We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phalaborwa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bakkers Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 26 Phalaborwa B&B and Inns
Valenciennes, France
2 reviews
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Highly enjoyable stay in a small and friendly B+B. Nice clean rooms and a warm welcome from Corina and Cees. Great food too! Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agregga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We've stayed here twice and will always recommend Bakkers to anybody wanting a place to stay over in Phalaborwa. From the little details in each cottage and room, the neat gardens and swimming pool, to really good homemade meals and competitive prices - what more could you wish for.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Bakkers B&B is comfortable, neat and very clean! We loved the garden and the pool - especially after a day of traveling in Kruger National Park, it's heaven to emmerse in the sparkling water and just drift away while the birds are singing their dusk songs! Breakfast on the patio is what South African hospitality is all about - but the Bakkers and their European flair, you will be sure that your needs are well taken care of!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantivN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We came back for the 4th time to Bakkers bed and breakfast. Again we had a wonderful stay with our child. Room are basic, but well equipped and everything is clean. Good breakfast, friendly owners. And very close to the border of Krugers, but with different (lower)rates then Kruger per night.

Cees took us to Kruger NP, since he is a fieldguide. Great sightings! Lots of info flora and fauna. We will be back in november 2011.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmore1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed at Bakkers Bed and Breakfast on our way to Kruger National Park. The friendly Dutch owners Cees and Corina Bakker took good care of us. Breakfast was delicious, Cees is the chef and he makes a mean breakfast! Corina's home made muffins are scrumptious.

The B&B has a lovely little swimming pool where you can relax after a long day of driving in the park.

The B&B is situated in the quiet town of Phalaborwa, just 5 minutes from the Kruger National Park.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Stayed here for the second time now, and again had a wonderful stay. Very enjoyable to relax in the beautiful garden :o). very well located towards the Phalaborwa entrance to Kruger NP. Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmore1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2008

We stayed here in January of 2008 and had a wunderful expierence. We took the opportunity to book Cees as our private guide into Kruger National Park, and were more then impressed with his knowlegde about wildlife and skills as a gamespotter.
The rooms in the bed and breakfast were lovely and newly furnished. Most certainly a place where we will come again !!

  • Liked — the private guided safari tours
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pascal1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phalaborwa hotels
1.6 mi away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
2.0 mi away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
1.7 mi away
Sunbird Lodge
Sunbird Lodge
#2 of 26 in Phalaborwa
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
A Traveller's Palm
A Traveller's Palm
#4 of 26 in Phalaborwa
70 reviews
3.8 mi away
Silonque Bush Estate
Silonque Bush Estate
#3 of 24 in Phalaborwa
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cu Guest House
Cu Guest House
#6 of 26 in Phalaborwa
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakkers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakkers Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bakkers Bed and Breakfast
Address: 31 Starling Street, Phalaborwa 1389, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Phalaborwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bakkers Bed and Breakfast is a small, cozy and intimate bed and breakfast with a personal touch for everyone. Five minutes from the Phalaborwa Kruger Gate and close to other culture and nature activities, it is the place to explore the North-Eastern part of South Africa and make your holiday an unforgettable experience! Accommodation: 2 Private garden cottages for 2 persons each, with en-suite bathroom (shower and toilet). 2 Double bedrooms in the house with a shared bathroom (shower, bath and toilet). All rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans and their own private entrance. Both cottages have dstv and a coffee/tea making tray. Facilities: Breakfast is served in the dining room. Lunch and dinner available by prior arrangement, or you can go to one of the restaurants in Phalaborwa. (Information about the restaurants in Phalaborwa is available in the information folder in each room, and we would be happy to give you advice). Swimming pool. Private and safe parking. There are no pets in Bakkers B&B, and no pets from guests will be allowed. All rooms are non smoking rooms. The following can be arranged for you:*Transfer to and from the Johannesburg or Phalaborwa airport for guests.*Guided tours in SA for a 3 weeks maximum, starting in Johannesburg or Phalaborwa with your own private guide.*Several, half or full day safaris in the Kruger National Park with your own private guide.*Several safaris in the Kruger National Park with Krugerpark-guides.*Tours to Blyde River Canyon and surroundings.*And much more……Rates: Our rates are simple: from R250.00 per person per night with breakfast (so as a single you don’t pay more!!!). We have no seasonal price changes! (Rates are subject to change without prior notice) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing