We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holidays”
Review of Emerald Trail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emerald Trail
Ranked #3 of 27 Bhimtal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

the vacation was excellent. well maintained property with excellent staff and service.
overall a very relaxed holiday. the place is very peaceful and quite.
food is very good.
approach from delhi is very good either by car or by train.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasantgoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldTrail, Owner at Emerald Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Its always a pleasure to have you at Emerald Trail Debjyoti. You have most appropriately put across our passion and vision for ET. I may not be as descriptive in this response, but truly appreciate the genuineness and fondness with which you describe your experience and stay each time you visit us.
Always welcome to contribute with your thoughts and ideas to constantly innovate and make ET a better experience for all our guests.
Do stay in touch !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Third trip to partake Sumith and his team's hospitality at Emerald Trail, this time the monsoons. To explain the title when we travel out, on an average we prefer a good locale, fresh air and then as many 'similarities' to home as possible, the more the connects the higher the comfort and satisfaction quotient.
A quick drive from Kathgodam and you are at Emerald Train in about two hours with a optional self indulgent 'bread pakora' break enroute. Even before the Shatabdi from New Delhi reaches Haldwani (couple of stations before Kathgodam), the chauffeur (Transport can easily be pre- planned with Sumith's advice) has called to let you know he has reached and is waiting at Kathgodam. Sumith and his chief Lieutenant Lalit would have also called to reconfirm on the vehicle and the guest. In case travelling by the Shatabdi, one is in time for a farm fresh lunch at The Emerald Trail, by farm fresh I mean more often than not vegetables picked from the vegetable gardens at the Emerald Trail. The first lesson here for our contorted urban paradigms of easy availability and hedonistic consumption is to understand that, need for a food that is hunger and status of ripening of the vegetable far overrides the desire fr a type of vegetable. For e.g we think only of the refrigerator or at most the market to have cauliflower, where as at emerald, they will try to cook the vegetable which is most ripe in the garden and ready for picking, a small lesson in living with the eco system. Of course if the urban hedonism prevails as a choice then every thing is available from the local market, either ways one is extremely pampered, from the hot phulkas to the lichee juice to the pakoras to the access to the kitchen to cook or advice to cook.
The accommodation is just like a home since Sumith and his wife have put in their heart and soul into furnishing and decorating the place with functional yet very artistic items. The entire setup is sustainable on Solar and is generally run on the govt electric supply, in days to come Sumith has an endeavour to become fully reliant on solar.
Lovely fresh air, lots of interesting walks in the property and around it, comfortable for the very young and the old, go with the pets or play with the dogs on the property, see the fabulous construction using traditional techniques. What do we all generally miss at home, small things like sitting and watching the sun warm the surroundings basking in its warmth in winter, see the colours paint a collage on the hills and in the sky , talking to each other, taking in the fresh air, curl up with a book with a varied and eclectic library, play a board game. After a couple of days at Emerald Trail the results are very evident one sleeps much better minus the daily grind yet the walks the interesting conversations with the residents of the surrounding Jangaliagaon and the anecdotes , experiences and interraction with Lalit and his team always make you feel lighter, fresher, nobler and more geniune than you were earlier. We have travelled as a couple and a family with parents and it is also a place where you may travel as a group, best option is to go with the advice of Sumith on the logistics from 'LtoS' and leave the rest to unfurl through the expertise of his team. He is extremely open and flexible on things as long as one behaves like a 'humane being'.
As I had said in my earlier review, it is a place to try and get in touch with yourself and listen to yourself. Wishing all a great health, wonderful times with the family and continued success in times to come

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debjyoti_eclectic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

After reviewing the positive reviews, went ahead to book 2 families with kids for this resort via Cleartrip. Things went well till I received a valid voucher confirming my bookings. 2 days prior to departure I was informed that the hotel was unable to confirm my stay despite providing me a confirmation voucher 3 days back. A total mess. Despite my vociferous complaints, the hotel and Cleartrip over 2 days could not resolve this situation. What made it worse was that accommodation was available on other travel portals for that duration...which clearly suggested malice and blatant fraud on behalf of the property and the travel portal site.

Anyway..lesson learnt...dare if you must at your own risk....shoddy and unacceptable service even before it began...maybe that was a good omen....thanks for spoiling my holidays...I wish you guys seasons greetings...and you will pay in your own way

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank holidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldTrail, Owner at Emerald Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

THE GUEST NEVER INTERACTED WITH - EMERALD TRAIL

- The guest never interacted with us directly . He booked through a travel portal .
- The back office of the travel portal had not updated its inventory .
- Happens all the time .
- The guest NEVER SPOKE TO ANYONE from Emerald Trail regarding the misunderstanding .
- Our contact numbers are available on our website .
- Had the guest bothered to contact Emerald Trail , we would have clarified our position.
- The booking confirmation was given by the travel portal . Not by Emerald Trail.

So , the guest should have written this ' outrageous outburst ' on the travel portals website . And , not on our page .

We have built our reputation with a lot of honest & hard work . That's why the rave reviews by our guests .

A travelers survey has nominated us - the number one property in these parts .

The guest has no business maligning us without visiting our property .

Lesson Learnt should be - next time call the property owners before you take off on a 'shooting spree .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The enchanting winding trail to the picturesque EMERALD TRAIL is harmonious mental blend of the human mind encircled physically by soothing mammoth mountains in comforting mother nature's lap. Very very helpful staff with excellent food cooked by Kailash. A minimum of 3N / 4D is what is required to enjoy this Beautiful Homestay. Thanks once again to Mr.Dutta and the staff ( Lalit, Prakash and Kailash ).

Rohan Chaudhry

Room Tip: Whatever Season Rooms on the Ground Floor are the Best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rohan_chaudhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Good parts:
1. Great location
2. Fun dogs to play with
3. Peaceful
Not so good parts:
1. Staff seems just a bit lazy at times, for example - we told them to do bonfire at about 6:30, which was just starting of evening, but it was too late a notice for them. Same reason was given for a couple of other things - seemed a bit odd. We had cold and slightly wet towels on 2nd day - in cold places - not pleasant at all.
2. In hospitality industry - it is very common to ask for leaving the luggage outside room after the check-out time and hang around at the property after check-out time. This place wouldn't allow it. For a place that is "highest rating" on tripadvisor, we couldn't believe that - we can't just hang around and have lunch after our check-out time. I am sure there are reasons for doing this to us, but from our perspective it was very "odd".

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRISHNA_SHROFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldTrail, Owner at Emerald Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Customer Is Not Always Right

ET rebuttals -
Bonfire was lit for all three days they stayed . In fact on the last day they enjoyed cooking fish in the bonfire - banana wrapped masala fish. Our staff have taken mobile pictures of the evenings .

Staff being lazy - our staff escorted them for a half a day paragliding trip . While it is is not there job . It was done to extend our courtesy .

The reason for all this nit picking . They wanted to stay beyond the 11 Am check out time . We were not informed of this at the time of reservation . Also , it was not possible as we were expecting guests . This was explained politely by the manager and myself . But they refused to understand . Hence this review .

According to the guests overstaying beyond check out timing is a common practice in the ' Hospitality Industry ' . Possible only in hotels / resorts . Not in home stays / farm stays .


- ' Hotels / Resorts ' rent out - ROOMS . There you are allowed to check out and yet stay in the
property for some time .

-' Homestay / Farmstay ' rent out the entire property . As a policy we rent out your property to
people from one group or a family . This way guests enjoy exclusivity of the property . And
personalized service .

And , that is why our guests rate us highly.

Next time please make the property distinction and read up there policy . And share your check out timing or any such special requests at the time of reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The place took me by surprise. It's not huge like estates are supposed to be but it offers much more than any 5 star or 7 star hotel can provide. The peace of mind, the location, the staff and their 4 pets - Russie, Pia, Mini n Bruno. OMG. It has been the best destination ever. Just wished for a much longer trip than what we had planned. I would thank Sumith for giving us a place like that to holiday with our pets.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harneetjuneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A place that let my 'friends with paws' let loose and boy, did they have a time of their lives. As the two got to know each other playing around, my family and I earned back the lost moment in a peaceful and pristine environment.

While the location of this home stay took us away from everything bad of the city life, the home made food and warm support of the caretakers never made us feel far from home.

As the six days we spent went by in a lot of fun, there was one thing common among all of us - The desire of not coming back from a place like this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gautam012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bhimtal hotels
0.0 mi away
Aamod at Bhimtal
Aamod at Bhimtal
#3 of 12 in Bhimtal
122 reviews
5.1 mi away
Country Inn Bhimtal
Country Inn Bhimtal
#4 of 12 in Bhimtal
213 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fern Hillside Resort Bhimtal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Lake Retreat
Lake Retreat
#5 of 12 in Bhimtal
23 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fredy's Bungalow
Fredy's Bungalow
#3 of 26 in Bhimtal
42 reviews
3.2 mi away
Neelesh Inn Bhimtal
Neelesh Inn Bhimtal
#1 of 27 in Bhimtal
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Trail

Address: Jungaliya Gaon | Dist Nainital, Bhimtal 263136, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Bhimtal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bhimtal
Price Range: £61 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Trail 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Emerald Trail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing