We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic accomodation”
Review of Grinda Wardshus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grinda Wardshus
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vaxholm
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in one of the wooden chalets. There are two single beds and a mini extra room with a bunk bed. The equipment is very basic, 4 glasses, 4 plates, fridge, oven/microwave... The chalets don't have water. If you want to wash up your dishes, you have to carry water from the showers. Depends where the chalet is located it can be a quite long way. Shared showers and toilets. Toilets are without water flushing which must be similar to a toilet in the medieval.
On this little island you have also the Grinda Wardshus which is hotel and restaurant. On the little harbour you can find a Bar/Restaurant with very nice views and a chill out lounge.

Next time we would prefere camping.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosimania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

I was fortunate to be in Stockholm fopr Sweden's mid-summer holiday and celebrated it with a friend on Grinda Island (an hour from central Stockholm by fairly frequent ferries). Many day-trippers were also on the island, making for a festive mood, with dancing around the maypole etc. All sorts of accommodation (hotel, basic cabins, camp-sites etc.) is available on the island. We chose the main hotel, which consists of barrack-like structures behind the old manor house, the latter taken up by the restaurant and hotel administration. Hotel rooms are very basic, by design, but also attractive, and the bathrooms work well. No TV or other frills. The energetic manager of accommodations on the island was constantly present and keen to ensure guest satisfaction. Part of the attraction, beyond the beautiful site, is the restaurant which provided us with a good (if not stellar) meal nicely served on the building's terrace with bay and island views. It's hard to comment on value for money, as this judgment will vary from person to person. We thought it was well worth the price at around $ 400 per person in single rooms, including dinner and breakfast (the latter not the hotel's best feature). We came away delighted with the experience, not least the lovely ferry rides to and from the island.

Room Tip: The rooms are basically identical, although corner ones get an extra window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I went to Grinda with my then 4 year old son in June 2012 and we had a great time. I think it had a lot to do with what we wanted so a two night stay wouldn't be for everyone. We stayed in the cottages near to where the boat pulls in as opposed to the main guesthouse. This review is therefore for the island in general. As a rough guide I would say the following.

Day trip using the Cinderella boat - this would be fine for someone who wanted to see a picturesqe and fairly uninhabited island. 4-5 hours would enable you to follow the 2.5km nature loop, relax on a beach/cliff and grab lunch somewhere. Having experienced it on both a weekend and a weekday I'd go for the latter if possible. The were lots of daytrippers particularly on the Sunday. There's a basic cafe attached to the main shop which seems to be open most days. The mid-priced option at the harbour is weekends only except for high season which starts this weekend.

Overnight stay - this means you can probably get a beach or cliff to yourself outside of daytripper hours. Particularly nice if you self cater as we did. Cottages 5-10 were close to the cliff overlooking where the boat pulls in and had some sun around breakfast time. If you have the funds then the main guesthouse has room/meal deals. Not cheap but the were some significant reductions in May. The cottages have a portable grill, a two ring stove and a small oven (only one ring works when the oven is on). Cottages do not have bathrooms but it is a very short walk to the toilet block and shower block. The shop is pretty basic especially if you compare it to the supermarkets on Möja or Utö. Basically meatballs in a tin or hot dogs versus the ability to cook a decent meal. We were aware of this and packed pretty much everything except for bread and milk.

Multiple nights - personally I can't see this suiting many people. It's not an island where you hike great distances or hire a bike. The number of daytrippers would probably be too great for anyone looking for isolation or complete peace and quiet e.g. in our three days, the field by the south quay was twice taken over by groups of partying high school graduates. In our case it was fine as my 4 year old was very happy exploring the beaches, cliffs and forests. We had two tiny beach spades, a small ball, yatzy, a frisbee (and a portable DVD player to distract him whilst I cooked).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackeberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Upon arrival at the southern boat dock on the island, we walked down the dirt path following the signs to the hotel. As we turned left on the path we were greeted by gorgeous grazing sheep. It was a drizzling afternoon and the path was a bit muddy. Next time I will bring my waterproof hiking shoes/ boots.
The entrance is majestic as you look up the staircase. The dog rest area is clearly marked "hundparking" with a full bowl of water and a piece of carpet for carefree rest. Stroller parking is near the side entrance.
Fromthe main entrance you are lured to the two cozy and inviting day beds next to the wood burning fireplace.
Check-in at the old style corner registration nook was quick and easy.
The bedrooms are large for European standards and the bathrooms are clean. No toiletries were available save the liquid soap inside the shower. No hair dryer either. The towel warmer is a nice touch.
The bar is decorated with old life preservers and the bottles against the window give a great light display. The mojito that my husband ordered was rather weak, but my beer was a perfect Swedish ale.
Our walk in the forest was magical. Mushrooms of all types styles and colors abounded. A friendly fox followed our wal thought the coastline. He was well photographed by us and became a most lovely model.
We did not partake in the water activities since it was a cool wet September weekend. We will definitely return

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubayogachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed over swedish midsummer and booked the last room which was a king size room. The reason they have a king size room probably dependeds on the fact that they forgot to put a toilet in one room and instead made an opening to the next room and made it a king size room. The extra room comprised of an sofa in the corner and a plastic flower in the opposite corner.

The price for two people was about 4 800 SEK (545 EUR). There was no king size bed but two single beds from IKEA put together, no TV, no minibar, no phone to call the reception. The soap in the room was in a container from a public bath house.

Check in at 15:00 (3 pm) and check out at 10:00 (am). The breakfast did not even have bacon and eggs and you had to wait for them to fill everything up since there was not enough food.

I can honestly say that this stay was the worst I've had, considering prize vs comfort. I can not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. The island itself is very nice but I would prefer to stay in a tent if ever going back to Grinda. If you are considering staying in a hotel in the Archipelago I would chose Sandhamn or Utö which have much higher standard to lower prizes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MJSTHLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The day before Midsummer Nights Eve we got the opportunity to have a rome for half the price.
995 SKR (normally 995 SKR/per person. Good beds. Your own shower and toilet. But otherwise no nothing. No Tv-set, no WiFi, no hair dryer, well, no nothing. The breakfast completely poor! No warm dishes. One single poor brave girl trying her best to make us happy refilling the almost, per definition, empty plates.. But, not ok. Not even for half the price. Value for money? Well, yes! :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schwartzenegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

To start with, the location is everything. A good hour by boat from downtown Stockholm (and you can only get there by boat!), but you feel like you are in Scandinavia's paradise. You can easily walk around the entire island, take a dip into the water (even in August it was not as cold as we had expected) or just enjoy the serenity of the place.

The hotel owns three different saunas right by the water which you can rent for an hour or two just for your party. When you're "well done" you can just jump into the Baltic sea to refresh. Paradise!

Make no mistake: the island is why you come to Grinda and it is absolutely worth the trip. Grinda Wärdshus, the hotel as such, is the only place to stay on Grinda but certainly not a place I would recommend if it were anywhere else in the world.

The hotel's main building is over 100 years old and oozes a distinct turn-of-the-century charme. The rooms where you will spent the night, however, are in a compound in the back. Rooms are clean and simple - however, much simpler than the price they ask would make you guess. Simple meaning: simple bathrooms, no fridge or mini bar, no wifi, no TV, no nothing.

We had both lunch and dinner there and cannot agree to fellow travelers who said the food was bad. They serve some typical Scandinavian dishes like köttbullar (meat balls) and who wants to blame them. Again, also food and wine may seem overprized, but after all this is Scandinavia and when traveling to Sweden you should know what to expect in terms of prices, in particular for drinks.

We did not have breakfast there, even if we had paid for it beforehand. And that brings me to the worst part of the experience: the staff. Although we had booked incl. breakfast online they insisted we did not.

That was no big deal because we had to catch the morning boat anyway, otherwise we would have been trapped on the island. How did we know? Well, we researched it ourselves. When we called they hotel before they told us there'd be boats at 8am and 11am. Well, there were on the day we called - but not on the day of our stay, which argubly is a major difference.

Even by Swedish standards (where you shouldn't expect too much) the service quality is really poor. A bunch of inexperienced youngsters try to run the place but have no idea how to serve a customer. The only one who knows his job the guy behind the bar.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeenThereAlready_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaxholm
7.2 mi away
Waxholms Hotell
Waxholms Hotell
#1 of 2 in Vaxholm
165 reviews
17.5 mi away
Smadalaro Gard
Smadalaro Gard
#1 of 2 in Dalaro
86 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kastellet Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Vaxholms Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Grinda Wardshus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grinda Wardshus

Address: Sodra Bryggan Grinda | Grinda, Vaxholm 185 99, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Vaxholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vaxholm
Price Range: £52 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grinda Wardshus 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Grinda is like coming to a place where the world stands still.Located just one hour from central Stockholm, you’ll find yourself as far as possible from the madding crowd.Only one thing exists here. The greatest peace and quiet.Henrik Santesson first discovered this tranquillity. The first director of the Nobel Committee bought the island in 1906 and built a summer house for the pleasure of his family.It took two years to build the art-deco building, which today is the beautiful inn, Grinda Wärdshus.As our guest, we offer you the same hospitality as Henrik Santesson offered his – fine dining, beautiful ambience and a good night’s sleep in the heart of the archipelago.Spring and autumn, summer and winter. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grinda Wardshus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grinda Wardshus Hotel Vaxholm
Grinda Wardshus Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing