We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not suitable for business but relaxing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Djupvik Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Klintehamn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Djupvik Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Klintehamn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not suitable for business but relaxing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

A quite place made for relaxing or as get-a-way. For business there are no real workplace in the room nor ac/dc where it should be. Breakfast is served from 9! Nice studiolike rooms with a perfect view over the ocean and sunset If u are lucky. Nice portch outside every room but bring your own drinks. Prices are high.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gunilla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    19
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
21
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This place is different...on Gotland. You will, however, find a similar decor in dozens of places from one end of the world to the other.
On the other hand, few places in Sweden have such undisturbed views of the sunset and our friends who recommended us to go here for a drink when the sun was setting into the Baltic were probably not wrong.
If, however, you do like we do and decide to stay to have dinner here, the food has ambition and is really well presented. The price tag smells big city, not Gotland countryside, and so does the crowd. Unfortunately, the service does not match. It is, as other reviewers have pointed out, slow and more than a bit distracted. The kids offering, however, we found to be real value for money, so the family juniors will be well fed....once the food arrives.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ex-expat-1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
493 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Like many guests, we did not stay at the hotel but came only to eat at the restaurant. We have done so for many summers, and always enjoy returning to their fabulous view of the Baltic Sea and the Karlsö Islands.

I had salmon and like the rest of my party found it well prepared and presented. The wine list is somewhat limited when it comes to glass wines, but we found a good Pinot Gris.

In comparison to previous visits, the staff seemed more stressed and less personal. The restaurant may have become a victim of its own success. There was a long wait for our booked table and people kept streaming in, perhaps without reservations, which pressured staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reslysten54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Self catering apartments with tasteful breakfast overlooking the wonderful Karlsöarna. Modern and stylish apartments with limited cooking facilities spread out over a hill overlooking the sea. Djupvik hotel is situated some 45 kilometres south of Visby and it translates into a 45 minute drive from the ferry.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSnowSto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
616 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

On the westcoast of Gotland, about 40 minutes south of Visby yo will find this interresting design hotel and restaurant. Only a limited number of rooms or bungalows, a small outdoor pool and a restaurant facing the Baltic and actually only 300 yards from the beach.
You can stay over night here, have dinner or only lunch. We have been here several times and always good service and good food. Don´t miss the shimp sanwiches och shrimp sallad!
Recommended place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Gotland is a very special island, and so is Djupvik hotel. Located peacefully with a superb view over the sea, calm and quiet. Very modern main building w restaurant. Rooms spread around in small modern buildings. The pool is a bit small but enough for a dip and never crowded. Anyway the beach is nearby for a real swim. Lounging chairs/beds spread along the lawn. Openair restaurant and bar. Food superb. Best Breakfast ever! Chef prepares your eggs, tea and coffee served fresh and hot and generously. Small buffet of great quality. Managed by owners. Wife works hard, very attentive to details. Very friendly service. A pity we couldnt stay longer. The only thing that bothered me a little bit was the continuous "soft-yoga" music. More relaxing without it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snövit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klintehamn
23.8 mi away
Hotel St. Clemens
Hotel St. Clemens
#1 of 15 in Visby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotell Slottsbacken
Hotell Slottsbacken
#4 of 15 in Visby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
23.5 mi away
Donners Hotell
Donners Hotell
#10 of 15 in Visby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Toftagarden Hotell
Toftagarden Hotell
#1 of 2 in Tofta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
23.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Clarion Hotel Wisby
#2 of 15 in Visby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.9 mi away
Frojel-Resort
Frojel-Resort
#2 of 5 in Klintehamn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Djupvik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Djupvik Hotel

Property: Djupvik Hotel
Address: 233 Eksta Bopparve, Klintehamn, Gotland 623 54, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Gotland > Klintehamn
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Klintehamn
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Djupvik Hotel Klintehamn, Gotland, Sweden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing