We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a relaxing stay”
Review of Khims Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khims Guest House
Ranked #7 of 35 Almora B&B and Inns
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxing stay”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is one of the best places we've stayed in nearly 20 years of visiting India. Everything is very well thought out. They have both private cottages that are very reasonably priced and individual rooms with a common bathroom. We stayed nearly a month enjoying the beautiful mountain views over the valley and the walks. Khim, Gopal and Sunder are fabulous hosts, quick service and clean rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jesse311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
11
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We based ourselves at Khim's Guest House for 5 weeks during April and May 2013. It is an excellent place in itself with many beautiful and culturally interesting places within walking (and/or hiking) distance but it also served as an excellent base from which to explore the Kumaon Himalaya Region.

First, the location of the guest house is stunningly beautiful. It overlooks gorgeous valleys of terraced farmland.

Second, Gopal the son of Khim is kind, relaxed, sincere, and extremely professional. He is also responsive without being intrusive. The same can be said for his father Khim who is humorous in addition.

The rooms (or rather the cabins that we stayed in) are some of the cleanest that we came across in India.

The food is lovingly prepared by Gopal and his staff and he was always attentive to to our special requests about its preparation. We almost always ate there in the evening in the company of other guests and Khim. Every morning we enjoyed the best ( and dangerously addictive) coffee we had in our several months in India.

There is a very well stocked store in the restaurant area which is welcome because it is a little walk to the next store.

Very lovely, well tended gardens, flowers (lots of nice smelling roses), fruit trees, and other plants all over the grounds which are quite extensive and spread out so as to afford great views and privacy.

As can be expected from the long time owners of a guest house, Khim and Gopal have a very good knowledge of the Kumaon area. Their English is excellent and they always had the time to patiently and considerately answer our many questions but if you want more information than you could refer to the best stocked library I have ever seen at a hotel! There are so many books on the history and geography and natural history of the area in addition to a huge collection of religious, yoga, and spirituality books. There are also many guide books, and a great fiction collection. The books are also quite well ordered (please try and keep them that way if you browse through them).

I found Khim's Guest House a great place to relax and do little; I found it a great place to do many day hikes from; it was also well located to be base for the whole region. The people and the location made a favourably deep and lasting impression on me.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

If you are traveling to Relax and rejuvenate and experience something as mystical as Himalayas . Almora is the place to be .The experience of Almora wouldn't have been complete without Khim's Guest house .
The Cottages they have are amazing , very clean , reasonably big , even Kitchen attached . You will get an amazing view of Himalayas and a big green forest in front of you . You can trek down from the cottages to a vast river bed .
The cottages are managed by Khim ji and his son . they are one of the warmest people , I have came across traveling . WHATEVER you need , they will have it for you.
The Guest House kitchen experiments with the recepies of food backed up by ingredients like jam, jellies, home made Bread etc, that are created in the kitchen itself. The library they have , has a huge collection of books for everyone .
All in all, if you want to run away from the hustle of metropolitans and the crazy heat, this is the place to be. I have developed a special bond with this place for long.
Thanks Khim ji !!

Room Tip: No matter what , you will get the Best !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kapil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I've been to Khim's guesthouse around Holi. A very peaceful and clean place, offering a variety of rooms and cottages, very nicely built. The inhouse kitchen is really good, and the food is delicious cooked by Gopal. Need anything then just ask Khimji. They also have a well equipped library. Really enjoyed the hospitality offered. The place is a lil off the road, which makes it really peaceful, and you can get a view of the himalayas when the clouds are clear. On the whole a great place for a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnuJain_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leavenworth, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Khims Guest House is a garden spot on the edge of a pine forest near the 2,000 meter mark in the Kumaon Himalayas. If you're looking for bustle and noise, stay away!

The guest house is located on the upper slopes of a pretty valley that has terraced fields, picturesque villages and jungle, but no motor roads. There are views of distant snowy peaks as well. You can stay in a single room or in a cottage. Facilities are simple, but extremely clean when compared to most lodging in this price range. There is running hot water, dependable electricity and Indian style toilets.

Khim Singh and his son Gopal are perfect hosts. They've been at the business for 30 years now. They aim to please, but are never obtrusive. They're impeccably honest. I, for one, have kept coming back for decades. The clientele is a mixture of foreign tourists and mellow young Indians.

There's a restaurant with a spotless kitchen and a rooftop garden for viewing the scenery. Most guests gather in the dining room for the evening meal, which is usually Indian. But you can order other food from the menu from morning breakfast on.

You can hike the nearby forest, walk down to the old mountain kingdom capitol of Almora, visit nearby temples, watch the abundant birdlife or spend your days in solitary meditation. Since the guest house is on the edge of a village, your visit can also be an introduction to traditional Kumaoni culture. In the restaurant is an amazing library that contains both standard fiction and an array of books about all aspects of the Himalaya, including history, natural history, travel and religion.

Come here for two days, and you might end up staying for a month.

The cheapest way to reach Khims buest House is by shared taxi from Mall Road in Almora. Take one headed for Paparsali or Kasar Devi. Ask to be dropped off at Khims. From the road, follow the short trail over the ridgetop, thendown through a bit of forest and find yourself in a lovely new world.

R. Lightbulb Winders

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LightbulbW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Khim’s Guesthouse is a short 5 minutes’ walk up and over the ridge well away from any traffic noise. Surrounded by mature deodar trees, it has fantastic views over a tranquil valley onto the main Himalaya. It offers a range of accommodation from simple rooms with shared (hot water) facilities to rather comfortable cottages, all set in a garden environment. Great walking through villages, farmland and forest starts just outside your door.

The food is wholesome and homely and Gopal makes some of the best coffee in Uttarakhand.

There is good conversation to be had in the common areas each night, but if you want you’re a bit of time and space to yourself Khim’s also offers a fantastic library.

Room Tip: Cottages on the south side have better view and are best for summer while those on the north get mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yarraji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Heard favorably about Khims on my travels and really had to check it out. More than I expected. The place is set off the small mountain road and is blissfully quiet, almost serenely so, surrounded by whispering pine trees and with stunning views of the snow ranges to the North.
There are rooms and cottages, I have one of the latter with its little flower-edged terrace, a wooden floored bedroom, tiled bathroom and a kitchen with a large window view of the mountains. Father and son team run the guest house where there is a restaurant serving excellent Indian and Western food cooked by junior, largely vegetarian but you can get meat also. Father Khim, who apparently started this all up some 30 years ago, is now mainly the benign host.
Really loved it and extended my stay by an extra week.

Room Tip: Personally I think the cottages are best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almora
1.4 mi away
The Himalayan Woods
The Himalayan Woods
#5 of 16 in Almora
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imperial Heights
Imperial Heights
#1 of 16 in Almora
195 reviews
6.9 mi away
Grand Oak Manor
Grand Oak Manor
#3 of 5 in Binsar
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AyurVAID Kalmatia
AyurVAID Kalmatia
#3 of 16 in Almora
168 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kasaar Jungle Resort
Kasaar Jungle Resort
#2 of 16 in Almora
145 reviews
1.9 mi away
New Dolma Guest House
New Dolma Guest House
#17 of 35 in Almora
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khims Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khims Guest House

Property: Khims Guest House
Address: Binsar Road, Pappershali, Almora 263601, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Almora
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Almora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill-top location amidst pine trees with views to main Himalayan snow range and India's highest mountain, Nanda Devi. Situated at 1,700 meters altitude and five kilometers by road to the hill-station of Almora, there is also a restaurant open 18 hours daily serving traditional Indian as well as Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Khims Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing