We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, but a lot of noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Phalaborwa
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect location, but a lot of noise”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed 5 nights in order to explore the Kruger National Parc. We had a nice rondavel overlooking a small lake. Room and bathroom were OK and clean, but rather old. The nearby cobber mine had a lot of heavy truck traffic, night and day, which meant we had an awful lot of noise.
Breakfast buffet and restaurant were good, but rather expensive. We went to the nearby Buffalo's grill, which had the same quality for much less.
Through our agent, Thompsons Africa, we bought a Sefapane package of safari tours and the Village Life tour. Since it was a bit out of season, we had almost our personal guide on each tour, thus having the possibility to get all the information we wanted. Very interesting tours and knowledgeable and friendly guides.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    110
    36
    11
    3
See reviews for
102
116
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Visited here on business recently and thought it a great pity that I could not stay longer as it is on the doorstep of the Kruger Park. The single rondawels are comfortable and set in a park-like area with enough space for privacy. The bar menu was good - and the salad I chose enormous. Just one warning - take a torch as getting from the parking bay outside your rondawel to the front is not that easy in the pitch-dark.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tranchie-Tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IzelleBarnard, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Tranchie-Tess,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sefapane Lodge & Safaris on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope that you may have the opportunity to return again in the future when a longer stay might enable you to enjoy the Park and the region.

Safari greetings
The Sefapane Lodge & Safaris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I came here expecting your typical "lodge" and was totally blown away. Firstly the size of this place is a surprise. The lodge is ideally situated next to the Kruger National Park and it boasts a spar, swimming pool and a bar by the pool. My lodgings were acceptable. The bed is too huge though, made me wish I had some1 to share it with. I enjoyed the breakfast and would definitely come back for another visit

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank kgosanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IzelleBarnard, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear kgosanad,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our lodge on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Tusk Bar is indeed a lovely little hangout and although Misava Masages is not a full service spa, they do offer a fantastic massage after a long day on safari!

We suppose that all that remains is that you will have to return for a visit ... and bring that someone special with you!

Warm regards from all of us at Sefapane Lodges & Safaris!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is good and very well located as it is only 1 km from the entrance of the Kruger Park.

They didn't have internet en the bungalow we rented and that was very disappointing.

Very useful for big groups as the houses can accommodate easily 8 people.

The safari they organised for us was ok aswell

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andres S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IzelleBarnard, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sarmiento26,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We apologise for the less than satisfactory experience you had in your Rondavel relating to the internet connection during you stay. We are constantly working to improve this area of the guest experience. Phalaborwa is a big town, but definitely not up to standard with high-speed, reliable internet connections yet. We also experience power failures from time to time, which further affects our internet delivery.

It is good to see, however that you enjoyed the safari that was arranged.

We hope that you might stay with us again in the not too distant future at which time you might experience first hand some of the upgrades we are implementing in our Rondavels and at the estate pool this winter.

Warm safari regards from all of us at Sefapane Lodge & Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

As frequent visitors of sefapane we came to know about the new place they have. It is in a gorgeous turn of the Olifants river and is small with 5 rondavels sleeping a maximum of 10 people. It is in every sense a gem. Rooms are great, food delicious and most of all the views are beyond spectacular. The game is quite good with lots of elephants but as fences with Kruger are down, you could find the Big 5. We did see tracks of lion and leopard but they were, as so often the case, quite elusive. Walking is also an option and guides are multi lingual and knowledgable.
I do believe bookings do go via Sefapane lodge itself but do check it out as it does add great value to any stay in the area!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hansNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is well-located and reasonably priced; however, the first room we were given had dirty sheets and there was a large gecko in the room. We requested a new room and the friendly hotel staff obliged. The wifi didn't work in either of our rooms and the signal strength was poor at the lobby as well - this may not be a big deal to some, but we needed it for work. The hotel restaurant is expensive, but there are other dining options just a short drive away. Outside of the dirty sheets, the hotel is very clean, and the grounds are meticulously maintained, but I wouldn't recommend staying here if you're looking for a 4-star resort - we checked out a day early.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not situated on the back side of the property by the marsh. Try out the affor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Mike M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Sefapane Lodge on Trip Advisor.

Firstly, please accept our sincere apology for the less than satisfactory experience you had with dirty sheets in your room. We are however pleased to see that the staff rectified this immediately.

Sefapane Lodge is unique in our grading in that the Rondavels are graded 3-star by the TGCSA and the Safari Houses are graded 4-star. You will be very pleased to hear that during the winter of 2014, some areas of the lodge will be undergoing renovations and improvements. These will include the first phase of our Rondavels, which are getting upgraded, as well as a new and improved guest area located at the estate pool.

We truly hope that you might have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future, at which point we might redeem ourselves.

Warm safari regards from all of us at Sefapane Lodge & Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This place was perfect! It's close to Phalaborwa Kruger gate. We stayed in a chalet, it was spacious.... They had everything we needed from the free wifi to the DSTV which had all the channels. The kitchen was fulky stocked with crockery, cultray and utensals! It was very practical for large families! The decor is beautiful.mSefapane is reasonably priced and a great family destination. There is a swimming and a jacuzzi, which kept my younger brother and his friend entertained... We will be coming back here again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kogoshoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Kogoshoko,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Sefapane Lodge on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the lodge in the not too distant future.

Warm regards from all of us at Sefapane Lodge & Safaris!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phalaborwa
0.8 mi away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
20.5 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunbird Lodge
Sunbird Lodge
#1 of 25 in Phalaborwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Lechere Guest House
La Lechere Guest House
#3 of 25 in Phalaborwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
#2 of 25 in Phalaborwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
14.6 mi away
Muweti Bush Lodge
Muweti Bush Lodge
#1 of 5 in Grietjie Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris

Property: Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
Address: Koper Road | Off R71, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa (Formerly Sefapane Lodge and Safaris)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Phalaborwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only 1km from the Kruger Park, Sefapane is a green oasis with large indigenous trees and beautiful tropical gardens, offering thatched rondavels and luxurious self catering Safari houses, an excellent a la carte restaurant and swimming pool with sunken bar. Full day, evening, walking and river safari are organised by the lodge either in the Kruger Park or their Private Game Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefapane Lodge And Safaris Hotel Phalaborwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing