We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samode Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samode Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bogis-Bossey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

A lodge with fantastic opportunities, Safari, watching tigers, helpful, professional staff. Rooms on the rather top side, A perfect chef. A human touch, kind, rather seldom these days.
Simply a wonderful time. A must to visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pimo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
83
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Samode Safari Lodge is India's foremost responsible tourism property. It is situated in pristine wilderness and provides a truly exceptional experience. Its highly knowledgeable naturalists (Hatssie,Jay & team) give its guests a spectacular insight on the wildlife and the spectacular biodiversity of Bandhavgarh. Samode has a magical combination of wildlife, rejuvination, cuisine& special warmth & hospitality created by a young, dynamic GM- Gauri. My compliments to Yadho and his dedicated team on creating a unique Safari experience - amongst the best globally!

Room Tip: All the twelve rooms are special. They have some fascinating tribal art works. The bathrooms are gor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmitabhKant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Safaris are meant for Africa, aren’t they? Well, India offers its version in the tiger reserves interspersed across the country. Most reserves are now trying to preserve the tiger and attract tourists. Styled on the famous African lodges, the exceptional Samode Safari Lodge, is located in the middle of nowhere. Or rather, it is in the buffer zone of one of the largest national parks in Madhya Pradesh in Bandhavgarh. The nearest airport is Jabalpur, about four hours away, though the road is good. The nearest train head is Katni, about two hours away, and the road is far worse. The last stretch for either is through the buffer zone forest, and can be quite a bumpy ride.

Well, the bumps become a thing of the past once you reach the lodge. A huge lobby area welcomes you with a refreshing what else but a welcome drink. It is indeed a soothing welcome on the sprawling upper deck – stocked generously with large tables and sofas, coffee table books, Gond artifacts, antique looking trunks, an ancient typewriter, candelabras, stone fireplaces, little elephant shaped door stoppers, a stairwell in the middle, a few spears mounted on walls! And a bar at one end. Add a sprawling verandah overlooking a sunset, a pot of Darjeeling tea, with an attentive staffer to refill tea, and heaven just becomes a wee bit more possible momentarily.

The design for the structures is inspired from local huts. Intrusions of modernity are at a minimum on the open areas. The complex is set amidst fairly dense scrub forest/ trees and scrub. Do not expect manicured lawns or neat beds of flowers, this is a wildlife centric lodge. There is an open pool and a spa though. Little pathways link different parts of the lodge, and after sunset you will require a bearer with a torch to navigate. A walk alone after dark is discouraged, for the wildlife you might just encounter even within the lodge grounds! Think snakes, large rodents etc. Large metal wildlife are actually harmless and best appreciated during the day!

There are just 12 villas – all super luxury. Spacious, with a single bedroom and and adjoining living room stocked in all modern requirements – albeit with aesthetics rooted in nostalgia / local art. Think old switches, Gond metalware and crafts. The entrance is through a local style doorway, with matching pots and wooden trunk and umbrella holder! The living room, complete with a powder room, has comfy sofas in William Morris style prints, a large flat TV, a Lavazza coffeemaker, more books, beautiful framed wall art, an five blade heavy looking white fan, wall to wall glass windows – though incongruously a sitar graces the bedroom window . Large wall to wall windows are a feature, both for the living room, which opens to a bed room with a double bed, side tables, a recliner and lots of little touches. The bedroom on the other side opens to a partially open verandah, which has two charpais, a table and a couple of chairs. Its rustic simplicity is enchanting, especially as right behind is a fairly dense thicket of forest.

The washroom and closet areas are huge, and worthy of separate mention. And its all modern plumbing! A huge high bathtub graces the centre, but there are separate indoor and outdoor showers too! There’s a fireplace, large mirrors, a lovely faucet, all basic amenities, even candles and incense. The art will make you linger as you click or draw the enchanting shapes. Each villa has a huge Gond painting on the wall – mine had a massive bird catching fish – stunning details partially hidden by the hardware though. The closets are old world teak and add to the forest atmosphere.

A huge drawback for those who will require it – there is effectively no phone or net service. The staff will assist with a dial up connection, though be patient. They are very good with anticipating all other needs too. There's a fair amount of activities they will conjure up for you, including starlit dinners, film shows and village walks, besides assisting with the safaris of course. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: A room nearer to the lobby will mean a shorter walk after dark. All villas same except for the wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sumansays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Wonderful accomodation, superb food, superb service and care for their guests, this place is truly exceptional. From the superbly equipped suites to the lounges and the different dining places this is more of an experience than a stay at a safari lodge. Everybody cares. They care about how you feel, how you find the cottage, how you find the food, about your Safari trip about everything. They really care. They care sufficiently about their environment to begin one dinner with a 20minute video about the Tiger. They are fully aware of how the way they treat both the guests and their wildlife will have a lasting effect on this heritage. Their determination to save the tiger while at the same time letting the people of the world see it in pristine conditions is serious responsibility - yet one they will accept. Our stay was made all the more special by the attentive service of a young "medium fast bowler" and a young "all rounder". Couldn't fault it. Would love to return one day.

Room Tip: They are all superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolhapur, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

i'll keep the whole review simple n clean.....

samode safari lodge is a perfect getaway from the chaotic n maddening crowd of the city n for those who want to go on a professional safari experience in India. the nearest airport being at jabalpur, from which the lodge is just 3 hours away, with good road conditions. the entrance to the lodge is surprisingly through the jungle, which gives u a feeling of you directly going on a safari before checking in. the lodge lies in the buffer area, n is very safe. the best part of the lodge is its location, completely in isolation, with no other lodges in its surrounding. gives a real peaceful relaxed feeling.
on arrival you are greeted by gauri the lodge manager, who briefs you completely on the lodge n everything you should know about the place. of course you are welcomed with a beverage of your choice n with a fresh cold/hot towel. you are also asked for any of your dietary or meal preferences if you have, so that arrangements are made as the place is far away from the nearest town. with a short tour of the whole property, you soon arrive at your villa or cottage as you may call it.
n here the whole excitement doubles. the whole place is just superb, the interiors, the space, comfort, luxury is just jaw dropping. for a moment you would just be speechless. to believe it you have to b there! everything inside has been perfectly planned by the owner, who has himself travelled around the world. there is a living room, with a bedroom, which has a huge king size comfy bed, which just soaks you in. there is also a good amount of space outside the bedroom, a balcony sort of, which opens out into the wild n the grassland. the bathroom is just as big n huge as the room, with nearly 4 bathing option, indoor n outdoor. the bathtub n open to sky shower is just wow. there is also a built in wardrobe. toiletries provided are of real good quality. mosquito repellents are provided, so you dont have to worry about it, though during our stay we hardly even come across any of them. the air condition also work as a heater, which is great during winters as it really gets very cold. so plz make sure u do carry something warm during the stay n during the safaris. they do provide ponchos. there is also a satellite television set and a few dvds on demand. the whole place is clean n smells fresh. it gives u a real feeling of staying in the wild.
the food, again one of the best part of the whole stay. the executive chef is the most amazing person, he just prepares everything so perfectly, that your taste buds are for sure to get pampered. all meals are served hot n fresh, deliciously prepared. the choices are plenty, you just need the appetite, to take it all in. the breakfast spread is very energising after the game drives. dinners are special, and arranged at different locations, very well set up, just to give you a special feel. the tiger documentary shown is just great. all sorts of cuisines are prepared by the chef. the desserts are just to die for.
the game drives......you have 2 game drives daily. back to back game drives does make you feel tired, but i guess the excitement of seeing the tiger keeps you on toes. the vehicle used for the drive is very comfortable. you have a naturalist and a forest guide accompanying you on the drives. do ask for anshuman, he has so much knowledge about wildlife, a wonderful person to be with. well we weren't that fortunate enough to spot a single tiger on all our game drives. i guess winter isn't the correct time, though anshuman did his best to locate one. but of course different species of birds n other animals were spotted. after all safari isn't about just tigers, its the overall experience of being in the jungle n the hospitality that u get in such isolated places. the morning drives is for 4 hrs n evening for 3 hrs. juices, muffins n sandwiches are carried duirng the drives, just incase you feel hungry. though after the drives a huge breakfast spread in the morning n snacks in the evening are served.
the staff.....the most wonderful people you would come across. they are friendly, always smiling n ready to help. they do so much to make your stay comfortable. we did take some time out to talk to them n spend a little time with them, n share wonderful moments with all of them.
yess all of this does come at a steep price, but everything is worth every penny you spend here. i would rate it as the no.1 lodge in bandhavgarh n even in india. so goodluck samode n plz do keep up the good work. we definitly look forward to come back again.....
cheers...!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raj25918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Samode Safari Lodge is exceptional in every way. Rooms are huge;the size of a decent apartment well appointed, huge bedroom with excellent linens, sitting patio with comfy loungers, sitting room, couches, and giant bathroom and dressing room with indoor and outdoor showers. Lodge is classic and classy with wonderful artwork and antiques. Food is first class; every night is different setting first night buffet out under the banyan trees hung with 50 lanterns, another night under the stars on the terrace with hundreds of tea lights at the beautiful swimming pool. Samode Safari program is best in Bandavgarh. Naturalists are incredibly knowledgeable and great for finding tigers as well as hundreds of birds. Their head guide is probably best in all of Bandhavgarh! Viewing vehicles are top notch. Samode is a great value given the quality and wonderful staff. This is the place to go if you care about quality and a great experience! Other Samode Jaipur hotels are exceptional as well!

Room Tip: #6 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETER K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

After a 4 1/2 hour drive we arrived at the lodge to a warm welcome from Gauri. First impressions were good and we listened intently to what was in store for us along with establishing any specific dietary needs. The lodge was beautifully done in a manner in keeping with the environment but with all the important creature comforts to make us feel at home from home (and some)!
We were lead to our room which was beautifully prepared for us. The accommodation comprised of a lounge area with large TV (which we never switched on) DVD, satellite box, espresso coffee maker and kettle with mugs and biscuits.
The main bedroom area had a four poster bed and chaise lounge, writing desk and bedside cabinets. Large sliding doors led to a veranda with day beds and arm chairs which we immediately sat and saw Jackals in the grassy area beyond the boundary fence: great start to our adventure.
Back inside the bathroom area had a freestanding tub and a brilliant double shower. These were duplicated outside in a very private enclosure to enable us to benefit from bathing al fresco in the pleasant sunshine.
After a delightful lunch (3 courses expertly prepared and presented) we set off on our first drive, hoping of course to be lucky and see a Tiger. We could never have imagined the good fortune we would have: a six year old male which we observed for about 40 minutes. My holiday was complete and we hadn't been there a day!
After the drive, back to the lodge for a spot of tea and exchange of sightings with the other guests. Then after freshening up to dine, which again was superbly done and extremely good. The venue of the evening meals changed every day whereby one of the staff would collect us from our cottage and escort us to the respective location. A lovely idea which added to the wonderful experience of our stay.
Hatsy (the lodge manager and naturalist) had noted that it was my birthday the next day and arranged for a very special treat for us. A full day game drive with breakfast and lunch brought out to the reserve and thus enable us to spend time watching and listening to a vast array of wildlife in the reserve. Again we were so fortunate in that we saw a Tigress and two 8 month old cubs which we watched for well over an hour whilst they finished off the spotted deer that the mother had caught.
Throughout our stay, Hatsy, Gauri and the team made us so welcome and ensured that we had such a wonderful time: we could not have wished for anything more, everything was way in excess of our wildest dreams. The whole team were extremely knowledgeable and helped us benefit from our short stay at Samode. We were keen to see a tiger but there is of course so much else to see.
The Samode is a brilliant place to stay and we’d thoroughly recommend anyone visiting the area to put this at the top of the list.

Room Tip: All were superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosquito33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandhavgarh National Park hotels
4.4 mi away
Nature Heritage Resort
Nature Heritage Resort
#2 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Wildflower Resort
The Wildflower Resort
#5 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
7.6 mi away
Aranyak Resort
Aranyak Resort
#1 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Sun Resort
The Sun Resort
#2 of 10 in Tala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Wildlife Resort Bandhavgarh
7.1 mi away
Syna Tiger Resort
Syna Tiger Resort
#16 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samode Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Safari Lodge

Property: Samode Safari Lodge
Address: Village Mardhari, Post Dhamokar District Umaria, Bandhavgarh National Park 484661, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Bandhavgarh National Park
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Bandhavgarh National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Samode Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samode Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing