We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and relaxation magic...”
Review of Farosunds Fastning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Farosunds Fastning
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farosund
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing food and relaxation magic...”
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

Perfect for relaxing with your spouse! Food, service and the surroundings is pure magic. Some of the dishes might be only for extreme meat lovers (raw meat, bone marrow spicying etc) but overall great local food and presentation. The "oxlägg" (oxen, pickled beef? Not sure of the english name) for two persons (sek 600) was the best main course I have ever eaten.

Me and my wife have spent last weekend of August here twice and it is a perfect time since there is plenty of room in all mutual facilities such as the jacuzzi and the pool.

If you need a relaxing foos weekend with long walkabouts in virgin Gotland landscape, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalvhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    9
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Beautiful nature, modern stylish building. Calm. Rooms comfortable, nice lounging chairs in the patio. Breakfast nice, though no fresh tea or coffee. Strong ventilation noise from kitchen disturbing when eating on terrace. Tiny pool, no good swimming in the sea nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snövit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We found this hotel a little by hazard but were very pleasantly surprised by the orignal construction, all the rooms have been installed in an old fortress. It is located in a very nice area overlooking the sea. The staff was very nice and helpfull, last but not least we had an excellent dinner at the hotel (probably the best we had in a week staying in Sweden). Pool and spa were very nice. Only negative part is the excessive charge for extra children beds. Probably the best place to stay in the North of Gotland

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bossphilippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed at Fårösunds Fästning in June, i.e. pre-season so we got a good deal and it was not so busy.

Pros:
- The surrounding landscape and the proximity to Fårö;
- The architecture (the fortress); the room was simple in a positive way and comfortable and clean. The beds were comfy;
- The restaurant and pools/sauna.

Cons:
- The breakfast. It was set up in a manner that was not practical and it was simply too little of everything, things kept running out and guests were constantly waiting and getting annoyed;
- The first night we had trouble sleeping due to somebody snawring in one of the adjacent rooms, i.e. the walls were pretty thin;
- The restaurant was great, but a bit too pricy.
- We were disappointed that there were not any bathrobes in the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sthlm_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Schweiz
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed several days at the hotel in July. The outside environment is gorgeous, very quiet and directly at the sea. The restaurant looks nice but the offered food is not exceptionally great and the portions are really small (better do not arrive hungry). The hotel rooms are ok for two persons (do not move in with children, then it become pretty tight) and partially without windows. Even the rooms with windows are only aired via aircondition. Beside the manager, who is trying to fullfil all wishes, the service personal is not very well trained.
Then indoor pool is small, the outside jacuzzi ok. Overall, no corresponding value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giraffe0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farosund hotels

resemannen
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Fårösund is probably one of the most beutiful places in the world. However, it is not worth paying Fårösunds fästning a visit. The food is overpriced and overrated and the service is lousy (non existing). However, the coffe is good. I would suggest you park the car outside the restaurant and then go for a lovely walk in the beautiful surroundings instead of getting neglected by a bunch of self absorbed waiters.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank resemannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We had been advised there is a boutique hotel on Gotland, close to the beloved island , Fårö, of the Swedish director Ingemar Bergman. One thing is clear, Ingemar Bergamn would never have put his foot inside this place. It is an insult to Gotland.
The location is good. But that is where it stops. The hotel is built in a fortress, which means that the rooms are without windows, small, feeling like prison cells. The ventilation is poor. The staff is totally stuck up, and behaves like they are not interested in you as a guest. We were promised a number of things which the staff totally ignored. The food (which should be good, since the place is run by a famous chef in Stockholm) is nothing special at all. It was without flavor, and totally overpriced. The rooms in the hotel are also overpriced. There is a sadness over the place.
One thing was good - breakfast. Now, we are checking out!!!

If you want to enjoy Stockholm in Gotland, this may be a choice for you. If you want to avoid brats and arrogant staff - skip this place!!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank reslyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farosund
31.5 mi away
Novi Resort Visby
Novi Resort Visby
#11 of 15 in Visby
12 reviews
32.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Clarion Hotel Wisby
#2 of 15 in Visby
816 reviews
32.2 mi away
Hotel St. Clemens
Hotel St. Clemens
#1 of 15 in Visby
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.8 mi away
Toftagarden Hotell
Toftagarden Hotell
#1 of 2 in Tofta
28 reviews
33.1 mi away
Scandic Visby
Scandic Visby
#3 of 15 in Visby
268 reviews
32.6 mi away
Hotell Slottsbacken
Hotell Slottsbacken
#4 of 15 in Visby
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farosunds Fastning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farosunds Fastning

Property: Farosunds Fastning
Address: | Bungenäs, Farosund, Gotland 620 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Gotland > Farosund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farosund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Farosunds Fastning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farosunds Fastning Farosund, Gotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing