli because you are a great traveller with an ocean of peace within. You were not seeking perfection ,but quietude in this wide cosmos that we have made so chaotic with our overkill in every direction.

Thank you for your warmth and kindness. You left a lot of it behind in our hearts and in the history of the Hill Fort . Its going to spill over the 14th century ramparts on to the barren fields.
Come again in November and they will smile their mustard yellow happiness to you, because you pollinated it.

This note is from the heart - because yours also was !

Warm Regards,
Aman Nath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We went for a small weekend getaway to Kesroli in the month of July'2014. Left early morning on Saturday at 7AM and reached the hotel by 9:30 – 10AM. (2.5 Hours from Gurgaon). The road is good four lane with picture perfect landscape and hence one does not feel tired to travel to this place. Kesroli fort is converted into a hotel by Neemrama group and as the theme suggests it is a “non hotel” hotel. There are around 21 rooms in total and the hospitality is so amazing that one feels at home hence “Non Hotel” hotel. Once you enter this property you don’t have much to do except chill in the pool, on the roof, play carom, chess, read novels, etc. This place is for people who want to unwind from the hectic routine life. You can also go for cycling in the nearby village. Saturday evening there is cultural evening where the local folk singers come and sing which was quite interesting.
The rooms are nice and clean with big bathrooms. I especially loved the tiny windows in the room. The whole feeling is very royal ofcourse it feels you are in a different era but that is the idea.
The staff is just amazing! Very courteous and the food was just outstanding. We loved the breakfast, lunch and dinner. Overall a great experience!!!

PS: Go in a large group to enjoy the place or couples for a romantic getaway..Winters would be amazing and so would rainy season. Avoid summers as you won’t be able to do much.

Also people who like to do lot of activities should avoid going here as this place is to relax and unwind. Take your swimwear/lotion/novel/music and you are good to go!

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are good as you are closer to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karishma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative feedback about the Hill Fort Kesroli heritage hotel in Rajasthan.

We are delighted to learn that you were able to relax and rejuvenate at the hotel and enjoyed the royal ambience of the rooms, the outdoor swimming pool overlooking the fields and the village, also the cuisine. Your compliments have been conveyed to the restoration team and the Chef and his team.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed experiencing the cultural aspects of Rajasthan showcased usring the cultural evening that takes place on every Saturday. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love

Your compliments regarding the hospitable and warm service at the hotel have been conveyed to the Manager and his team.

Thank you for your visit and for your patronage to the Neemrana brand in India. We look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alwar hotels
36.6 mi away
Neemrana Fort-Palace
10.3 mi away
Dadhikar Fort
Dadhikar Fort
#3 of 23 in Alwar
468 reviews
26.4 mi away
Sariska - Tiger Heaven, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Alwar Bagh (Sariska) by Aamod
7.8 mi away
Burja Haveli Hotel
Burja Haveli Hotel
#7 of 23 in Alwar
94 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Aravali
Hotel Aravali
#9 of 23 in Alwar
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli

Address: Village Kesroli | Near M.I.A Post Office-Bahala, Alwar, Rajasthan, Alwar 301030, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Alwar District > Alwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Alwar
Price Range: £65 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fourteenth century Hill Fort-Kesroli is one of the oldest heritage hotel sites in India ! Sited atop the rare, dark Hornstone Breccia rocks, you live among the security of splendid 700 year old walls which rise steeply to two hundred feet. You can enjoy the changing agrarian views of fields of mustard, millet and wheat. Kesroli makes an ideal base to visit the neighbouring palaces, museums, natural sites and sanctuaries of Alwar and Sariska. The origins of the seven-turreted Hill Fort-Kesroli are traced back to over seven centuries. It is believed to have been built by the Yaduvanshi Rajputs, who claim descent from Lord Krishna, but converted to Islam in the mid-fourteenth century to be called Khanzadas. The restoration process started in the year 1995 and the Hill Fort has been open to guests since 1998. Its interior gardens – both in the Mardana and the Zenana quarters are refreshing and intimate, framing the tent of sky above. A stunning pool rides over the view and leads to the restaurant turret. Kesroli also has facilities to confer in large or small rooms hidden below the ramparts. The duplex rooms are ideal for families with children as they offer them the excitement of a fort-destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Fort Kesroli Alwar
Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli Alwar, India - Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing