We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Phalaborwa
Reviewed 29 March 2014

From an African perspective, we actually thought this place was really good. The rooms were nice and traditional. We liked the thatched roof, bathrooms and general size of the rooms. The staff were friendly and had big smiles. Things are always slower in Africa then elsewhere, there is no point in whipping staff that are doing the best that they can.

Located right near the entry to the game park - in our opinion, this is the best accommodation in Phalaborwa. We actually really enjoyed the place, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

I will never visit this place ever again! Poor service, poor food, rooms are in terrible state, the gholf course is very expensive and not very well kept. The whole property is delapitated, and need some urgent repairs. Staff is not very helpfull, and also not friendly. The food we ordered was not even one star, but they claim to be four star. There is no management present and no proper administration. This is really the worst place I have ever stayed at! Bad,bad,bad!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank JohanMunnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

A serious need for brand new management is the general order of the day.Now that the Chinese have bought major shares into the Phalaborwa Underground Mining Project,one can only hope for the same to be done to the Hans Merensky Club and eliminate the pathetic structure of the exsistant management and restructure the entire establishment altogether.As a old school visitor and guest with extensive International worldwide travel a general boycott is the order of days-months or even years until this is sorted.
(A visitor since 1980).

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stood in reception for 15 minutes waiting to be served. One person on duty who was on the telephone for 15 minutes. Arrived at room, still being serviced and repairing light fittings, considering I was the only person staying there and had booked FOUR days in advance, one would expect that the room would be ready. Room is very tatty. In dire need of attention. Door into the room cannot be locked from the outside. So to leave the room you need to pack up all your belongings and store them in your car. To sum up... don't look at the pretty pictures on the website. This place is a dump. Will not be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

IDecided to treat my daughter as she is about to start her final exams.
I booked a suite and after checking inn
we could even get a drink at the bar as there was no staff . The Spa was closed.Our Tv has only 1 channel because the rest of the channels are not available.For an international golf course and location this a big disappointment.
No wonder the hotel is empty

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank John312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is one of the most beautiful sites in the world with well designed room's and fantastic amenities including a beautiful golf course and wild animals roaming freely.

The staff that there is seem to be trying their best but do not have the correct training or management support.

Service is either non-existent or extremely poor, leaving guests frustrated and unhappy.

The food is not bad and is well prepared, however, once again the associated service does not measure up. There is a shortage of stock in the bar and a constant fight for the drink of choice.

Room Tip: Go for a room facing North East on the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FriendofGrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My wife and I stayed over for three nights at this resort. We arrived late on the Sunday afternoon and was impressed with the looks and appearance. We rented a golf cart and travelled the golf course and saw plenty of game including hippos, crocodiles, impala, giraffe, baboons, monkeys, fish eagles and numerous other bird species. The evening our dinner was a set menu and we choose to go with the venison potjie which was very good. We stayed in room number 10. The rooms were very nicely finished of and the décor is great. Unfortunately as the other person stated, there were no soap dishes in the shower which is a hind sight seeing that no costs were spared in upgrading the facility. The rooms are well stocked with al the amenaties and towels. The breakfast on all the mornings was buffet style and it was good. The other two nights the occupancy was higher and we had a buffet which was good. The décor in the reception, restaurant and throughout the venue is stunning. The staff has been jacked up and the service is good. The pub at the poolside was well stocked. The Wednesday morning we got up early and went for a nice sunrise walk, only my wife and I. The fairways and greens are well maintained but certain tee boxes require attention. The club house and pro shop is well stocked and unfortunately at this stage they don't have a resident pro at the pro shop.
The only down side here is the 2 generators running around the clock as electricity is not available from the municipality due to short payments. However, the rooms was not effected by it and it was only a bit noisy at the restaurant area.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room overlooking the golf course and as far away as possible from the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LazenbyPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phalaborwa
1.5 mi away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
1.4 mi away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
2.3 mi away
Cajori Hotel
Cajori Hotel
#4 of 6 in Phalaborwa
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
286 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunbird Lodge
Sunbird Lodge
#2 of 27 in Phalaborwa
272 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Phalaborwa
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa

Address: 3 Copper Street, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Phalaborwa
Price Range: £97 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing