We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we had hoped for and more”
Review of Chateau de Pray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Pray
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

From the beautiful grounds to the large well decorated rooms this place is superb. We ate at the restaurant and were blown away by the quality and presentation of the food. It was the best food for the whole three week trip through France and Germany. The service from both restaurant and hotel staff was great. We are looking forward to going back and spending some more time there.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank Bruce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here the last week of June for 2 nights.

We had a very large room in the Chateau, not the carriage house. It was clean and very quiet and comfortable. There were many pieces of antique furniture in our room. The front desk was very accomodating.

We had dinner 1 night and though it was quite good, we were surprised that the young women who worked the dinning room were dressed in jeans. It did not look professional at all for an expensive restaurant.

The food was well above average but not deserving of a Michelin star.

The sommelier was arrogant. (We are from the Northern California wine country) I didn't appreciate the attitude of the sommelier who assumed I did not know red wine from white.

The dinning room is very small and pretty.

The woman who managed the breakfast room was excpetionaly nice. There was a good selection of typical French pastries served in a buffet setting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frenchy009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a fantastic hotel - by far and away the best we've ever stayed. The hotel is close enough to Amboise and the rest of the Loire that you can get pretty much anywhere you would want rather quickly, yet isolated enough to make you feel that you are in the French countryside - which you most definitely are. The restaurant is magnificent - truly four star. We WILL stay there again.

Room Tip: Any room here will make you happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAnvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at this lovely little chateau in June 2012. It's in the perfect location to visit the Loire Valley. Amboise, which is a mile or two down the street, was delightful. Leonardo de Vinci is buried at the church at the Chateau Amboise, and he lived in a home not far away for the last three years of his life. How wonderful to visit the grave of perhaps the greatest mind in history. We stayed in one of the towers. A very nice room, well appointed, with a partial view of the River Loire. The chateau grounds were inviting. Within a few minutes of sitting down, I was asked if I would like a glass of wine or cheese or anything else they could bring me. The staff was great and solved some logistical problems we had with our rental car and personal belongings we left behind at a hotel in Dijon. I was disappointed with dinner at their restaurant. It was good, but I thought it was overpriced. Breakfast was the same way. But all-in-all, very nice, we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I deliberately wanted something special with a good restaurant for our wedding anniversary while touring around France with my wife. We booked a superior room in one of the turrets and were delighted with the accommodation, food and overall service. The setting was stunning, the location close to Amboise and the restaurant was excellent and deserving of its Michelin star. A perfect venue for couples and a romantic getaway.

Try the milk fed calf steak, shared between 2, unbelievable.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a turret room, great fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kto Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The ambience of the property was very pleasant and our kids loved the swimming pool. The breakfast in the orangerie can be recommended. We stayed in the pavillion which has the view of the chateau. The room size was adequate for our family with two small kids. Everything was neat and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PtrlmnMancuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We enjoyed staying there as we explored the Loire Valley. Rooms and food were wonderful

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank xit95i95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charge
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
1.4 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
409 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
1.7 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
626 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Pray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Pray

Address: Rue du Cedre, 37530 Charge, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise > Charge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charge
Price Range: £118 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Pray 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in the heart of the Loire Valley...This Hôtel (2km from Amboise city) is tucked away in a 12-acre park, with a lovely kitchen garden ans this magnificent Château, built in the 12sd century and rebuilt in the 16th, watch over by its two towers. Inside, a certain bygone charm prevails.The bedrooms are perfeclty suited in the spirit of the place, with four poster beds, looped curtains, 16the and 18th century furniture and bathrooms decorated with marble and wood. The swimming pool and vast terrace are ideal to relax. Side tastes, the Chief Frederic Brisset, one Michelin star chief,officiates with its brigate motivated to get an unforgettable instant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau de Pray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Pray Amboise
Chateau De Pray Hotel Amboise
Chateau De Pray France/Charge, Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing