We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Lechere Guest House
Ranked #4 of 27 Phalaborwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed here with my mum for a short safari trip. Both our rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable bed with mosquito nets, tv (limited channels) mini fridge, wifi access. The bathroom had fluffy white towels with complimentary travel sized toiletries. Breakfast was a lovely choice of cereals, fruit, toast or hot breakfast ~ plenty to start the day with. It's a small guest house but a pool and sun beds give an extra touch. All the staff were very friendly. There is security around La Lachere but it doesnt feel like you need as the surrounding is quite urban. Perfect for visiting KNP. Stay here if you want a small base for touring the area with personal homely touch.

Room Tip: Expect a few animals noises including local dogs during the night, it just comes with the area
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for La Lechere Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

Nice place in a fringe suburb of the town. Room was clean and well-appointed, with large bed for us. A bit cramped with the extra bed added for our son, but we really appreciate the option of having him in the room with the attendant savings. Good Internet access. Rooms are off the pool, which is pretty, and the lounge area with bar. Host was very helpful, allowing us to put our groceries in her fridge overnight, as the room fridge wasn’t functioning well. Breakfast served outside in the pleasant lounge area. Security seemed good; secure parking.
Town was a good place to stock up with groceries for Kruger, with several big grocery stores and lots of variety available. Overall: would be a comfortable place to stay outside of KNP and make day-trips inside the park.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was a little jewel in town! We visited for business for the railways/mine and were nicely surprised by the site and location. Definitely a place you want to relax before/on a long trip!

Very nice host and very welcoming place!

Room Tip: all rooms are fine!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed just one night before driving into Kruger; had two rooms for a family of 4. Set in quiet residential area. Parking in gated area in front of the premises. Well signed posted and only a few minutes drive from Phalaborwa Gate to Kruger (with Spar shop for supplies etc) and local airport. No issues at all and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCBLEGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We spent a glorious 3 nights at La Lechere whilst we explored Kruger National Park earlier this month. The Guest House is a gem and the perfect place to stay if you want a bit of luxury after spending the day exploring. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the bathroom has a fantastic shower, which is a must to wash away the dust! Collapsing into that bed after a long day driving is bliss, I was falling asleep within minutes and waking up refreshed. Breakfast each morning was a delight, freshly cooked for you at whatever time you want, no between unearthly hours here! The owner and staff were friendly and helpful and I found myself not wanting to leave. The communal areas are nicely decorated and the pool was very inviting at all times. We went on a River Cruise which was all arranged for us and we were taken by Cliff who gave us a bit of a guided tour packed with loads of information on the area and the animals. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who likes the finer things in life but at an affordable price, it was a dream and we will certainly return when we are next exploring the area. Thank you Dar for making our stay so pleasant and starting our Kruger experience off in style. Maria & Robert.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meggles57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

For the second time we went to la Lechere and here it's always relax with the beautifull pool and the nice rooms, also it is very quiet and the staff is very friendlly so when you are in Phalaborwa go to this place and the Kruger N.P is just around the corner

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank regine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We found this place by chance. Hanni was most helpful on point of booking over the phone. She also managed to arrange a Night Game Drive which was a fantastic first experience in Kruger National Park.
The B&B is very nicely decorated and the rooms are nice. There is quite a large pool which is nice to cool down as it gets quite hot in this area.
Breakfast was delicious and we had a experience overall.
Thanks Hanni for making us feel very comfortable! Bibiane & André

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAroundTheWol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phalaborwa
1.9 mi away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
2.2 mi away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
21.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
#3 of 6 in Phalaborwa
85 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sunbird Lodge
Sunbird Lodge
#1 of 27 in Phalaborwa
267 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
#2 of 27 in Phalaborwa
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Lechere Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lechere Guest House

Address: Sysie 8 | Limpopo, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Phalaborwa
Price Range: £68 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Lechere Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 5 km from Kruger Park, La Lechere offers a peaceful haven for tourists and businessmen alike. 7 Well appointed private guestrooms and 1 executive suite en-suite with private patio and direct access to the enchanted pool have air-conditioning, DSTV, DVD and WIFI. A healthy breakfast is served on the wooden deck. Relax at the stylish sundowner bar while breathing a contemporary African ambiance. The La Lechere Team can assist you with safari and tour packages as well as private health and beauty treatments. Airport transfer available. Secure parking. Credit Cards. German Management. TGCSA 4-star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Lechere Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing