We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Oasis in Phalaborwa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 24 Phalaborwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fabulous Oasis in Phalaborwa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed just one night at this quaint guesthouse en route into Kruger. What a little gem with amazing lush & tranquil gardens. On arrival we were promptly attented to, shown to our room, then shown around the facilities and before long enjoying a welcome refreshment in the lovely bar & lounge area.

When we arrived Daniela was out on an excursion with some foreign guests so we only got to meet her in the early evening, what an engaging & interesting lady!

The rooms are super & as a previous reviewer says, each with their own character & furnished in true "African" style, comfortable and with all the necessary extras.

Our 3 course dinner was freshly prepared and very scrumptious, the service again fantastic. The breakfast early the next morning was also wonderful & more than plenty with the hot offering made to order.

Overall a fabulous little place & I could see why overseas guests are more than happy to base thenselves out of this guesthouse for longer stays whilst seeing the surrounding sights. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozzie1Joburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    36
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
164
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed here two years ago as solo traveler and just had to come back this time around. First time in beautiful weather, this time in torrential downpours - but weather doesn't matter here: it's still a great little spot! Rooms are not just rooms, they have their own separate identity. Meals are not just meals, they are delicious creations of art. Owners are friendly and know the park, as they are trained guides - Alberto is usually first through the park gates every morning! And the location is great, just outside the park gates.

Don't expect a buffet breakfast if you plan on leaving at 6am - the breakfast bar is there with tea, coffee, rusks and cookies, but that's it. Just stock up the day before at the shops with fruit and other goodies and head into the park for the best morning experiences - after all, most visit to experience the fantastic Kruger NP, not to eat, right? :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gitte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We only stayed there one night but it was one of our favorite stops on our vacation in Africa. Such a cute, quaint little place and Daniela was so friendly and helpful. Great location as well as it is very close to the gates to Kruger National Park.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank targirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

There was no breakfast. The manager said she will organise for us to have breakfast at 6am but there was nothing the next day at 6am and nobody around, the reception was locked and nobody inside.
I tried to walk around the back of the building to find staff and I repeatedly shouted to see if anyone was there but there was no reply. We left at 6:30am to go to Kruger National Park. Breakfast is included in the price so I would have liked to ask for my money back but there was nobody at reception at 6:30am and I had to leave.
I think it was the cook's fault for not waking up for work.
Otherwise the manager and staff were nice when we checked in, and the accommodation was comfortable and good.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

its a really wonderfull guesthouse, we spend here ony one night, it is to short. I would be better to stay 2 nights. The supermarkt and the restaurabnts are not far away - but you can also eat in the good restaurant from the owner - they are cooking nice meals - we had a good time - many thanks

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabo1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

This is the other one of the 2 good restaurants i know in Phalaborwa. The owners are very friendly Daniela is a very good chef and she will organize the dinner if you require for example vegetarian options. She also prepares original drinks an limoncello that are very very good. Fresh food and bread nice list of wines and the place is small and cozy. Check the photo books and African books in the tv/bar room. They also offer tours to the kruger park.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ifrankallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

I'd recommend Kaia Tani for anyone looking to visit this part of South Africa.

We arrived in South Africa as the last leg of our short African adventure and were, a bit, apprehensive of what we would experience.

Any concerns were eliminated on arrival. The guest house is fantastic. It's small and personal. The rooms were to the highest standard and everyone was so welcoming.

We didn't have a hire car but that wasn't a problem. Thanks to Daniela, we were able to do everything we wanted to in the 8 days that we were there. She organised all the trips and made excellent recommendations about what we may like to do. A very big gold star for taking us on a game drive on our last day & spotting the big 5 in one morning!!

The food is fantastic ... just ask for the Amarula Tiramisu!

A big thank you to Daniela, Alberto, Robbie & Malcolm. We hope to be able to visit you again soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weecazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phalaborwa hotels
0.1 mi away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
0.9 mi away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
0.4 mi away
Sunbird Lodge
Sunbird Lodge
#1 of 24 in Phalaborwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Lechere Guest House
La Lechere Guest House
#3 of 24 in Phalaborwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Game Guest House
Royal Game Guest House
#5 of 24 in Phalaborwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
4.7 mi away
Silonque Bush Estate
Silonque Bush Estate
#3 of 22 in Phalaborwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaia Tani Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaia Tani Guesthouse

Property: Kaia Tani Guesthouse
Address: 29 Boekenhout Street, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Phalaborwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaia Tani Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaia Tani is an exclusive guesthouse, situated 1km away from the famous Kruger National Park. Besides 1 Suite/Honeymoon, 3 twin-rooms and 2 family-rooms, all equipped with bath and traditional african furniture, a luxurious garden including a beautiful pool is waiting for you. In the evening, let yourself be regaled by our kitchen. We offer a mixture of mediterranean and african dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaia Tani Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing