We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
37
17
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
17
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We were a group of 10 from Delhi who were looking for a place to spend 2 days in nature's lap and that search ended at V Resorts Almora.
Now our experience starting from booking till the end of trip;
Booking: Their booking office is in Delhi who assisted us in getting the best deal and provided all the relevant info.
Route: Delhi-Moradabad-Almora, smooth drive up till resort. No hiccups except the traffic jams in NCR
Resort: Awesome, located in the middle of a small valley with lush green surrounding. They have all the modern facility like - hot water, power backup, TV, a small library, comfortable rooms.
Sightseeing: You can go to Kausani which is 2 hr drive and a nice place to see in the midway you can stop to see a tea garden.
Biggest attraction: yes, we spent more than 2 hrs playing in a water channel flowing between the dense forest and I must say that experience was divine.
Staff: I have never seen such a wonderful and friendly staff till date. They catered all our requests without charging a penny over and above the agreed booking.
Food: Excellent, chef prepared tasty breakfast and dinner for us.
Special thanks to resorts manager Mr.Ravinder for providing us such an excellent experience... Will definitely visit again and recommended others to visit this place.
Thanks
Anand

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy_delhi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Management, Manager at Pug's Paw Eco Retreat by OpenSky, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Anand,

It was great to read your review. Must say you have a brilliant eye for detail and have very wonderfully structured your observation of the location and the resort. Nice to know that you had a great time frolicking at the nearby water channel. Hope you also enjoyed the Kausani sunrise view from our resort. Our staff is thankful for your nice comments about them and our chef is ready to cook for you again! Please do visit us sometime soon whether at V Resorts Almora or any of the other V Resorts locations (details in our website). Do plan a longer stay with us next time, V’re sure you’ll have a great experience to share...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The V resorts almora will stunn you with the veiws and the serenity just charms u in. Any adventure seeker msut go to this place instead of those populated and after the money resorts. IMHO this is the best resort in the location and would always avoid kausani and nearby resorts and stay in this one only. the rooms are of 4 types there but sad thing is all are charged on same price. Total rooms are 12 among which 1 house is duplex i.e. 2 rooms. 2 rooms are awesomely furnished and all wooden work done. another is a 4 bedded room and 3 rooms are on ground floor and well done. The last 4 rooms feels like servent quarters and a bit aways from the happening area if you are with a crew. The Food is Awesome , the best and the staff is so neat and cooperative that u will forget the stay in rooms and always wnat to be in lawns or activity area. A must do for the travellers going to Almora / Kausani.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MaverickJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Management, Manager at Pug's Paw Eco Retreat by OpenSky, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Jay,

Thanks and good to know that you enjoyed your stay. As V heard from you that your entire group of offroad motorists had a great time. You have mixed up some facts and V would like to clarify the same:

1. V had told you that only 8 rooms are operational and the remaining 4 rooms are under renovation. Your group size was bigger and you insisted on all 12 rooms and said you would adjust in the 'under renovation' rooms and particularly put the bachelors in your group in those 4 rooms. V also put the same thing in writing to you and V have these emails, therefore it's surprising that you chose to describe these rooms as 'Servants Rooms'

2. The rooms are not all charged on same price. There are different prices for the 3 different types of rooms V have (tariffs can be seen on our website in online booking). Since you were a group, a different and lower rate was applicable to you and it was on per person basis (and not on per room basis) as is the usual practice for groups.

V hope to see you some other time at the same or any other V Resorts location, all stunning and beautiful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Our experience at V-resorts Almora was very good. The staff is very courteous and accomodating. The food was excellent along with the presentation and the service. It was quite a contrast from Naini Retreat, where we were put up before arriving here. The place is an eco-resort, so it has a very rustic look. All basic amenities are present, luxury is lacking. they have an entertainment room with books, an easel with drawing material, a pond where you can actually go fishing, and very personalized service. But as i said, this is an eco-resort. the only sounds one can hear are of the wind rustling through the leaves, birds, and a rare vehicle that happens to come along. the place is very secluded, the only structure atop a hill - this can turn out to be a disadvantage if you want to go to the city, or do much sightseeing around, because it is a good 30-35 km from civilization. ideal place to be if you want to unwind amidst nature and peace.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neelam Periwal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

very good services.
i like my room very much.
location was awesome full of beautiful locations and views.
i like the services of that resort and staffs very much.
i suggest people to reach out at that place it will a great pleasure for them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Management, Manager at Pug's Paw Eco Retreat by OpenSky, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Rajesh,

Thank you very much for your feedback. V are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It takes a true nature lover to enjoy an offbeat place like our Almora resort. You would surely love our other resorts also, all on the same theme of nature and offbeat and we would request you to please visit us again. V have six resorts/cottages and details are all given on our website.

Thank you and see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

As always, I booked this hotel after going through the rave reviews on TA, We started for this place after alighting from the Ranikhet Express at Kathgodham station. As per the tag on Google Maps, the hotel is located in the middle of the Almora Town. However, once we reached the town, we understood that it was another 40 KMs ahead! It was a big surprise to me since I had trusted the Google Maps! I tried to reach the Hotel Manager and the V Resorts Call center but to no avail!

After reaching Manan, which is nearly 40 KMs away from Almora, I finally managed to get in touch with the Manager. He told us that the hotel is on Kausani - Ranikhet Road! Later on we came to know that almost everyone gets lost in trying to find out the hotel!

I think the V Resorts Management (and by Management I mean the higher management, not just the Hotel Manager) needs to do a few things about this. Firstly, they should edit the tag on Google Maps that shows the hotel located in Almora city and put the correct location. Also they should have a few sign boards in Almora city regarding their location and also clearly state their address on various booking portals as 'Kausani - Ranikhet Road'.

On our arrival, we were greeted with a Welcome drink made up of 'Buransh' (Rhododendron). We liked it lots! Then we were shown the rooms, which looked a little shoddy to us, but since we all were too tired by the journey, we didn't pay much heed to it immediately. However, after some time, it became apparent that these were not the rooms that we had seen on their site. They were certainly not 'Deluxe' category! We asked the manager to show us the other rooms which were available. And Voila! these rooms were 100 times better than those offered to us!

After a brief altercation with the Manager, we were given the 'Other' rooms which were certainly "Deluxe". The Manager had a similar problem with another customer the next day. I seriously urge the Management to either include these rooms as "Basic" category with low rate or remove them altogether.

Now to the other Parameters:

Service - This was the best thing about the hotel. The staff was very attentive, prompt and well mannered. They had a sizeable team and all of them knew their tasks well. They pampered us so much that we felt like Royalty! Special mention should be made of Mangal Singh. Even the Manager, Mr. Ravinder Shukla is a very likeable guy and despite the issues mentioned above, his hospitality was really commendable.

Rooms - The 'Other' rooms that we got post our discussion were quite spacious and well maintained. The rooms had a wooden flooring and those on first floor had a balcony. The room had all the basic amenities. The bathroom was also neat and clean, however there was some problem with the heater so the hot water was being supplied by the staff on demand. However, their promptness made this less of a hindrance!

Food - The food was really excellent too, the chef being a real genius! Whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner, there was plenty of variety and the the desserts were too tempting! The unlimited buffet meant that one could have as many rounds (including desserts) without worrying about the bill!

Location - Barring the initial hassle in reaching the hotel, the location was fantastic. The hotel is quietly nestled in the hills and you feel really close to the nature. For a person whose entire life has been spent in one of the busiest cities in the World, it felt like another world!

To summarize, a hotel with great potential and excellent service. The Management needs to work on a few things though, to make it a truly great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pranav_Kulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V_Management, Manager at Pug's Paw Eco Retreat by OpenSky, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Pranav,

V appreciate your points and good to know that you had a great holiday.

About the problems you had in finding the place - there is a route map given on our website which navigates you thru. Also, the booking email V send out mentions the Manager's number (call-center number is not available after office hours and not always on Sunday though V try). However, you booked thru Cleartrip and they don't share your email ID with us or allow us (or any hotelier) to send out any information to their customers. Same is true for other portals too. We have had this discussion with leading portals but all of them are too apprehensive about hoteliers getting directly in touch with their customers. People who book directly on our website (www.vresorts.in) don't face the same problem. Also, a correction - our resort is located on Almora-Kausani road and NOT on Ranikhet-Kausani road. We also have an access through that road but the better and direct route is from Almora-Kausani road. Another correction - V are located exactly 20 kms from Almora (and not 40 kms as you mentioned). At 40 kms you are pretty much touching Kausani. Being away from the city is exactly what makes it pretty and gets connoiseurs like you over!

V are not aware of the google maps tag and we haven't put it but thanks for mentioning, we'll take steps to correct it. Our website also shows all the room pictures including 'Deluxe' rooms. Though you assumed that the ones you liked are 'Deluxe' and not 'Super Deluxe'. We will try to sort out this issue by categorizing the photographs clearly in Deluxe and Super-deluxe rooms in the next version of our website which is expected to come out by October. But again, if you are booking thru any portal, we don't have enough control on them to know what they will do. Therefore V always advise our guests to check all information on our website and then they have the choice of booking at any site including our website.

V are thankful of your observations and will correct as stated above. Though you would agree that Service, Staff training & motivation, food etc is also part of our management :)

Please do come again at any of V Resorts locations, all these are a treat for nature lovers like yourself and V will take special care to ensure you have a straight drive all thru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews