We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling service !”
Review of Chateau de Pray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Pray
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2011

The facade of the chateau is stunning unfortunately the compliments end there! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left I discovered that this Chateau was to be my worst experience of any stay I have had before or since in France. The service was appalling .... we arrived late on a Friday evening with our children and friends after traveling a good distance to get there. We were told on arrival that despite the children being a little thirsty we were not allowed to drink or eat in the rooms. When we awoke in the morning we went to the restaurant for breakfast after ordering several things we sat down to eat and half way through we were told that breakfast was over. We asked if we could finish our meal to which we were were told "10.05 am is not 10 am" and we could take our cereal bowls into the "cave" to finish. Once we sat down in the "cave" we were then told we had to hurry because they need to tidy the "cave" for lunch guests. This is how the stay began and I would like to say it improved however it did not! This hotel is simply one of the worst I have ever had the misfortune to stay at and I would never stay at Hotel Du Pray again.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Pablo227869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaupray, Propriétaire at Chateau de Pray, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Where do I start, this is the right question, perhaps in saying that you have put your negative explanation in all the websites you found with different names and nationalities.

This is one of the worse experiences the Château de Pray had since 22 years! A whole weekend of total lack of respect for place, furniture, staff and other clients!

Could we talk about the stage of ruin you left the room: bottles of wine, peaces of found, amount of garbage under the beds, in the cupboards; carpets, curtains and cover beds maculate of chocolate and grease marks, torn curtains ? We had to close the room for total professional cleaning!

Could we also talk about drinking bottles hidden in plastic bags at the swimming pool?
Only one breakfast asked for your children whereas the entire family pounced on the buffet and as an answer: try to stop me!
Not to mention the noise until late at night!

Your behaviour illustrates the exact reason why is it strictly forbidden to eat or drink in the room! Question of respect for the furniture and place and other clients! Question of security near the swimming pool, as children and adults are walking bared-feet!

I phoned the police station of Amboise: no complain of a stolen Rolex. The maid you accused have been working for the Chateau de Pray for more than 10 years now and we never had that sort of problem. Let me tell you last time a client left a Chanel watch: once found, I personally made the trip from Amboise to Paris to give it back from hand to hand! This is how the team at the Chateau de Pray is!

Last but not least, we tried to please you during the whole weekend: we are a gastronomic restaurant but, as asked, the chef served a plate of pasta and delicatessen at 11pm in the room! As asked, we changed the room near your friends while the hotel was fully booked, at a same price! and this is chosen pieces!!!

Cécile CARIOU
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2011

Good hotel, real atmosphere of 18th century, you feel yourself like you've got to museum and can sit and sleep where normally there're "Do not touch" signs.

BUT NEVER GO THEIR RESTAURANT. Though they pretend to be posh Frehcn Micheline-starred, with the respective prices - it's nothing. We paid about 200 euros for two people for very modest dinner with wine.

And the prices of the dinner and breakfast (15 or 20 euros per person?) are the source for the major income of the hotel which has quite reasonable room rates. That's why they almost force you to book dinner and breakfast there (using different tricks - and you understand that these were tricks only after you get and analyze your bill). Imagine: 100 euros for room, 200 euros for dinner, 20*2 euros for breakfast. So your room rate blows up from 100 to 340 euros per night!!!
Banks with their hidden interest charges are far behind these entrepreneurial people!

Again, if they would stop decoy people to their eating facilities this would be very good historical hotel. But - poor for now.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alexsas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaupray, Directeur général at Chateau de Pray, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

We thank you very much for the good reviews you posted about Chateau de Pray hotel and feel very disappointed about the criticism levelled against our restaurant as our main objective is to share an happy time at the Chateau de Pray with our clients.

The main criticisms are on prices versus quantity and quality.
May we first answer that no-one can “pretend” to be Michelin starred. This is something easily checkable on Michelin Guide.
Our restaurant is One Michelin Star, obtained first in 2008 and very recently renewed on March 2011.
We try to be as transparent as possible in having every prices of every services visibly posted in French and English. Some of our staff additionally speaks Spanish, Italian and German so that everyone having a question can get a clear answer.
Would you have any question on prices, diner meals (also visibly posted at restaurant and reception), wine, breakfasts, you would have had an answer.
Diner prices range from 40€ to 65€.
You have chosen the Degustation Menu (5 courses), a bottle of wine, aperitifs served with home-made preparations. For a price of 85€/pers.
Breakfast is at 15€/pers with coffee or tea, fresh fruits salad, fruit juices, home-made viennoiseries and white bread, and unlimited buffet of different types of cereal breads, yogurts, bio cereals and marmalades, fruits, home-made cakes, fruit juice, nutella…
Your personal bill was: 120€ (room)+ 170€ (diner) = 290€, that is to say 145€ per person, which we sincerely feel very reasonable for the services included.

Every client is free to come and have diner in our restaurant or not, breakfast or not as it is not included in the price of the room.
There is no accounting for taste and to each is own, and we feel very sorry if the diner did not match with your personal tasting.
But we strongly opposed when you suggest on the web that we put pressure to get client eating at the Chateau and that we, somehow, are not transparent on prices and services.

Best regards

Mme CARIOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

The Chateau de Pray is nicely located not far from Amboise and many of the chateaux in the region. We stayed in a decent-sized room with somewhat dated amenities, but it did the trick, other than the lack of sound insulation. But this inn oversells itself: past its prime and inconsiderate towards its guests. There must be many better choices in the area.

Pro's:
1. Location: Near Amboise, we brought our bikes and were able to cycle to that town as well as to Chenonceau, nearby-ish. There are bike routes galore: enquire at the office du tourisme in Amboise (insistingly; they don't really know much). Amboise has Le Clos Luce which is a delight for all ages. The Chateau de Pray is located right next to a major road, so access everywhere is easy (and the traffic easily heard).
2. Grounds: The setting is beautiful. The pool below the chateau is quite nice (more below). There is an herb, fruit and vegetable garden from which the chef purportedly supplies his kitchen.
3. Rooms: Our room in the annex was decent. Nothing great. 12" TV. Bathroom decor and fixtures on their next to last legs. But it was sizeable and the loft with a 2nd bed was great for our son.

Con's:
1. Service: Simply put, you as a guest don't matter very much. At 1AM, the staff were outside laughing, smoking and joking around, keeping everyone up. On another night, they decided to put together an office in the room above us, past midnight - for over an hour! Complaints are initially met with a Gallic upturned nose. To be fair, after taking it under advisement for a couple of days, a small apology was proffered, as was a reduction for part of one night's fee.
2. Pool rules: Great, great pool! But the rules are ridiculous. In the middle of the summer, they close the pool in broad daylight around 6PM. This is because the only access to the pool is right through the middle of the restaurant. Nobody has thought to work out another access arrangement!
3. Breakfast: We were not won over by the slow service or the ants crawling all over all of the limited-selection buffet.

Recommendations:
1. The aforemetioned Clos Luce, which houses many interesting stories, inventions and artifacts from Da Vinci.
2. Many of the restaurants at the foot of the castle in Amboise are lousy tourist traps. Do some research.

Conclusion:
This is an overpriced but serviceable option in the Amboise area. If your dream is to stay in a castle in France, there are many, many, many better options for less. This tiny little country castle is more like an inn, without an innkeeper's charm or whimsy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Canucdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Late booking resulted in an offer of a garden view at 145 euros or courtyard view at 190 euros. Garden is the better view but the room had a small double, no air con of course and do not under any circumsatnces bring a cat with you as you will have no where to swing it. No lounge for for pre dinner drinks or to relax with coffee afterwards. Restaurant prices are silly !!! resonably well presented food but hardly complex cooking, however the souffle was exceptional. Wine 35 euro which is fine but the meal added well over 200 euros to the bill. Breakfast in the orangery ok but no more than that.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boscobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

This is a beautiful property and makes you feel like a king/queen. The restaurant is overrated and overpriced though.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myopinionCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

I came for a couple of days with my wife in order to make a small break after a couple of very hectic weeks.
I must say: this has been a fantastic experience!
the Chateau is absolutely gorgeous, the surrounding is incredible (with Chateau of Amboise being the cheery on the cake!), the service is both very professional and so friendly (you feel as if you were a member of the family) and last but not the least, the food is out of this world: it is a 1-star restaurant (already fairly high level) but the quality is definitely a 3-star one!
you have to meet Cecile, the owner: she is so nice and so friendly.
conclusion is: if you plan to spend some time in the Loire valley you have to go to Chateau de Pray.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

After reading the most recent reviews of the Chateau de Pray, we were considering canceling our reservation, but nothing else was available. We were very happy with our two nights in the hotel and the dinner one night in their restaurant. Our party had two rooms in the chateau - both were clean, bathrooms well-appointed, and very quiet. The grounds were beautiful. The breakfast room was lovely and breakfast buffet was more than adequate. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charge
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
1.4 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
411 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
1.7 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
628 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Pray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Pray

Address: Rue du Cedre, 37530 Charge, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise > Charge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charge
Price Range: £119 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Pray 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in the heart of the Loire Valley...This Hôtel (2km from Amboise city) is tucked away in a 12-acre park, with a lovely kitchen garden ans this magnificent Château, built in the 12sd century and rebuilt in the 16th, watch over by its two towers. Inside, a certain bygone charm prevails.The bedrooms are perfeclty suited in the spirit of the place, with four poster beds, looped curtains, 16the and 18th century furniture and bathrooms decorated with marble and wood. The swimming pool and vast terrace are ideal to relax. Side tastes, the Chief Frederic Brisset, one Michelin star chief,officiates with its brigate motivated to get an unforgettable instant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau de Pray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Pray Amboise
Chateau De Pray Hotel Amboise
Chateau De Pray France/Charge, Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing