We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally generous hosts, charming accommodation”
Review of La Rongere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Rongere
Ranked #2 of 2 Charge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a wonderful find in the Loire! Absolutely beautiful and generous hosts in a gorgeous rural setting, but only 5 minutes drive from Amboise. My mother lost a bag en route from Paris. When we discovered the loss late on a Friday evening, the owner's daughter could not have been more obliging. She phoned the doctor and arranged an appointment for Saturday morning. Then she escorted us to the appointment, also taking us to several pharmacies until all the prescriptions were filled. What a remarkably mature and gracious young lady. The house is magnificent, and the purpose built rooms comfortable and spacious. They were spotlessly clean and the bedlinen was exceptional. Breakfast was abundant and delicious. Be sure not to miss dinner at nearby Chateau De Pray. A Michelin starred restaurant for about 70 euro per person!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Firstclasshostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Husband and I have just got back from a wonderful four nights at Olivia's La Rongere. It was a rushed booking for a last minute getaway. We were so lucky to have found this B&B - Olivia is so warm and friendly and made our stay so perfect we didn't want to leave. The property is well located for days out and very peaceful but just near enough to Amboise to pop out for dinner. It's surrounded by vineyards - recommend the walking route to the very friendly fun local winemakers from the B&b. Our room was number 4 which is a double and more private - you walk straight out to the crystal clear swimming pool and terrace. Everywhere was very clean and beautifully decorated - Olivia keeps it immaculately. Breakfast was very good - especially the various breads. Can't wait to go back. Perfect.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

What a gorgeous b and b.
An excellent host, excellent rooms, excellent breakfast - what more does one want when on holiday. We adored Olivia and her family - they were all charming. We were given every assistance with planning journeys and bicycles are available for the use of room guests. Olivia made restaurant reservations at places we would never have found ourselves.

Room Tip: All very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

A nice, clean B&B which was only a few minutes drive to Amboise. Breakfast was fine, with croissants, cereal, yoghurt, etc. With it being so hot during our stay, it was nice to go for a dip in the pool at the end of the day.

It would have been nice to have either air conditioning or at least a fan in the room. It was difficult to sleep with it being so hot - even with the windows wide open at night.

It also would have been a nice touch to have a mini fridge in the room. Like anybody touring the Loire Valley, wine purchases were frequent. We had to have the host put our wine in his fridge, then whenever we wanted to have a glass of wine by the pool, or in our room, we had to ask him to retrieve our wine, followed by him taking it back to his fridge. You get the idea. One evening, there was nobody home and we were unable to get our wine from their fridge.

Overall, we were happy with this accommodation. It was clean and a winery backs onto it. You couldn't ask for a nicer setting. I just wanted to point out a couple of areas that I felt were a little lacking.

Room Tip: Room 4 was at the end and was more exposed to the sun, therefore it got quite hot in there - even wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank live4squash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Spent three lovely nights in this wonderful bed and breakfast. The room was separate from the house and very large comfortable bed and lovely large ensuite. The breakfast each morning was fresh and plentiful and plenty of local produce. Olivia the host of this wonderful accommodation was extremely helpful, couteous and a delight. If your ever touring the Loire valley this is the place to stay if you want a piece of paradise including a lovely heated pool. I have no hesitation in recommending La Rongere to anyone travelling to the Loire valley

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Whalerscove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Great hospitality. Breakfast was tasty and the hostess was always friendly and helpful. Plus it was convenient to drive from Charge to several of the chateaux all in one day. The rooms were tasteful, clean and modern. The sauna was relaxing and we definitely enjoyed playing the table tennis outdoors!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasoebe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on our way back from Lanquedoc.
We had a good sized room with a seating area, well kept and presented and with the use of an outdoor heated pool and a sauna. Breakfast was a good standard continental choice.
The propery is in a quite spot in a small village but within 15 minutes of Amboise and well placed for Chenonceaux and many other Loire chateaux.
The best part was the welcome from our host, who was always friendly and helpful and we spent an enjoyable hour one evening sat by the pool, with a glass of wine, some nibbles and interesting conversation with Olivia and another guest from Germany.
Would definitely use again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJG_KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charge
4.8 mi away
Chateau de Nazelles Amboise
Chateau de Nazelles Amboise
#1 of 4 in Nazelles-Negron
255 reviews
4.6 mi away
Les colonnes de Chanteloup
3 mi away
Le Clos de L'Hermitage
Le Clos de L'Hermitage
#7 of 31 in Amboise
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Les Fleurons
Les Fleurons
#3 of 31 in Amboise
142 reviews
5.9 mi away
Manoir de la Guepiere
Manoir de la Guepiere
#2 of 4 in Nazelles-Negron
36 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rongere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rongere

Address: 17 rue de la Resistance, 37530 Charge, Amboise, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise > Charge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Charge
Price Range: £62 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Rongere France/Charge, Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing