We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahua Kothi - Fragrant Indian Nights”
Review of Mahua Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mahua Kothi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Mahua Kothi Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge is a must on any Indian safari circut.
The lodge does take time to get to- Indian roads are not the best, but the drive is so worth it. The lodge is stunning and the staff absolutely fabulous. Nothing is too much bother...
From the lodge you can arrange game drives into the Bandhavgarh National Park - must book these long in advance!
The morning starts off with a personal wake-up call and a delivery of fresh fruit juice, tea and coffee to your bungalow before your morning game drive.
Breakfast can be a packed one in the park, or back at the lodge, on the veranda or in the baghiya (traditional garden), with platters heaped with traditional Indian fare or the more familiar eggs cooked to your preference. Try the Indian delicacies like poha, or saffron rich with fresh vegetables, and pao bhaji, or fresh bread rolls served with tomato and onion.
Lunch is back at the lodge, served on the veranda or in the baghiya. I opted to have lunch one day on the rooftop terrace, which was wonderful.
The guest veranda is the setting for afternoon tea, which yet more tasty treats.
In the afternoon you return to the jungles of Bandhavgarh once again for another safari. I saw so many wonderful animals including peacocks, monkeys, gaur, sambal and chital as well as a leopard crossing the road which was a rare and treasured sight! We even stopped for a sundowner at the old fort.
Dinner is a delight and on one of the nights, dinner was held under the magnificent mahua tree. I also experienced a chapal, which is an outdoor dinner where traditional tandoori meals are cooked on charcoal.
Also on offer are visits to a local village, walking and bird watching. The lodge has a lovely swimming pool - perfect for cooling off from the heat. Well stocked curio shop - great golf shirts! They also offer massages at an extra cost which is a real spoil.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed for four nights at the lodge with each day spent in the park searching for tigers and other great wildlife. The lodge was very convenient for Park entrance...no more than a ten minute ride to the primary gate. The meal quality and various locations were unique and exceptional, and the personalized service and attention throughout our stay was above and beyond. The accommodations were individual cottages that were very comfortable with plenty of room. It met and exceeded all of our expectations!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed with family during April 1st week.

I think being at Taj Safari camps in general is a service experience which can't be described. It has to be experienced and be astonished.
One expects certain standards in terms of property, when Taj name is involved in India and Mahua Kothi - as expected - goes beyond what you expect. What astonished us was the courteousness and attention the whole team brings to the stay. Starting from resident manager Sathish to Ramayan who took care of every crazy ask from the kids with a smile. You guys are absolutely amazing people and that's where the difference comes in.

Kutiyas (Rooms) are great and each room is isolated from other. Benefit of lot of space on the property and keeping it less cluttered and natural. Be ready to wake up in the night to the sound of wildlife passing through the property. Don’t get overly worried, as this may just be a group of wild boars.

Our naturalist - Narayan - was wildlife booklet of ready references. Ask a question and we got more details than what we would have sought. I had heard that a good naturalist can make a big difference in wildlife experience and realized during this trip. No tiger sighting in the backyard of tigers reserve with highest density, but Narayan made this trip worthwhile. Highlight of my trip - in addition to many other things - was spotting and understanding the ant hunting tactics of an insect called "Ant Lion". Take a nature walk with him. This is where Narayan is at his best. Thanks Narayan!!

Room Tip: Choose any. All are identical and isolated from each other. The experience should be same. The prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at Mahua Kothi for three nights. Our cottage was nice, very rustic in style but with good comfort and amenities. The outside seating area was nice and an enjoyable place to watch the birds. The food was very good except for the buffet dinner which was just OK. To be fair my husband and I do not much like buffet meals and having to wait 45 minutes for a fairly large group of guests to appear before the village dancers could commence meant that we were not able to start eating until nearly 9pm. This was not ideal when we had to be up at 4.50 a.m. for the safari drive. The main problem during our stay was a complete fiasco regarding one of our afternoon safari drives. Two drives per night are included in the rate and due to travel timings this for us was reduced to five drives. However on the second afternoon we climbed into the jeep and set off for the park gates as usual, with no indication of any problems. We then waited for nearly an hour in the heat whilst our naturalist went in and out of the park office. Finally he came and said we were unable to enter the park and whisked us back to the lodge. We were then told five different stories as to what had actually happened and in fact we will never know the true story. All three couples in the jeep were very upset at the loss of the tiger safari drive which in our case had been booked one year in advance. After a short rest our naturalist took us bird watching around the local area instead and to a local village which was very interesting. For us it reduced our safari drives in Bandhavgarh to four and we were lucky enough to see a tiger on the two morning drives so it was not a complete disaster. The Lodge Manager offered all six affected guests a free massage, but we did not wish to have this and were not offered anything else instead. This episode rather spoilt our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob-a-JobSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed with my wife and 5 year old son. We loved the personal attention that the staff provides without intruding into the privacy. They do not have a menu and you can customise your meals. One night they organised dinner on terrace. A lovely experience to have dinner under the sky which is full of stars.

Apart from jungle safari they organised nature walk, visit to temple for us. We loved the walk with the naturalist learning about various bird sounds and watching sunset from a small hill.

Great place to unwind and spend some days in quiet surroundings. They have cottages which helps in maintaining privacy.

The kothi is quite close to the entrance to the national park. It matters as one has to get up early to visit the park. There is no TV in the room and you will not feel the need for one, though they have one in the library.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mylifeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed @ Mahua Kothi for 3 nights and it was a lovely experience!!! Have done a lot of African safaris but this was our 1st Indian safari...and we were very pleasantly surprised! Although one can say that would be expected of a Taj property ...quite true ... the entire staff was very attentive and pleasant,..eager to help in making our stay a memorable one!
From Manager to room butlers (Ramaayan )including the head chef everyone was very good ! Enjoyed the special evenings in different venues and all the safari's (we did 5) a very thoughtful thing in the morning was hot water bottle and blanket at 5.45am in the biting cold was very very welcome....with lovely breakfast served later around 9.
The chef would be around all day to make sure we got food of our choice and taste.
The cottages were very good our laundry came back clean & crisp room service was excellent !! Highly recommend it...and do 3 days if possible.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deeeeMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I was smiling from ear to ear when I arrived at Mahua Kothi. The lodge is absolutely beautiful. Everything is decorated in the theme of a safari or being in the wilderness. Staff greeted me warmly and were always so attentive to any need I had. They spoke excellent English which is hard to find surprisingly in certain hotels. THE FOOD IS OUTSTANDING! They will even fill special dietary requests. They make pasta just as good as jn italy - i kid you not. They let me extend my chrck out time til late in the evening when i departed - which was a pleasant surprise. Although trying to find your hut may be confusing, they are there to guide you - especially at night. It's so nice to sit outside of your lodge and listen to the birds. They can take you on nature walks to watch the sunsets. And the safaris were wonderful. They did everything they could to make sure I saw tigers which I did. My first night was scarey adjusting to the noises of the night, but you can call them and they will come. But the best part was the outstanding service. But then again there is the amazing food and gorgeous decorum...you can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: They are all gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sixweeksoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandhavgarh National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Nature Heritage Resort
Nature Heritage Resort
#2 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
408 reviews
6.8 mi away
Samode Safari Lodge
Samode Safari Lodge
#4 of 37 in Bandhavgarh National Park
186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Syna Tiger Resort - Bandhavgarh
Syna Tiger Resort - Bandhavgarh
#13 of 37 in Bandhavgarh National Park
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tiger's Den Resort
Tiger's Den Resort
#1 of 10 in Tala
641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pugdundee Safaris Tree House Hideaway
Pugdundee Safaris Tree House Hid...
#3 of 37 in Bandhavgarh National Park
312 reviews
4.2 mi away
Junglemantra
Junglemantra
#4 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahua Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahua Kothi

Address: Village Tala,Thasil Manpur, Bandhavgarh National Park 484661, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Umaria District > Bandhavgarh National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Bandhavgarh National Park
Price Range: £251 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mahua Kothi 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Indian Hotels Company Limited, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mahua Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahua Kothi Hotel Bandhavgarh National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing