We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and wonderful ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 24 Phalaborwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phalaborwa, South Africa
1 review
“Great food and wonderful ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I recently had dinner at Kaia Tani to celebrate a birthday and what a wonderful evening it was. The restaurant is under a lapa which is shielded from any wind by canvas walls and heated by those tall gas heaters. (not that Phalaborwa is ever really cold!)
We started however with a drink at the bar, which overlooks the pool and the well looked after gardens, giving you the illusion you are in a little oasis and not in town! (which you are as Kaia Tani is situated in town, only 1km from Phalaborwa gate!)
Donald, the manager had set up a lovely table for us decorated with flowers. Kaia Tani doesn't offer a la carte but has a set menu which is discussed with you when you book. But they are very open to change a course if you happen to dislike it or have certain preferences.
After fresh ciabatta bread we were served a delicious starter of home made pasta. Our main course was a well presented T-bone with potato wedges and fresh vegetables. My friend went for a delicious chocolate volcano for dessert. All of this accompanied by a good bottle of pinotage. They have a wine cabinet where you can choose a bottle of your choice.
Donald and owner Daniela were wonderful hosts, always there when you needed them but never obtrusive. My friend and I were still chatting away when the other guests had already gone to bed. But never did we feel that we had to leave, being the last people there.
All in all a lovely evening with good food and wine in a wonderful ambience

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    36
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
164
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We visited the Kaia Tani in May 2013 before entering the Kruger National Park.I was looking for a nice accommodation next to the gate and found on the internet the "Kaia Tani Exclusive Guesthouse" and read a lot of excellent recommendations. We went there and got a room next to the restaurant. To change the rooms was not possible. The owner said it`s fully booked but it was absolutely not true. There were no other guests! We stayed there for dinner and hoped to get instead some good food for 170 Zar each (starter and dinner). What we got was very disappointing: some cheap and untasty and hard pasta. I ate those food in my poorest days as a student. Really. And the price is unbelievable high. Both of us had stomach problems. I told the owner that the food is bad but she ignored it. This was the most disappointing stay during our 2 weeks holidays.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marikka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
africanoKruger, Proprietario at Kaia Tani Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
We appriciate feedback and criticism of our guests but NOT false accusations! We were not empty that night but you insisted on staying in room number 1 which was occupied. We then gave you the most expensive room even though you travelled on a discounted voucher.
I personally discussed the dinner menu and price upfront with you and you finished the starter and main course completely. The other guests on the table next to you aswell as my family had the same dishes, as we only have a set menu- everybody complimented us- and nobody had problems the next day.
Only in the morning, after we prepared Breakfast for you,you discovered the Breakfast was not included in the voucher, you left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We spent five fantastic days in Kaia Tani. It is difficult to add more positive comments to all the comments already written by the other guests. We can only confirm all of them. However we can say that the quality/price ratio is very good and the quality of the food is excellent, even if simple. It is like having a dinner at home, when your wife wants to enjoy your meal! And the courtesy of Daniela, Alberto and their son Roberto, together with all the staff, let you feel so comfortable like in your mother's home. Thank you and arrivederci.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Had dinner there recently because we wanted to experience typical Italian cuisine. The main course (two pasta dishes) was entirely unmemorable and expensive (R500 for 2, with tip)! You could do better at half the price at the nearest Mimmo's.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
africanoKruger, Owner at Kaia Tani Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Thanks a lot for the review, it helps us to improve.
We are sorry you didn't enjoy our Italian cuisine. We just want to correct you on the price as you paid R 190 per person for a 3-course dinner. Your total bill was R 455 including your drinks.
We believe this is an exellent price for a starter served with bread-Panini, pasta main course and a dessert, all freshly prepared according to Italian recipes. Furthermore there is always olive oil extra virgin and balsamicv vinegar available on the table.
We make use of imported Italian products such as proper prosciutto parma ham and parmiggiano reggiano-cheese.
Again we are sorry you didn't enjoy the dish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We only stayed for one night and can just confirm what others have described before. – very friendly and knowledgeable hosts, welcoming staff, perfect location close to the entrance of Kruger Park and a well maintained garden. The bed / sleep quality was fantastic and the rooms have everything you need for your stay. Our rating would have been in fact excellent if not for the half-height swing doors to the toilet and that there was no permanent flow of hot water. Just when I had shampooed my hair, someone in the adjacent rooms decided to take a shower too, and gone was my hot water, so I had to finish off in cold water. I spoke to Daniela about that and she promised to look into the problem, however, the next morning we didn’t have hot water at all.
And yes, we would stay there again any time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricaAdventureSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
africanoKruger, Owner at Kaia Tani Guesthouse, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Guest. Thanks a lot for your nice comment. The hot water problem was a once off problem due to the heavy winds on that day and thats why the geyser flame went off. The doors will be replaced in the next months tu fully lenghts doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We spent 3 nights at Kaia Tani, our last South African days and everything has been perfect! The guesthouse has a lovely African atmosphere, I really loved our room!!! And Alberto, Daniela and their staff are so friendly and extremely professional at the same time! They really take care of you and your vacation, from the all-day safaris with Alberto to the yummy dinner you can enjoy as you come back in the evening. I don't know if we'll ever come back to South Africa, but it really worths to spend some time at Kaia Tani!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francyolimpieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed just one night at this quaint guesthouse en route into Kruger. What a little gem with amazing lush & tranquil gardens. On arrival we were promptly attented to, shown to our room, then shown around the facilities and before long enjoying a welcome refreshment in the lovely bar & lounge area.

When we arrived Daniela was out on an excursion with some foreign guests so we only got to meet her in the early evening, what an engaging & interesting lady!

The rooms are super & as a previous reviewer says, each with their own character & furnished in true "African" style, comfortable and with all the necessary extras.

Our 3 course dinner was freshly prepared and very scrumptious, the service again fantastic. The breakfast early the next morning was also wonderful & more than plenty with the hot offering made to order.

Overall a fabulous little place & I could see why overseas guests are more than happy to base thenselves out of this guesthouse for longer stays whilst seeing the surrounding sights. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozzie1Joburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phalaborwa hotels
0.1 mi away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
0.9 mi away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
0.4 mi away
Sunbird Lodge
Sunbird Lodge
#1 of 24 in Phalaborwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Lechere Guest House
La Lechere Guest House
#3 of 24 in Phalaborwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Game Guest House
Royal Game Guest House
#5 of 24 in Phalaborwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
4.7 mi away
Silonque Bush Estate
Silonque Bush Estate
#3 of 23 in Phalaborwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaia Tani Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaia Tani Guesthouse

Property: Kaia Tani Guesthouse
Address: 29 Boekenhout Street, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Phalaborwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaia Tani Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaia Tani is an exclusive guesthouse, situated 1km away from the famous Kruger National Park. Besides 1 Suite/Honeymoon, 3 twin-rooms and 2 family-rooms, all equipped with bath and traditional african furniture, a luxurious garden including a beautiful pool is waiting for you. In the evening, let yourself be regaled by our kitchen. We offer a mixture of mediterranean and african dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Kaia Tani Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing