We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahua Kothi

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mahua Kothi
Certificate of Excellence
midlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed @ Mahua Kothi for 3 nights and it was a lovely experience!!! Have done a lot of African safaris but this was our 1st Indian safari...and we were very pleasantly surprised! Although one can say that would be expected of a Taj property ...quite true ... the entire staff was very attentive and pleasant,..eager to help in making our stay a memorable one!
From Manager to room butlers (Ramaayan )including the head chef everyone was very good ! Enjoyed the special evenings in different venues and all the safari's (we did 5) a very thoughtful thing in the morning was hot water bottle and blanket at 5.45am in the biting cold was very very welcome....with lovely breakfast served later around 9.
The chef would be around all day to make sure we got food of our choice and taste.
The cottages were very good our laundry came back clean & crisp room service was excellent !! Highly recommend it...and do 3 days if possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeeeMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    20
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
82
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I was smiling from ear to ear when I arrived at Mahua Kothi. The lodge is absolutely beautiful. Everything is decorated in the theme of a safari or being in the wilderness. Staff greeted me warmly and were always so attentive to any need I had. They spoke excellent English which is hard to find surprisingly in certain hotels. THE FOOD IS OUTSTANDING! They will even fill special dietary requests. They make pasta just as good as jn italy - i kid you not. They let me extend my chrck out time til late in the evening when i departed - which was a pleasant surprise. Although trying to find your hut may be confusing, they are there to guide you - especially at night. It's so nice to sit outside of your lodge and listen to the birds. They can take you on nature walks to watch the sunsets. And the safaris were wonderful. They did everything they could to make sure I saw tigers which I did. My first night was scarey adjusting to the noises of the night, but you can call them and they will come. But the best part was the outstanding service. But then again there is the amazing food and gorgeous decorum...you can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: They are all gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sixweeksoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaipur,India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Mahua Kothi by Taj Hotels is a superb Safari Lodge in Madhya Pradesh, India.
The resort has just 12 cottages and the theme is not "Exotic" but understated, romantic and laced with a perfect crew who take hospitality as a passion.
All tiny details are cared for and the food is superb.Focus is on local cuisine but it is really elaborate, versatile and presented on different locations within the resort.
They also take care of the Jungle Safaris to the tiger reserve.
It is a great holiday place for couples and groups alike..!
Superb Spa treatments even in a 12 cottage resort.
What more can one dream of???

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank secondpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Mahua Kothis lodge is superb, the cuisine is delicious, and the service levels are very high. Our naturalist, Allwyn, was outstanding in his knowledge of tigers and other mammals as well as birds! Devika Surie from Taj Safaris and And Beyond India helped us to set up all the details of this perfect trip. What a fabulous experience and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Our experience here has been one of the finest.. We were hesitant to go there initially due to their price range but eventually agreed due to a friends recommendation and we do not regret our decision .. The food amd service was outstanding .. If you can afford their rates this place is a muat visit

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurningTides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

What a wonderful place to stay in. Attractive decor, comfortable and the most hospitable of staff who could not do enough for us. The food served to us was excellent. We were treated like royalty. Our last night at the hotel was made special by all the staff who went out of their way to give us a remarkably romantic dinner. A most memorable stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whizepsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

visited the lodge 19-23 Jan 2013 was one of the best experiences ive had....the staff is amazing from the butler Ramayan, our naturalist Rajkishor and to the manager Mr.Neel. Each and everyone made our stay so comfortable and homely. The rooms are beautifully desigined giving u a feel of the jungle from inside the room itself with the private courtyard. Special mention to Ashish Ugal the executive chef who we were lucky to have staying at the property at the same time arranged for a beautiful dinner under the banyan tree complete where we were visited by the wild boars and jungle cat. Dont look anywhere beyond mahua kothi if you are visiting Bandhavgarh. The rest of the staff were absolutely amazing and would like to thank each and every one of them again. We will be back very soon and honestly cannot wait.Thank you TAJ and ANDBEYOND.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaurya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandhavgarh National Park hotels
4.6 mi away
Nature Heritage Resort
Nature Heritage Resort
#2 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
8.7 mi away
Aranyak Resort
Aranyak Resort
#1 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
8.0 mi away
Pugdundee Safaris Tree House Hideaway
Pugdundee Safaris Tree House Hid...
#1 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Samode Safari Lodge
Samode Safari Lodge
#5 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
8.3 mi away
Syna Tiger Resort
Syna Tiger Resort
#16 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
8.1 mi away
Pugdundee Safaris Kings Lodge
Pugdundee Safaris Kings Lodge
#3 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahua Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahua Kothi

Property: Mahua Kothi
Address: Village Tala,Thasil Manpur, Bandhavgarh National Park 484661, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Bandhavgarh National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Bandhavgarh National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mahua Kothi 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Odigeo so you can book your Mahua Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahua Kothi Hotel Bandhavgarh National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing