We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gastronmic Delights”
Review of Chateau de Pray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Pray
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My wife and I spent the first night of our "mini-moon" at the Chateau De Pray. The mini moon itself consisted of three stays in three different Chateau in France. We arrived after a long drive from London (easily doable in a day btw) and were welcomed warmly by the reception staff. The Chateau itself is set in a secluded area of woodland away from the main road in to Amboise. It is easy enough to find and would be my suggestion for an overnight halt rather than stay in Amboise itself. The setting is very peaceful with a garden, woodland and swimming pool to occupy yourself prior to dinner. The drive in to Amboise is about 10mins and merits a brief look although the town itself is a bit of a tourist trap IMHO. Returning to Chateau De Pray you feel a little bit special and that you've made the right accommodation choice. The gastronomy dinner is excellent and a real must. Local wines are well presented by the in-house sommelier and if you cannot manage a full bottle then he'll accommodate you in some way. We stayed in the petit room and it was small but then so are we so not really a problem however I'd not want to spend more than two nights as it may get cramped. The shower was very good although no bath but again, not really something to worry about for an overnight halt. All in all, I would recommend this place. We did not however stay for breakfast, too expensive for my taste I'm afraid and with local produce / patisseries / boucheries being so plentiful it seemed pointless.

Room Tip: Petit room is petit but adequate for a 1 / 2 night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruski_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed at this chateau/hotel for one night during a group bike tour in the Loire Valley. It was a great experience. I particularly enjoyed the very nice outdoor pool after a hot day of biking. Additionally, the group dinner we had on the veranda was outstanding. The French know how to eat and this hotel's food and service was superb. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Chateau is perfectly beautiful, amazing pool, grounds, rooms. My singular but significant complaint was the restaurant for dinner was suddenly closed when we arrived for dinner, no mention of this on the phone when we called earlier in the day before our long hunger inducing drive to the Chateau from Paris. Then in the morning at breakfast I ordered some eggs as was told there is no chef so there will be no hot food for breakfast! This is after we prepaid 32 euros for it. No apologies given (in typical French fashion?). Overall we felt let down by this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed in the Petit Chambre which at 145 Euro per night is a bargin. It is in one of the towers with a view over the gardens. The bathroom is also neat, clean and modern enough. The staff were very friendly and helpful and never pushy about eating breakfast and dinner at the hotel, it is so close and handy to Amboise that it is easier enough to eat in there. A classic old chateau that I would love to stay at again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott22-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights. The first two were in one of the rooms across the courtyard from the hotel (Pavilion Rooms). It had a damp smell and was rather gloomy with a double (ground floor) and two single beds (upstairs). These are really family rooms near the staff quarters and we asked to transfer to a room in the hotel which was much better.

We had dinner in the restaurant twice and the food was excellent. The wine waiter is a real star! However the dining room is a bit gloomy and the service could do with sharpening up - we had some pre-dinner drinks in the garden and got forgotten about - nobody came out to tell us when our table was ready.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BorderTerriers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

From the beautiful grounds to the large well decorated rooms this place is superb. We ate at the restaurant and were blown away by the quality and presentation of the food. It was the best food for the whole three week trip through France and Germany. The service from both restaurant and hotel staff was great. We are looking forward to going back and spending some more time there.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank Bruce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here the last week of June for 2 nights.

We had a very large room in the Chateau, not the carriage house. It was clean and very quiet and comfortable. There were many pieces of antique furniture in our room. The front desk was very accomodating.

We had dinner 1 night and though it was quite good, we were surprised that the young women who worked the dinning room were dressed in jeans. It did not look professional at all for an expensive restaurant.

The food was well above average but not deserving of a Michelin star.

The sommelier was arrogant. (We are from the Northern California wine country) I didn't appreciate the attitude of the sommelier who assumed I did not know red wine from white.

The dinning room is very small and pretty.

The woman who managed the breakfast room was excpetionaly nice. There was a good selection of typical French pastries served in a buffet setting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frenchy009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charge
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
1.4 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
409 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
1.7 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
626 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Pray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Pray

Address: Rue du Cedre, 37530 Charge, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise > Charge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charge
Price Range: £118 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Pray 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in the heart of the Loire Valley...This Hôtel (2km from Amboise city) is tucked away in a 12-acre park, with a lovely kitchen garden ans this magnificent Château, built in the 12sd century and rebuilt in the 16th, watch over by its two towers. Inside, a certain bygone charm prevails.The bedrooms are perfeclty suited in the spirit of the place, with four poster beds, looped curtains, 16the and 18th century furniture and bathrooms decorated with marble and wood. The swimming pool and vast terrace are ideal to relax. Side tastes, the Chief Frederic Brisset, one Michelin star chief,officiates with its brigate motivated to get an unforgettable instant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau de Pray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Pray Amboise
Chateau De Pray Hotel Amboise
Chateau De Pray France/Charge, Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing