We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice setting and great food.”

Calabash Grill Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Phalaborwa
Cuisines: African, Seafood, Steakhouse, Pub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 23 November 2017

The last ten years I visit this hotel/restaurant for 1 or 2 times a year.
Food is always good and tasteful. ( seen 4-5 diff chefs passing by )
I enjoyed it also again this time.
Great place.
Only little remark is we had one evening during our stay that there was a group from outside the hotel and that was to much for the employees.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ronald k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sefapane2016, International Marketing and Sales at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Ronald K,

Thank you very much for your feedback via tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you have been enjoying our food for the last ten years.
Thank you again for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor and we hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards
aha Sefapane Lodges and Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2017

We had dinner on a few occasions at the calabash grill and we were never disappointed! They make some great burgers but the wraps are really tasty as well!

Date of visit: September 2017
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank RafflesNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sefapane2016, Int Marketing and Sales at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear RafflesNL,

Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. Great to hear that you enjoyed your dinners in our Calabash Grill Restaurant.

Thank you again for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Calabash Grill Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We were underwhelmed by our dinner here. I ordered curry and it was not particularly flavorsome. My husband had a salad and the sauce was tainted with something that smelt like petrol. The waiter dealt with our complaints well, and amended the bill suitable. Out 8 year old however was very happy with her children's menu.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sefapane2016, Int marketing and Sales at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Lisa T,

Thank you very much for your feedback via tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that your visit to our Calabash Grill restaurant was a disappointment.

As you can see on our aha Sefapane Lodges and Safaris page on tripadvisor, most of our guests enjoy our food and ambiance in the restaurant, so we are very disappointed you experienced your dinner different.

We pride ourselves to offer a high standard of hospitality, safaris, accommodation and cuisine and are therefore disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, let alone exceed them. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you again for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor and we hope to welcome you again, to show you this is not our normal standard of operating.

Kind regards
aha Sefapane Lodges and Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I come regularly to eat here for dinner and we always enjoy the food and service. For starter can recommend the ostrich carpaccio or mushrooms. For main I can recommended fillet or also the chicken curry is very nice. You don't have to stay at the lodge to eat here. It's an open air restaurant so if it's a bit chilly would recommend to bring a jersey.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank NellekeKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sefapane2016, Int M&S at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear NellekeKo,

Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoy eating at our Calabash Grill Restaurant.

Thank you again for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Calabash Grill Restaurant
aha Sefapane Lodges and Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

1. Don't know difference between beer and sider
2. Don't have Wi-Fi for clients

There a battalion of waiters in large empty room. It is better to spend time in Big Five grill and pub nearby - more friendly, less pathos.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank vavania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sefapane2016, Int Marketing and Sales at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear vavania,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit to our restaurant Calabash Grill Restaurant. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to our restaurant.

We pride ourselves on the offering on a high standard of hospitality, safaris, accommodation and cuisine and are therefore disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, let alone exceed them . All of your comments are of great concern to us and will be addressed by our management and staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor and we hope to welcome you again soon at our restaurant.

Kind regards
Calabash Grill Restaurat (aha Sefapane Lodges and Safaris)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calabash Grill Restaurant also viewed

Phalaborwa, Limpopo Province
 
Phalaborwa, Limpopo Province
Phalaborwa, Limpopo Province
 
Phalaborwa, Limpopo Province
Phalaborwa, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Calabash Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing