We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended hotel/restaurant”
Review of Chateau de Pray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau de Pray
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
198 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Highly recommended hotel/restaurant”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here one night in a very comfortable room in the main chateau. Service throughout our stay was of a very high standard from a hard-working and friendly staff.

The restaurant holds a michelin star so expectations were high for dinner. Initially there was a small problem with pace as the restaurant was nearly full and most of the diners arrived at much the same time. Thereafter the meal was an absolute delight with delicately flavoured and well-executed cooking. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and helpful.

I highly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: A higher quality room may be available at a moderate supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    135
    42
    14
    9
See reviews for
138
319
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We did not stay here, we only dined here, thanks to the helpful front desk at our nearby hotel in Amboise, Le Manoir les Minimes. We wanted a gastronomic dinner of regional Loire products, and they kindly reserved here for us. The dining room in this small chateau is beautifully decorated with tapestries and paintings, and has the feel of a country house, not too formal. It is a wonderful experience when a restaurant can get everything right - the ambience, the cuisine, and the service. The dining room at Chateau De Pray got everything exactly right! We chose the "Jardin de Loire" to start, which was fresh local goat cheese "planted" with fresh baby vegetables, and we shared a roast duckling for two with a fresh blackcurrant sauce, that was incredibly delicious. The duckling was presented and carved tableside - rarely does one get this level of service anymore. After sampling many of the local chevre, we had the last of the season "poached" peaches with peach sorbet and syrup.The highlight of the service was provided by the sommelier, who was exceptional in his knowledge of local wines, even though he himself was from Normandy. He delighted us with his grace and careful selection of wines throughout our dinner that created a magical dining experience - one that we will remember for a long time. Highly recommended for an intimate
dining experience for those that appreciate fine cuisine and wines.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddahbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We enjoyed our 2-night stay at Chateau de Pray at the start of a 6 night cycling trip through the Loire Valley. We had a fabulous room that was quite large (especially for European standards!) and was charming in its furnishing. We felt comfortable and welcomed by the staff and especially loved the large bath that helped to ease weary muscles after long days of cycling!

The breakfast was a nice spread, and the hostess was welcoming. Our dinner at the restaurant was fantastic, even if the sommelier was a bit of a snob. He did know his wines, though, so I can accept someone taking a bit of a know it all attitude. Just don't let yourself be intimidated by a wine steward who acts like they know everything (here or anywhere else!) as they are meant to be resources on the subject! I especially enjoyed the Loire Valley wine selections. My husband raved about the foise gras, and we both thoroughly enjoyed the lobster entree. I have to take a minute to also respect the cheese platter. OK, it was beautiful, and the first time the server brought it out, the whole dining room stopped conversation and watched as he presented it to the bewlidered couple. It took him a good minute or so to just name all the cheeses on the plate! We left very satisfied and feeling as if it was a wonderful dining experience in France!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bermudababe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Experience living in a real chateau at a very reasonable price. This mid-size 750 yr old 4 star hotel/ chateau about 3 miles upriver outside of Amboise has 14 rooms in the main chateau and 4 in the Orangerie building steps away. If you have a car (and you'll need one to visit the Loire Valley chateaus of Chambord, Chenonceau,,etc) this is a wonderful, peaceful respite from all the in town activity. My husband and I booked on line well in advance and stayed in a large room ( #12) in the main building with a 4 poster, canopied queen size bed on the top floor overlooking the beautiful gardens, pool and the Loire River in the distance. No safe in the room but a large room, comfortable bed and large, modern bath. Dinner menu in the restaurant was more elaborate and sophisticated than when I last stayed here (I miss the salmon with buerre blanc!) - by far better than anything in town but service was slow (a 2 1/2 hr meal with long lapses between courses after a long day touring is not enjoyable). Skip the breakfast which is overpriced and not included. Nevertheless, I'd return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Book well in advance (3 months or more) and ask for either Room 12 or something similar. Hotel is be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This is a nice hotel with a restaurant that is extremely good attached to it. The hotel is decent but nothing particularly amazing (our room was ok, one in the orangery opposite the main hotel, fine for a couple of nights but I wouldn't want to have been staying longer I think). The restaurant however is very, very good and makes staying in the hotel a great experience. Excellent service coupled with absolutely superb food. Next time we are anywhere near Amboise I will make a point of booking simply to enjoy a great dinner there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john-hl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

wonderful small chateau with outstanding food. cannot recommend this hotel too highly.
from the moment we arrived everything was perfect, staff friendly and attentive, room great, and the meal one of the best we have ever had in france. there was no snobishness and the somilier very happy to recommend local wines. only disappointment was that we were unable to use the wonderful grounds - but this was due to the weather !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrispf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester,UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This was our second visit to Chateau de Pray. We stayed in February 2011 and the food was so good that we wanted to go back.

The hotel has antique furniture but we had modern bathrooms both times. The rooms were in the main building in opposite turrets on the first floor. When we stayed in February we had a more sumptuous bathroom with a massive bath. Our latest visit was in a smaller room with a shower and separate loo. The shower room was very modern. There were nice fluffy bathrobes but we had to ask for more towels and a bath mat for the floor. To boot they supplied us with 2 more bathrobes!

The food was very good but as mentioned in other reviews, expensive. It did not detract from our enjoyment. We returned because of the food. I thought our meal in February was better that the recent one. The staff all spoke english.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel and did not use the pool.

Internet is free at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charge
2.4 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
16.7 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
6.8 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Pray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Pray

Property: Chateau de Pray
Address: Rue du Cedre, 37530 Charge, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise > Charge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Pray 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in the heart of the Loire Valley...This Hôtel (2km from Amboise city) is tucked away in a 12-acre park, with a lovely kitchen garden ans this magnificent Château, built in the 12sd century and rebuilt in the 16th, watch over by its two towers. Inside, a certain bygone charm prevails.The bedrooms are perfeclty suited in the spirit of the place, with four poster beds, looped curtains, 16the and 18th century furniture and bathrooms decorated with marble and wood. The swimming pool and vast terrace are ideal to relax. Side tastes, the Chief Frederic Brisset, one Michelin star chief,officiates with its brigate motivated to get an unforgettable instant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HRS, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau de Pray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Pray Amboise
Chateau De Pray Hotel Amboise
Chateau De Pray France/Charge, Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing