We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular views, great food, wonderful hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Almora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deodar's Guest House
Ranked #6 of 34 Almora B&B and Inns
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Spectacular views, great food, wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Richard and Elizabeth Wheeler are the most wonderful hosts you can imagine. Their beautifully preserved 150-year-old stone cottage is cosy and comfortable with lovely little homely touches and all the comforts of modern living. The food is absolutely terrific --Elizabeth is a gourmet cook, and it's hard to resist any of the ample delicacies on offer. Be prepared to gain weight! On a clear day, from the front lawn, you can see the majestic panorama of the Grand Himalayas with the towering Nanda Devi practically sitting in your lap. Richard will help you identify the various birds that flit in and out of the ancient deodar trees after which the property is named. We have taken several friends there and they have all been utterly charmed and have become friends in turn with Richard and Elizabeth. Definitely a place for return visits.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms. Ask for the one facing the front lawn. If it's a clear morning, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 588Bunny22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at the Deodars Cottage this past weekend (7-10 Sept, 2013). As there were no other guests so we basically had the cottage to ourselves. The hospitality is genuine and the food served is simply awesome (specially the continental dinners). We enjoyed every bit of our stay and it was indeed rejuvenating. Hats off to Elizabeth's culinary skills. We would highly recommend the place for anyone looking for a peace and quiet vacation with wonderful hosts. Everything from the rooms to the food to the views(though we didn't have a chance to see the mountain ranges) to Richards regaling stories of the past to Bhuwan's quick service was past satisfying. We would love to visit again. Thank you Richard and Elizabeth for making this one of our most memorable holidays

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PratimaRaiBakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visakhapatnam, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed at Deodar's in Aug 13 with wife and a toddler. Warmth and hospitality shown by Richard and Elizabeth is beyond compere. She is an excellent cook. The bungalow has an old world hunting lodge charm and Richard has some nice stories to tell about it. You just dont feel like leaving the place. one cannot waste time sleeping. right from sunrise till sunset you can just appreciate the lawns, the decor and the food.-Abhishek Srivastava, Mumbai

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abhishiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stopped here for one night en-route to Leti 360. We received a genuinely warm welcome from Richard and Elizabeth. The views from their garden are spectacular and I cannot think of a prettier place to enjoy the very ample and tasty breakfast provided.
Dinner was excellent, a real tribute to Elizabeth's cooking skills and the portions were very generous. Richard was a great host.
Our room was quaintly old-fashioned and the hot water bottle in bed was a nice touch.
Luckily, we had brought some wine with us as there were no drinks available for sale.
Richard arranged our transportation from Kathgodam station. A real bonus as it was economical and waiting for us on arrival.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2012

From the moment we stepped on the property we knew we were somewhere very special. We were genuinely cared for by two kind ,caring people. The food was excellent, we all ate way to much home made wonderfully fresh bread and oh yes, the tea, another treat. The actual treat are Richard and his wonderful family, we felt like we had come home to long lost friends. If you are in Almora, go, experience the magnificent views, smell the trees and listen to nature, and meet some very special "new friends" .

D & H---USA

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victorialight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I love this place.The most fantastic views of the himalayas.The ambience and warmth of this lovely old historical home will always be in my memory and I long to return..The hospitality and kindness of the owners,Richard ,Elizabeth and Mary and staff. Prem and his wonderful helper who was always humming a tune as he swept the garden at dawn.,make you feel part of the family,as if you've always known them. I will always cherish these fond memories.
.Richard took any stress out of travel by arranging connections for me to and from Delhi,to Binsar,and to Kausani..All that was required by me was to relax and enjoy this splendid holiday.
To sit and read a book by an open wood fire in the evening;to see sunrise or full moon on the Himalayas are treasures which Deodars holds and offers to anyone willing and fortunate enough to make the journey to stay here..A very special place which I will never forget.

Room Tip: I slept in the front room It was wonderful with a huge bed.and afireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank garry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

we found this place on trip advisor and with very limited knowledge of the place, we went there as a family by faith. And boy was it good!!! It's a beautiful home and you are taken care by beautiful people. If you love the peace and quiet of the mountains - this is the place. The way you are cared for - whether it is the facility at the house or the food is just fantastic - we as a family just enjoyed every bit of our stay. The house is a beautiful place surrounded by the tall Cedar trees and when you sit out on the open of the house, you can hear the sound of the breeze from the mountains through the trees -you have to be there and experience this!
Richard is a very warm host and they treat you as part of their family. Would go back anytime!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshuakolagani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almora hotels
0.0 mi away
AyurVAID Kalmatia
AyurVAID Kalmatia
#3 of 16 in Almora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Itmenaan Estate
Itmenaan Estate
#2 of 34 in Almora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasaar Jungle Resort
Kasaar Jungle Resort
#1 of 16 in Almora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kasar Rainbow Yoga Retreat
0.0 mi away
Essence of Nature Resort
0.0 mi away
New Dolma Guest House
New Dolma Guest House
#17 of 34 in Almora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deodar's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deodar's Guest House

Property: Deodar's Guest House
Address: Almora, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Almora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Almora
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing