We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kasar Rainbow Yoga Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Mohan's Binsar Retreat(Almora)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
84
15
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
15
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe owneryoga sessionsperfect placeclean roomsforeign touristsfresh airsabucafeindiadeviroadmountainsviewlifenaturetemplesublime
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was there in kasardevi in march2014.the temperature those day had just begun to rise but it was still in the range of 10-15 degree celsius.Our stay was in Kasar Devi Rainbow Resort,very near to the point from where the trek(short) to Kasar Devi temple starts.

About the Place---It is a very small town which consists of a few resorts and eating places.Inhabitants consists of local population which is quite low & the tourists.Tourists are mainly foreigners.A short trek takes you to Kasar Devi temple.The temple is an ancient one and great figures like Swami Vivekanand came here for meditating.the view of Almora city from the temple is amazing.Ahead of kasar devi,there is forest and one can visit that too.One can actually do jungle safari in the hills.The town itself is very peaceful.

About the resort--The view was simply amazing.My room was in such a direction that i could see the snow covered peaks from my bed.The resort has it's own restaurant(at some distance) and I have never eaten such Indian food anywhere.Mushroom Mutter(The BEST) & butter chicken are the dishes we enjoyed the most.The resort has a small library on its rooftop which has a variety of books.So readers can have a good time.The service was amazing.

My Experience--I woke up in the morning and went for a tour of the whole village.I met the locals & the foreign tourists and i realised that the foriegners stay for long at this place,some for months also.I met a guy who was working on a small farm.I interacted with him and came to know that he is here from past two months and is teaching new cultivating techniques to the locals.Noble indeed.There were others who were in and around this area since few weeks.I also visited Kasar Devi Temple.The trek was short but the view from the temple is something worth watching.I missed out the jungle safari because i was short of time.At the end when i was leaving,I realised that this place is worth atleast a week in 365 days.It is a perfect place to visit for those people who are engaged in a hectic schedule of the present day economy.I mean to say for people who "work like 'donkeys' in the day and jump like 'monkeys' in the night.(I am not one of those though).

Room Tip: Prior bookings will help.Telephonic inquiry can help you select the room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arpitadlakha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabumehra, Owner at Kasar Rainbow Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Lovely to see that you had a great experience at our hotel, resteraunt and the surrounding area.
I will be sure to pass your compliments on to our chef.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Rainbow Guest House / Rainbow Resort is a really nice place to stay as accurately stated by the many other reviews. Clean, tidy, great views, friendly staff etc. This review though is to recommend a really great 'Village Walk' that Sabu Mehra at Rainbow organised for us. My wife and I and our 2 small boys aged 6 and 8 did the walk in March 2014. The walk lasts 4 days and takes you from Kasar Devi to Jageshwar temples. Each night is spent in village houses along the way. The houses are old houses that where once homes but are now kept for people staying in during the village walk. All the houses have 2 bedrooms and a sitting room upstairs. Kitchen is downstairs. They are warm, clean and very comfortable. All food during the 4 days is included but a few snacks might be required to keep children's energy levels up. Bottled water is also provided but to save plastic consider using a water filter. Our walk was led by our guide, Joginder whole knew the area very well and was good to chat to along the way. We also employed a porter to come along which was optional, but with the chance of our young boys wanting to be carried sometimes, a porter seemed a good idea for luggage. The porter also turned out to be an excellent cook

Note that all timings are based on us walking with 2 small boys and includes plenty of stops. Each day we set off at around 10:00.

Day 1:- A 4.5 hour walk over 12km. This first day covers the longest distance of the 4 days but is probably the easiest one as well. You set off dropping down hill from Kasar Devi and pass village houses and farmland. Then follow the river for a little while before climbing up a gentle ridge and a stop for lunch. Then further up and over a low ridge before dropping down into a valley below the village of Deora. There are some really pretty Shiva temples amongst the terraced fields at the bottom of the valley. Then across the valley and then up a small climb to Deora where you spend the first night.

Day 2:- A 5.5 hour walk over 8km. This second day starts with a 0.5hr climb up from Deora to the top side of a ridge and then a gentle descent long the side of it. Fantastic views of more open farmland and then through pine forests and down to a river. Follow the river for a while, before an optional shortcut which involves a balancing act along an irrigation wall. After that, a stop for lunch and then a walk along the valley bottom and end the day with a steep climb for 1 hour to the village of Peroli. Stay the night in a great house with great views of the route taken so far. Here you also have the option of stopping the walk at this point and heading back Almora or anywhere as you are near a road.

Day 3:- As you are near the road at this point you have the choice of either a long 14km walk or reducing it by taking a taxi for some of it and walking the rest. With our young boys we decided to go for the taxi/walk option. Therefore after a short climb from Peroli we were picked up by a taxi (arranged for us by Sabu at Rainbow) and driven for 30 mins. This took us up about 7 km and dropped us a little way above Binsar Eco Camp near Dhaulachhina. From here you have a 7km walk with magnificent 300km wide view of the mountains. These are still covered in snow in Spring but are apparently dry during the summer months. The 7km walk takes you along a ridge and up to a temple on a high point before lunch. Then on through pine forests before a fairly steep climb for the last 2.5km up into rhododendron and deodar forest before reaching old Jageshwar for the 3rd night's stay.

Day 4:- A 1.5hr walk over about 3km. All downhill through spectacular deodar forests following a gully stream down to Jageshwar Dham. Here you can spend as much time as you like looking around this ancient temple complex before catching a taxi back to Almora if required - again arranged by Rainbow for us. The drive back to Rainbow takes about 1.5hr.

All in all this was a really fantastic trip. We were fairly apprehensive about doing it with young children but they loved it and it turned out to be a great amazing introduction to hiking for all of us. I'm not putting down prices that we paid for the complete package (food,guide, accomodation) as that doesn't seem fair on Rainbow, but it was very reasonable and well worth it.

Room Tip: Any I think would be fine as I think they all face the main view across the valley
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabumehra, Owner at Kasar Rainbow Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Glad you guys enjoyed your stay and the village walk.
It was lovely having you all here, and I hope the rest of your trip was lovely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I came upon this jewel after seeing other guesthouses in the area. Spotless room with a large bed, great mattress, soft pillows and a silky duvet. Excellent bathroom plus an alcove with a desk, settee and chair. Excellent wi=fi access and responsive room service. But the best was the view, from North-West through East to due South, the Himalayan peaks from Trisul to Panchachuli.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuka108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabumehra, Owner at Kasar Rainbow Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks for the great review, we are very happy to see that you enjoyed our rooms, and of course our gorgeous view. Thank you very much for gracing us with your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We planned to stay three nights and stayed for eight! Rooms are very clean and well kept up.
The guest house is located on a slope about 50 meters from the main village road. All rooms have south facing windows and shared balcony with a beautiful view of the valley and the Himalayas. I can sit there and spend hours by just looking at the mountains, enjoy the constant cool breeze blowing across the pines and listening to the birds.

bathroom - clean, clean towels, hot water.

"The owner of the Rainbow Resort is a beautiful soul, he helped us a lot and did his best efforts to make everyone calm and happy."

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalibor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabumehra, Owner at Kasar Rainbow Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thanks for the beautiful review Dalibor.
nice time with you guys thanks alot ...

sabu mehra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A great place with a great host- sabu mehra.
If u ever have to visit kasar dont miss to stay at rainbow resort.
The cafe as well is simply great. Loved the ginger lemon honey tea and momos.Would be visiting this place sometime soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shalini C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabumehra, Owner at Kasar Rainbow Yoga Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thanks a lot for the review ....salini
will see you next time at kasar rainbow resort .....

thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews