We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gyllene Uttern
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Granna
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a really nice and different hotel with a history that dates long back. The building itself says that, looking much like a fortress upon a hill, practically.
Beautiful hotel and some really nice and cosy facilities. Service is mostly welcoming and nice and just makes the whole experience very memorable in a good way. This is a hotel to make traditions. The view from the bar and the very nicely decorated restaurant are beautiful, overlooking the lake below. Also the nearby little town of Gränna is worth visiting, very charming and famous for its red and white candy; the "polkagris". You can find small workshops where this candy is made by hand everywhere around.

The only minus for Gyllene Uttern are the opening hours; the restaurant and bar close really early; also the enclosed "coffee house". For me this really is a big minus, unfortunately.

Room Tip: There are rooms both in the main building and in separate buidling that are newer and rooms in the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 136 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
107
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We bought a car in Sweden and started driving. We ended up here. It was a great introduction into Sweden. The view was great and there were plenty of places to walk. The breakfast was great. The bed was not good, however the pullout couch was fabulous. The sauna was great. The service was fine.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stopped one night here. We had a bit of a mix-up with our reservation - we reserved a room in the historic old inn, but were assigned a room in the newer wing. I asked to verify the price and was told it would be at the lower rate, so I was satisfied. At checkout they charged me the higher price, but when I questioned it they corrected the bill. The room itself was rather bland, but good sized and with an excellent view of the lake. The view of the lake is the main reason to stay here, I think, and we enjoyed fika on the large outdoor veranda. We also enjoyed dinner at the white-tablecloth restaurant, which accommodated vegetarians like us very well, and with an excellent server. Not cheap, but a first class dining experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiminptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stopped over on my way from Stockholm to Varberg, stayed in the main building... The room was nothing special but great views of Lake Vättern and nice breakfast... the staff opened 30 minutes early for my sake... Brilliant attitude

Not cheap but good value

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Wnchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed here for a conference and i simply loved it. The conference room could have been better, but everything else was really good. We had the traditional Swedish "julbord" and it might be the best one i've been to. The service was also very good. I had a room in the annex which was much better than expected. It was basic, but very good quality and felt like it was almost new. I would stay here again with any hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We really loved the view from our room and also from the restaurant. Our room was nice, however, there is no elevator in the historic building. Parking is free. The breakfast has a very nice variety and very fresh food. It is served in the historic room with interesting paintings. Dinner is served in a modern, glass extension with wonderful views of the lake. The service was excellent and we were well taken care of. The food was delicious. There is also a nice deck to enjoy the view with coffee or drinks and sit and visit or read or relax. We planned to visit the island, Visingso, but the next day a big storm stopped that. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in the hotel just for one night. We had a room in the wing building, which is cheaper. Side building is just 2 floor modern building, but don´t worry it has great view at lake from each building. There is no problem with parking. It is outside parking but for free. Rooms in side building are clever option.

The main building has nice historic atmosphere. The only detail I do t understand are the windows. They have modern white frame windows on such a historic building… There is a nice terrace where you can stay during the whole day just reading or drinking coffee or tea which you can make free of charge. It has family and relaxing atmosphere.

The restaurant is nice with nice view at lake. But be prepare for quite narrow selection for really expensive price (soup for 150 SEK, main course 250-300 SEK). But dinning is expensive at every place in Sweden. So if you are used to Italian or even Czech cusine and prices you will say that it isn´t value for money. But compared to Swedish restaurants it was nice. The breakfast is in the same restaurant in very old big room. It has a castle atmosphere. Also the selection and quality of the food is great.
Good place for visiting Granna (nice small town) and to the island Visingso. We had it as a one day Stockholm escape to explore Swedes countryside and nature. I can recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms in the wing building are clever option. The same marvellous view for much less money. Real val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pavel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granna
1.8 mi away
Hotel Amalias Hus
Hotel Amalias Hus
#1 of 2 in Granna
124 reviews
19.7 mi away
Badhotellet
Badhotellet
#1 of 2 in Tranas
149 reviews
18 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Scandic Elmia
Scandic Elmia
#4 of 16 in Jonkoping
552 reviews
0 mi away
Wisingso Hotel & Conference
17.7 mi away
Vox Hotel
Vox Hotel
#2 of 16 in Jonkoping
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gyllene Uttern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gyllene Uttern

Address: Gyllene Uttern 1, Granna 563 92, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Jonkoping County > Granna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Granna
Price Range: £83 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gyllene Uttern 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best places in Sweden! An unforgettable hotel experience. Midway between Stockholm and Malmo, in the County of Granna-Visingso, stands our magnificent country manor hotel with its castellated walls. This was once Sweden’s first roadside restaurant. With direct and easy access from the major E4 motorway, the hotel is set in a quiet, tranquil and beautiful lakeside location, offering panoramic views of Lake Vattern and the island of Visingso. Our guests can enjoy the highest standards of cuisine as well as a range of excellent accommodation – from luxury suites to modern double rooms. We promise you that your stay will be an unforgettable experience! We can also offer a range of different leisure activities, and will do our utmost to respond to any of your requirements and needs – no matter if you come here for a conference, on holiday, just for a relaxing weekend, or perhaps for your wedding ceremony in our chapel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Gyllene Uttern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing