We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All we could ask for.”
Review of Mahua Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mahua Kothi
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“All we could ask for.”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Our two night stay coincided with unseasonably terrible weather. It poured with rain on every drive and it was extremely cold. But our butler took care of our every need, even an electric blanket to fight the cold. One evening we returned from a drive to find the bath filled with hot bubbles, scattered with flower petals and two gin and tonics beside the bath.

The rooms are very well equipped, the decor very pleasing.

The meals were excellent and you can either eat with other guests or alone, you are not forced into groups.

The drives were good although the guides were not as informative as they could have been.

We would thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MridulaT, Owner at Mahua Kothi, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the jungles of Central India and I would like to whole-heartedly thank you for your kind feedback. I am glad that you appreciated our small touches to make your stay comfortable and memorable. We are also happy to note that you appreciated our meals that are inspired by local cuisine and use locally grown organic ingredients.

We have also noted your feedback about the guides; and I am assuming that you are referring to the park guides? Park guides are drawn from local community and usually have a fairly good knowledge of the flora and fauna though they may be limited in their communication skills in English. Our naturalists try and tap into this knowledge to create a good game drive experience. We do work with the park authorities to ever enhance their skill levels.

We do hope that you find another chance to visit India and Indian jungles yet again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    24
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
59
87
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The service here is so attentive, personal, and perfect, it is hardly to be believed. Complementing main focus--tiger tracking with an excellent naturalist guide, including a delicious picnic breakfast, and hot water bottles to keep you warm--the highlights included picking our own salad for lunch in the garden, and a cooking lesson from the talented chef. (The carrot halwa was amazing!). I recommend just putting yourself in the hands of the lodge’s excellent staff, and letting them take care of you.
The rooms are tasteful, large and comfortable. Don't neglect to spend some time relaxing on your patio and letting the birds come visit you. The spa services were excellent and reasonably priced. We were genuinely touched by the care and friendliness of the staff. When they all turned out to wave us goodbye, we felt like turning back to say, no, we don't want to leave! Thanks to this excellent lodge and its staff for a superb experience.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ichiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at all 4 Taj safari lodges, one in each of the 4 national parks in eastern Madhya Pradesh, and we loved every one. Each is quite different from the others in design, so we never had a sense of deja-vu. Our room at Mahua Kothi was spacious and very comfortable, with a large adjacent dressing area and bathroom with both tub and shower. We also had an enclosed outer courtyard that looks as if it would be a very cool and comfortable place to relax, read and have tea in warm weather. As with the other Taj lodges, we found the staff at Mahua Kothi welcoming and highly professional and the cuisine and service outstanding. And, we did see a tiger here, thanks to our excellent naturalist guide Akash. The birds here are great, and we saw the solitary Indian gazelle as well. Taj will arrange a car and driver to transport you from/to the nearest airport or to another of its lodges.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bornin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
204 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had very good luck with tigers during our stay and this made the trip more special for us.
We saw five tigers in the grassland just after a kill BUT we would not have had our 20mins alone with the tigers before the other jeeps arrived if it had not been for the lodge. They kindly arranged full day passes for us and that made all the difference. Our other close encounter also came outside of the normal morning and evening drives.
The jeeps are comfortable, the blanket with the water bottle for the morning drive was fantastic, the guides are very professional, the towels after each drive and the welcoming committee were a nice touch, our butler was lovely (attentive, funny, a ready smile and a good memory for our favourite drinks!) and the lodge was very comfortable (good selection of board games, nice fire, comfortable seating, great decor).
The food was amazing. Our only complaint was that they were trying to feed us to death. Ha ha! The chef really outdid himself - pre-breakfast, breakfast, snacks, appetisers and the main meals were all to die for. I think we were given something to eat every five minutes. Did I mention that the food was amazing?
Our room was lovely. We liked the lighting, the decoration of the rooms was very nice, spacious, the bed was good quality, we loved the surprise bath they set up for us after a particularly long day in the jeep and the heating system was fantastic for the cold nights.
I was overwhelmed when the manager offered for me to take his camera because my battery had died and we didn't have a way to charge it. Thank you so much for being so generous (and for trusting me not to drop it!).
Just so you know (we are not complaining because this was not important to us), the wifi is not great. Further, the massage that I had was not good so perhaps if you have spare time, stick to the pool, board games and books and photo editing! That's what we did.
You pay a lot for staying here but this property delivers. Thank you so much for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constantlyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands Uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have recently returned from an Indian trip organised by Devika Surie of & Beyond India, during which I spent time at Mahua Kothi lodge. This is the second time I have been there. On each occasion the experience has been incredible. The staff are welcoming, friendly and efficient, especially the butlers and the naturalists. The food is an experience in itself; it is clear that the chef is passionate about his skill (knocks Rick Stein into a cocked hat !). Accommodation is tented but very luxurious. Cold nights are catered for with heated blankets and hot baths. Cold morning drives are made comfortable with hot water bottles and blankets. There appears to be nothing this lodge has not thought about. Although no guarantee, the whole experience becomes even more amazing when the tiger arrives!! As it did 6 times, in my case!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiewestmidlandsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My colleague and I reached Mahua Kothi on work. The service was brilliant, the food was awesome. The chefs ensured we go what we wanted. The manager was a pleasure to talk to. The naturalists were extremely helpful and knowledgable. What else does a chap want in the jungles?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syngrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Mahua Kothi Bandhavgarh Jungle Lodge is a must on any Indian safari circut.
The lodge does take time to get to- Indian roads are not the best, but the drive is so worth it. The lodge is stunning and the staff absolutely fabulous. Nothing is too much bother...
From the lodge you can arrange game drives into the Bandhavgarh National Park - must book these long in advance!
The morning starts off with a personal wake-up call and a delivery of fresh fruit juice, tea and coffee to your bungalow before your morning game drive.
Breakfast can be a packed one in the park, or back at the lodge, on the veranda or in the baghiya (traditional garden), with platters heaped with traditional Indian fare or the more familiar eggs cooked to your preference. Try the Indian delicacies like poha, or saffron rich with fresh vegetables, and pao bhaji, or fresh bread rolls served with tomato and onion.
Lunch is back at the lodge, served on the veranda or in the baghiya. I opted to have lunch one day on the rooftop terrace, which was wonderful.
The guest veranda is the setting for afternoon tea, which yet more tasty treats.
In the afternoon you return to the jungles of Bandhavgarh once again for another safari. I saw so many wonderful animals including peacocks, monkeys, gaur, sambal and chital as well as a leopard crossing the road which was a rare and treasured sight! We even stopped for a sundowner at the old fort.
Dinner is a delight and on one of the nights, dinner was held under the magnificent mahua tree. I also experienced a chapal, which is an outdoor dinner where traditional tandoori meals are cooked on charcoal.
Also on offer are visits to a local village, walking and bird watching. The lodge has a lovely swimming pool - perfect for cooling off from the heat. Well stocked curio shop - great golf shirts! They also offer massages at an extra cost which is a real spoil.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandhavgarh National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Nature Heritage Resort
Nature Heritage Resort
#2 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aranyak Resort
Aranyak Resort
#1 of 12 in Bandhavgarh National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
6.8 mi away
Samode Safari Lodge
Samode Safari Lodge
#4 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Syna Tiger Resort
Syna Tiger Resort
#14 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pugdundee Safaris Kings Lodge
Pugdundee Safaris Kings Lodge
#3 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bandhav Vilas
Bandhav Vilas
#6 of 35 in Bandhavgarh National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahua Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahua Kothi

Property: Mahua Kothi
Address: Village Tala,Thasil Manpur, Bandhavgarh National Park 484661, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Katni District > Bandhavgarh National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Bandhavgarh National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mahua Kothi 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoftTaj, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mahua Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahua Kothi Hotel Bandhavgarh National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing