We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hans Merensky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Phalaborwa
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel on 30 June 2012. It is really a beautiful place. We were very disappointed in our room. The bedside lamps on the wall and the main light of the room did not work. One of the basin taps in the bathroom was broken - no running water. The toilet roll holder non-existent.

This is such a beautiful place with lots of potential - and lovely gardens and golf course. Please do something about the upkeep. We would like to visit there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rialette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

I recently stayed at Hans Merensky and have to say that to my surprise we had a wonderful time, like every hotel there can always be improvements but for what we paid and the service we were given we have no complaints just maybe a better selection of wines and food. The rooms are fine and we are in the bush we played golf and enjoyed every minute of it. We will definitely be back thank you to all the staff and to Juan and Linah who looked after us.

See you soon

Louis

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisthe14th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I recently stay for 12 days for business. After reading a few "bad" reports I was feeling a bit dubious about what to expect. Taking into account it's location, remote area of South Africa, I rate this as a great resort. My suite was on the golf course, fantastic views and short walk to the central facilities. After trying food in all the eating establishments in Phalaborwa, I eat at the hotel as my first preference. The staff are fantastic, in fact delightful. They are so helpful and in their way endearing to those who are willing to engage with them. The golf course is great, the wild animals a truly South African experience and the design of the hotel is of world standard. I can highly recommend it as a destination for Kruger visits.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the golf course, and if there are more than 2 of you, get two which adjoin a share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Rooms could do with some refurbishing, pool is not usable.... water dirty during several days of our stay. Staff and reception friendly. Food is average. Golf was an outstanding experience with giraffes, warthogs, impalas and baboons on fairways and hyppos and crocodiles in the water... Would come back especially in connection with golf...

Stayed: February 2012
Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for 4 days and had previously stayed here in the past. The facilities and infrastructure had improved and the staff were kind and courteous. The pool and bar area is a great area to unwind and the recent addition of free Wi-Fi with your room allows the ability to mix your work with pleasure.
This hotel provides a great location to visit the park or enjoy a round of golf.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crakyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We are South African and booked this hotel as it was recommended for it's Golf Course. The once magnificant golf course has been neglected due to maintenance not being kept up with required equipment. The new owner apparently was only interested in expanding the accommodation but has left the construction half finished. The main original building is magnificent, but staff changes affect the service as nobody seems to know what is going on and who must make the final decisions. The overseas tourist does not get to know what South African Tourism is about when this is their only experience and I honestly hope that these tourists will have the opportunity to experience some of our other great resorts.
The New Year's "Dinner Dance Buffet" existed of barbequed meat (lamb chops, chicken kebabs and steaks) rice, potato bake and butternut for the main meal with only 2 types of salad and 1 soup as starter and 1 pudding or fruit salad as desert. Furthermore the guests could not order wine by the glass and were forced to purchase a full bottle of wine. How is this possible at a 4star graded Hotel?!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Inkie4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Dear Louis and Team

A very big thank you from myself and GAGE Specialists.
You really went above and beyond, to supply a service that helped make the Golf Day and our Gala Dinner a huge success.
The venue was well presented, the food was great, the waiters and service was excellent. Irene (peanut) and you ran the operation with perfect coordination. Your personal attention to this function was not expected but very much appreciated.





To everyone involved behind the scenes, a big thank you to all of you as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gage010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phalaborwa
1.5 mi away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
2.3 mi away
Cajori Hotel
Cajori Hotel
#4 of 7 in Phalaborwa
12 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
296 reviews
2 mi away
Royal Game Guest House
Royal Game Guest House
#5 of 27 in Phalaborwa
35 reviews
5.8 mi away
Silonque Bush Estate
Silonque Bush Estate
#3 of 27 in Phalaborwa
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa

Address: 3 Copper Street, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Phalaborwa
Price Range: £69 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing