We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generally a 3star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Phalaborwa
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Generally a 3star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012 via mobile

Rooms could do with some refurbishing, pool is not usable.... water dirty during several days of our stay. Staff and reception friendly. Food is average. Golf was an outstanding experience with giraffes, warthogs, impalas and baboons on fairways and hyppos and crocodiles in the water... Would come back especially in connection with golf...

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    11
    11
    26
See reviews for
16
15
1
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for 4 days and had previously stayed here in the past. The facilities and infrastructure had improved and the staff were kind and courteous. The pool and bar area is a great area to unwind and the recent addition of free Wi-Fi with your room allows the ability to mix your work with pleasure.
This hotel provides a great location to visit the park or enjoy a round of golf.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRAKYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We are South African and booked this hotel as it was recommended for it's Golf Course. The once magnificant golf course has been neglected due to maintenance not being kept up with required equipment. The new owner apparently was only interested in expanding the accommodation but has left the construction half finished. The main original building is magnificent, but staff changes affect the service as nobody seems to know what is going on and who must make the final decisions. The overseas tourist does not get to know what South African Tourism is about when this is their only experience and I honestly hope that these tourists will have the opportunity to experience some of our other great resorts.
The New Year's "Dinner Dance Buffet" existed of barbequed meat (lamb chops, chicken kebabs and steaks) rice, potato bake and butternut for the main meal with only 2 types of salad and 1 soup as starter and 1 pudding or fruit salad as desert. Furthermore the guests could not order wine by the glass and were forced to purchase a full bottle of wine. How is this possible at a 4star graded Hotel?!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Inkie4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phalaborwa hotels

Phalaborwa, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Dear Louis and Team

A very big thank you from myself and GAGE Specialists.
You really went above and beyond, to supply a service that helped make the Golf Day and our Gala Dinner a huge success.
The venue was well presented, the food was great, the waiters and service was excellent. Irene (peanut) and you ran the operation with perfect coordination. Your personal attention to this function was not expected but very much appreciated.





To everyone involved behind the scenes, a big thank you to all of you as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gage010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

We booked this holiday over 6 months ago and were never informed of all the construciotn work taking place. We booked for a period of 2 weeks (long stay) in a self catering unit.
When we checked in the interleading room was locked, the courtyard with wash machines ect was not accessible and our room was located in a position with construciton taking place on 3 sides. Dust, noise, workers etc a continuous dilema.
Once we had locks/keys changed, the courtyard swept (once and only once), the washing machine and tumble drier 'swept' down we were never ONCE contacted by anyone from the management team to consider moving us, or 'up' the cleaning services etc as we were living in a noisy dust bowl.
Other problems - dirty swimming pool water, VERY limited spots with mobile reception, no internet services (no WIFI), TV reception awful - very 'snowy', telephone in room had constant loud crackling, blinds on windows forever falling down (we had to fix them) .....
Such a pity as golf course is lovely (Pro shop awful!!) also enjoyed the Spa as they seemed to care for the customer.
We spent a lot of money here - accommodation, meals, bar, golf nearly every day, spa treatments - perhaps that is all that the management care about. They certainly don;t seem to care about customer service.
We recommend the golf course and the spa but STAY AWAY from this hotel until the management changes. Even after FIFA !

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

We were the first people to use the new dining room and extended pool bar - indeed, the finishing touches to the beautiful landscaping were still in progress. I loved the design of the place, and the attention to detail in the building and finishes. We had one of the self-catering rooms, just by the 12th tee, and were perfectly happy with it even though we were told it was about to be refurbished. OK the shower water did find its way out into the little yard somehow, but if you've got a stroll around 7ft x 4ft shower who cares? The food was generous and more than adequate, although not "gastronomique", and I don't usually have my Sahara cider served with ice and lemon, but perhaps that's a local speciality. The evening safari expedition, with sundowners at the Lodge by the river, is spectacular. And walking round the golf course accompanied by giraffe, wart hogs and impala, and watching crocodile and hippos from the 17th, is fantastic. A big building programme is in progress, which may of course spoil it, but from what they've done so far, I think it will be fine. It is, of course, very conveniently placed for trips into the Kruger. Some co-visitors felt that some members of staff lacked the professional touch, but I didn't mind that. I'd love to go again.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AthosDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2006

We recently stayed for two nights at the Hans Merensky our second visit after a wonderful stay in 2004.

Unfortunately we were given two rooms, one overlooking the back of the bar (which meant everyone could look in), the other overlooking the wall of an office. When we asked to change or upgrade, we were told without any checking, that the hotel was full. This seemed unlikely as it was low season and most rooms appeared empty.

When we arrived there were five people in reception, all shouting at each other reminiscent of Fawlty Towers, this image was compounded by the fact that one was named Manuel.

We had several problems all related to staff disinterest, most were minor but giving the image of lack of mangement control and adding up to a disappointing stay.

We understand that the morale was low due to staff restructuring, perhaps it is best to avoid the Hotel until it is complete we certainly will.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phalaborwa hotels
1.5 mi away
Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
#2 of 6 in Phalaborwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
3.3 mi away
La Lechere Guest House
La Lechere Guest House
#3 of 25 in Phalaborwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sunbird Lodge
Sunbird Lodge
#1 of 25 in Phalaborwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
5.8 mi away
Silonque Bush Estate
Silonque Bush Estate
#3 of 21 in Phalaborwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tingala Lodge at Bed in the Bush
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa

Property: Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
Address: 3 Copper Street, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Phalaborwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing