We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in India (and we saw two tigers!)”
Review of Skay's Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandhavgarh National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skay's Camp
Reviewed 22 March 2014

As we remarked in the guestbook, we had a great time off from our vacation in India during our stay at Skays camp in Tala village at Bandhavgarh. Satyendra and Kay really make an effort to ensure that your stay here is perfect, and it was. The rooms are comfortable, the atmosphere very relaxed. Both are really knowledgeable about the National Park (even more than the guides!) and that makes every trip in the park a good one (we were joined by Satyendra and Kay).
Lisa was very thankful for the great meals we had at Skays, because she doesn't like spicy/hot food and there was always an option that was not spicy. Further plus was that there were always a lot of vegetables (most from their own garden).
Absolute highlight of the trip was our tiger sighting on the first trip of which Kay made a great picture for bragging back home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikenLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Travel in India is full of magical moments and overwhelming experiences, but it also takes a heavy toll on you. Skay's Camp is a pleasant, little oasis for recharging your batteries in beautiful, quiet surroundings. The place has an air of authenticity and unpretentiousness and is run by two competent, generous and knowledgable people, who care and have chosen to make a difference.

People come for the tiger, of course, and you could not stay at a better place. I spent 3 nights last November, went on 3 park drives accompanied by Kay and left again loaded with facts of the local fauna and flora in general - and tigers in particular. I saw only one lying down somewhere in the distance, but it really did not matter much. I just loved driving around, on the alert, all senses working. Hopefully, there will be a next time.

Everything was well organized, the food delicious, and I slept like a baby all through the night with my feet on the hot-water-bottle. Very recommendable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jette01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Skay's Camp is perfect place to stay for its friendliness, hosts knowledge of the National Park and its inhabitants and their traits and habits. We had 7 drives whilst staying at the camp and Kay joined us on every drive to ensure we got the most out of every second with her knowledge of the environment, animals and the way the Park ran. Although the weather wasn't in our favour we were lucky enough to have 2 tiger sightings during our stay. However every drive was a delight, with sightings of all sorts or birds and mammals and we saw the park in rain, sun, fog and everything in between !
The accommodation is basic but everything you need including hot water bottles provided every night ! The real plus of the camp is Kay and Satyendra' s love of hosting, they joined us for every meal and by the camp fire every evening to mull over the days sightings and discuss a full range of subjects.
This camp is a real gem !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is our second visit to Skays Camp, located just a few minutes from Tala gate, and the welcome was great. The beautiful gardens have matured so much,. Arriving after 2 days of heavy rain everywhere was cold and damp but Kay and Satyendra quickly provided refreshments, heaters for our rooms and hot water bottles for our beds. The rooms are very basic, clean and adequate. So little time is spent in room as expeditions into the park are twice daily (expertly organised by Satyendra) and Kay accompanied us on each trip. Kay's knowledge of the tigers, butterflies, birds, fauna & flora is unsurpassed which is frustrating for her as due to recent regulations several zones in Bandhavgarh National Park are now closed to the public, Her enthusiasm for sharing this knowledge and her photography expertise was stimulating.
The food at Skays is excellent and plentiful using many vegetables grown in their garden. The cook has been with them for many years and Satyendra himself prepared a dessert for my niece as she mentioned how much she had enjoyed it at a previous restaurant. We travelled in a family group of 5 adults, 3 of us being well over 70 and so much enjoyed the social chats around the fire and the homely ambience.
All the staff were helpful and the personal time and attention given to us was greatly appreciated, even to the provision of waterproofs, umbrellas, torches etc. We hope to be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was a lovely place to stay. The warm welcome continued with the feeling of being part of the family. The food was plentiful and out of this world. We were joined by Kay and Satyendra in all our meals and in the roundel after our park drives . The enthusiasm and knowledge they have for the national park is amazing and they are happy to impart their knowledge.
The rooms are private, clean and secure. They are basic but comfortable. I was woken each morning with a cheery "good morning, your tea is ready". The gardens are lovely, we were early in the season so no problem with insects. hot water bottles were provided each night, nothing seemed to much trouble. Everything was organised for us so we had time to chill and relax.
I highly recommend Skay's Camp and am saving hard to return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We spend four days in Bandhavgarh National Park ,and stayed in Skay’s camp ,in the village of Tala ,close to the entrance gate
We could not made a better choise than to stay with Kay and Satyendra ,the two owners of this
place, where we felt we were at home
Beeing the only guests at that time, we had Kay & satyendra with us every day for our safaris and their knowledge was so impressive about all the environment,the animals we met in the jungle ,from the little one to the bigger
Unfortunatly, during our stay,me met no tiger, but saw so many other interesting animals,and the jungle is so beautiful, changing colors from the sunrise to the sunset, never the same that we had no regrets
The place is not luxury ,but clean,and such a place was what we were looking for .The meals are very good ,we had tea and coffee all day long and complimentary mineral water ,and free wi-fi
We miss that place so much and hope to go back soon , and recommand it to anyone looking for the real immersion into Bandhavgarth .And overall ,we wish to anyone to meet people like Kay & Satyendra

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noriaclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had two nights at Skays Camp this week because we wanted to go on safari at Bandhavgarh. They are located just minutes from the main gate to Tala zone in the park, so you get to sleep in a little. Their place has a lovely garden full of butterflies and birds, the food is plain but wholesome and good, and Kay and Satyendra are lovely and so knowledgeable. We were there at a not very good time of year for tiger viewing, being too much vegetation around, but we saw awesome birds, and on our 3rd safari we saw two cubs, on our fourth we saw a mother and 4 cubs! Amazing, and it had a lot to do with how well Skays organised things for us. Stay there if you can - but take insect repellant for walking in the garden - there were none in our room, but outside they were vicious!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobtheDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandhavgarh National Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Nature Heritage Resort
Nature Heritage Resort
#2 of 13 in Bandhavgarh National Park
408 reviews
3.4 mi away
Junglemantra
Junglemantra
#4 of 13 in Bandhavgarh National Park
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tiger Trails Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Wildflower Resort
The Wildflower Resort
#5 of 13 in Bandhavgarh National Park
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aranyak Resort
Aranyak Resort
#1 of 13 in Bandhavgarh National Park
291 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahua Kothi
Mahua Kothi
#7 of 36 in Bandhavgarh National Park
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skay's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skay's Camp

Address: H.NO. 129, P.O. Tala, Bandhavgarh National Park 484664, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Umaria District > Bandhavgarh National Park
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Bandhavgarh National Park
Price Range: £156 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a simple home stay type accommodation where you share the jungle experience in a family atmosphere. Skay's Camp is run by Satyendra K Tiwari, Wildlife Photographer and Kathleen Mary Hassall, Wildlife Artist duo.Tariff for a double or single Room on MAP is Rs 2500 per night. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing