We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great jungle lodge experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great jungle lodge experience”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was at bandhavgarh jungle lodge recently with a group of photographers, the lodge staff was very attentive and took great care of us. We were served brilliant food which was very much like home cooked food. The lodge drivers were experienced and did a good job. Overall it is a great place very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himanshu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerresorts, Public Relations Manager at Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments on the lodge. We will definitely let the staff know about the food and service and the safari drives. We do try our best to give you a comfortable stay and are happy that you appreciate the same. Look forward to seeing you back...!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
31
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at Bandavgarh Jungle Lodge for 3 nights ,9th April, after a night train from Agra, then a 3 hour drive to the lodge. Our cottage we had was large, very cosy and clean, with seating outside, The meals are served in the large dining area were always very good and the staff always very attentive, You can sit in a comfortable lounge area for a drink and a chat and we also had drinks and one evening dinner, on their lovely roof sun deck.
The lodge is close to the main gate and we had 6 drives, previously booked into the National Park. The tracks are bumpy and dusty, so wear hats and a scarf to cover your face (we got scarves in the village) . Dushi, the lodge naturalist did the driving and you pick up a park guide at the gate, who listens for alarm calls and looks for paw prints. Dushi dined with us and was great man to get to know, as he has a wide knowledge of history, wildlife and many other subjects. He was always attentive to our needs and it was sad to say goodbye to him on our last day.
Remember you have no guarantee that you will see a tiger, you may not see them, but they will be watching you. Dushi said to be patient and we were rewarded with seeing 4 different tigers, some being very close. We also saw monkeys, Sambar and spotted deer, wild board, gaur, and lots of birds. We also went bird/butterfly watching in the grounds of the lodge.
Forget about WiFi if you can and take enough cash with you for extras. The manager was kind enough to take UK pounds as payment, so enjoy the place, the food, the staff and I am sure you will enjoy this lodge as much as we did.
Rob & Mary.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin1948London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerresorts, Public Relations Manager at Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for your description of your stay at the lodge. We are so happy to know that you had a great stay and a good time at the Park. We value your comments and hope to see you back soon in the near future...thanks for staying with us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a wonderful room, good food and excellent guides. Can hardly ask for more. The place was a bit difficult to get to - horrible roads and little signage - but it was worth the effort. We saw many new birds but, sadly, no tigers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John61Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerresorts, Public Relations Manager at Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Travelling to Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge at Bandhavgarh National Park is itself an experience in its own and the fact that you made it and liked the place is great news to us. I do understand it is dissappointing not to see the tiger, but I do hope you enjoyed the beauty of the park and its other inhabitants....You need to return to see the tiger ! is what all this means and we hope you will stay with us once again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
222 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We loved this place. My partner and 1 stayed 4 nights and did 7 game drives. This is the wild, so of course there is no guarantee that you will see a tiger and no one promises that you will. However, we were lucky and saw 2 cubs one morning and 2 different cubs on an afternoon drive. Amazing! There is plenty more than just tigers. We saw a jungle cat, jackals, monkeys, Sambar deer, spotted deer, wild board, mongoose, gaur, lizards and plenty of birds. To me, the experience of being out in nature and not knowing what you might see around the corner was exciting. Yes, the drive is bumpy and dusty (bring a scarf to cover your face on the way to the zones/gates) but we found the vehicles to be very comfortable. Dushi, the on site naturalist was our driver on every drive and he was a wealth of knowledge. My tip is to make sure you book the drives with the accommodation because if you book the drives separately you may get a different guide every time and the experience may not be as good as it could be.

What stands out for a place for me is what happens when things don't go as planned. My partner was unwell during our stay and the staff (especially the Manager, Mr Singh and the Naturalist, Dushi) treated us like family members. Mr Singh arranged a taxi to a town to get proper medical attention that we couldn't get locally. He came to the Dr with us, went and collected medication, paid for it all so I didn't have to think about it (he just put it on the bill and we paid at the end of the trip) and told me to contact him anytime during the night if we needed him. Dushi checked to see how my partner was in the morning. This is exceptional service! It confirmed for me that I chose the right place. They also changed the food to suit my partner as he was limited with his medication.

The food is plentiful and you will never go hungry. Dushi dined with us and I really enjoyed his stories.The accommodation is super clean and our air conditioning came in handy on the near 40 degree days. You can go bird/butterfly watching on site (a number of our bird photos came from the Lodge). Laundry was cheap and convenient. The drink prices were also reasonable. The staff are wonderful. The internet in the dining area doesn't always work, but I expected that. Our transfer driver was also lovely, and even stopped on the way to the airport at a place where my partner could take photos of fruit bats.

I actually felt a little sad leaving this place but we'll be back at some point and I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerresorts, Public Relations Manager at Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for staying at Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge and for the lovely words of appreciation, I am very happy to know that we were able to help you. Glad you loved the food, service and ambience which is what we pride ourselves in.....I do hope you return soon Look forward to having you back !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOLKATA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

A fantastic lodge with special interest in jungle safari. It is well maintained resort with polite staff. They provide every support that you can ask. But you have to keep in mind that this is located in such a remote place where no ATM exists. Newspaper doesn't come and net connectivity is poor. The staff provide every support in case of jungle safari.
However, it has some problem that I would like to share with fellow travellers. First, the safari cars are old. People who seat at third row get easily injured from rough ends as layers over seat got damaged. It happened once to me. However this gets compensated by the eagerness and efficiency of driver.
Second, I found pick-up/drop service of the lodge dis satisfactory due to arrogant behaviour of the driver. He pokes his choice on every issue and makes journey uncomfortable.
Otherwise, I must recommend this lodge to fellow tourists.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gkpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerresorts, Public Relations Manager at Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for staying at Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge, I am happy you had a good stay at the lodge despite the bumpy rides in the jungle on the safaris, which is beyond our control. We will take up the issue with the driver for the transfers and will see that this does not happen in the future.Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to having your family and friends back soon again.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had picked this resort after internet searches.The planning and ethnic design of the lodge was pleasing as was the relaxed ambience. The staff was attentive and experienced senior rangers regaled us with anecdotes about the reserve,around evening bonfires.Being avid birdwatchers, my family and I had a great time spotting and photographing the avifauna in and around the lodge,as well as in the park .On the minus side,the food could have been better,buffet was laid out only when foreign groups arrived at the lodge, till then it was a fixed,fairly predictable menu with home-style cooking including 1 chicken dish,that.But breakfast on the sun-soaked terrace, was blissful.The rooms were very cold even in daytime with no heaters and only a hot water bottle to warm the freezing beds at night.The management needs to work on this.Still,we would like to go back,maybe in warmer weather!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc_AS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerresorts, Public Relations Manager at Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the lodge and were able to spot many birds in an around our premises. We are looking into the breakfast buffet and will ensure this does not occur again...We do provide room heaters on request but in general have seen that a hot water bottle is enough to keep you warm at night. Definitely some days in December are very cold and we will try to tackle this issue to keep our clients warm and comfortable.Thank you one again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
254 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

It is less than a mile to the main gate of the reserve, hence short rides and later departures for the reserve. The rooms are very large and pleasantly furnished. Each room has a private outside patio. Only problem was that we didn't always have hot water in the shower. The staff is very good and there is a large comfortable common room that doubles as the dining area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigerresorts, Public Relations Manager at Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for your review and glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge.We do our best to keep our clients happy and comfortable with home cooked food and efficient service by our local staff ., along with a interesting safari in the jungle with the residential naturalist., yes we are just minutes away from the TALA gate... Look forward to seeing you back soon...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandhavgarh National Park
6.7 mi away
Nature Heritage Resort
Nature Heritage Resort
#2 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
356 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Wildflower Resort
The Wildflower Resort
#6 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kanha Jungle Lodge
Kanha Jungle Lodge
#2 of 18 in Kanha National Park
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Aranyak Resort
Aranyak Resort
#1 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
241 reviews
2.8 mi away
Junglemantra Resorts
Junglemantra Resorts
#3 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
73 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tiger Trails Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge

Property: Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge
Address: Bandhavgarh National Park, | District Umaria, Madhya Pradesh, Bandhavgarh National Park 484661, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Bandhavgarh National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Bandhavgarh National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge. Access:• Jabalpur Airport (200 Km) • Khajuraho Airport (270 Km) • Umaria Railway Station (32 Km) • Kanha (280 Km)Located within walking distance of Bandhavgarh National Park’s main gate, the lodge has been developed on the theme of an Indian village, with twelve thatched double–bedded cottages around an inner courtyard. There are two separate villas with further accommodations of eight rooms. A spacious thatched dining room serving home cooked Indian food and Continental cuisines, becomes the center point of activities like campfire performances, lectures and star gazing. The estate has meadows that attract deer and fruit trees that are home to birds and butterflies. An occasional alarm call from the jungle close by alerts you to the tiger on the prowl! Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge provides a professional resident naturalist, a library with wildlife books and magazines. Laundry services and recreational activities are also available – Jungle safaris in open 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, nature or village walks, elephant camps, and visits to the weekly market local fair or village schools. Bar-be-que dinners and campfire nights with tribal dances are some of the surprises in store for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandhavgarh Jungle Hotel Bandhavgarh National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing