We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“moja na asili (one with nature)”
other travellers have booked this property
Umoja Bushvilla, seen from the carport (parking for 2 cars)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Umoja Bushvilla, seen from the carport (parking for 2 cars)
Always highly impressive! Umoja, view to part of the garden. Only 100 mtrs from the Kruger fence.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Umoja Bushvilla, seen from the carport (parking for 2 cars)
Always highly impressive!
Umoja, view to part of the garden. Only 100 mtrs from the Kruger fence.
The living room with sliding doors opening onto the terrace offers a stunning view to the bush
Open plan fully equiped kitchen with 5 pits gas burner, oven and american fridge with ice cube maker
Life in the bush offers you a new view every day.
The master bedroom with ceiling fan. All rooms have mosquito nets and ensuite bathrooms.
2nd bedroom with airco and french doors to the surrounding terrace.
The 3rd bedroom, north facing, is cooled by airco. It has a semi private terrace.
En suite bathrooms with toilet, double sink, bath and separate shower. In African style.
Hotel ammenities upon arrival and hairdryer if requested. Just pack your bag and come over!
The 'gem' of the house; our favorite spot. The sunny terrace of room 3 for morning coffee in the sun
Can you see yourself drinking tea and enjoying the wildlife?
A stone BBQ with view of the bush. Life the African life: a braai while the kids play in the pool.
Private splash pool and outside shower to cool you during warm days.
We cherish large and small game. Our eco-friendly lawnmowing system...
I dreamed of Africa.. it can be your reality too.
wildlife never gets boring
The estate offers 2 swimming pools and a tennis court for the guests.
Nice communal area around the swimming pools at the estate with an honesty bar.
birders paradise as well!
Bush experience: a boma for special occasions
A tenniscourt free for guests of Umoja
Do not forget to go to the view tower and enjoy the spectacular view over the Kruger.
A bopa with an honesty bar. Breakfast is served here and can be ordered at 100 zar pp.
A wedding or a honeymoon, also possilble. Just contact us.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Phalaborwa, Limpopo Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Margriet...
1 review
“moja na asili (one with nature)”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

a great fully furnished accommodation on the edge of the Kruger park. Often we were greeted by a giraffe made his walk along Umoja and antelopes, warthogs to drink from the pool. The beautiful birds that were heard their singing in the trees or grass. Here we like to come back for the rest and to visit the Kruger park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The animals how visit Umoja
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Dear Magriet,
Thanks so much for your review. It is always a pleasure to have guest enjoy the house at least as much as we do and we were happy to welcome you at Umoja. We will surely see you again...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels R
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay at Umoja Bushvilla”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 6 people at the Umoja Bushvilla during our Easter holidays. The place is absolutely amazing with a great view over the bush and right next to a water hole used by a range of animals. During our stay 3 large elephants came by and gave us a fantastic experience!
The house in itself is really great and with each bedroom placed in opposite parts of the house allows for great privacy even when staying as a group of 6.
Chantal was extremely helpful in providing us with all the information we needed and gave us a lot of inspiration on how to spend our days at the place.
We can definitely recommend staying at the Umoja Bushvilla in the Silonque Estate and would love to come back again some time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Dear Fam Rasmussen, thanks for the lovely review, however: a lot of the credit goes to the wonderfull staff! I was glad to be able to help you discover what a great place Phalaborwa is to spend your time in SA and the 3 ellies in the garden? Well, we can not promise them but do our best to give you the experience of a lifetime and they seem to agree. Hope to welcome you a next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennickma
Bela Bela, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury in the wild”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Me and my family stayed for 5 days at the Umoja Bushvilla. We were celebrating a birthday there. Beforehand we didn't know much what to expect, but once we arrived, we were greeted warmly. There are about 10 houses, 2 large swimming pools, a roofed building for breakfast, a watering hole for animals and a viewingpoint. It's all placed in a nature reserve, so animals can roam around the buildings. Well, we were there during low season and we were practically the only ones. There are two houses that have a view of the watering hole where animals (elephants, warthogs, impalas, giraffes) come to drink. Well, we got the 'best' house, with a personal swimming pool in the terrace and we were blown away. Not saying the other houses are bad (there is one with a balcony view of the watering hole), but this was absolutely sublime. 3 huge bedrooms, 3 bathrooms with baths and showers, AC everywhere, HUGE kitchen, 3 terraces, hangmat(!), OUTSIDE shower, lounge chairs, a swimming pool, view of the watering hole, a BBQ built into the terrace, TV, Wi-Fi. We did not expected it to be THIS luxurious. We were absolutely blown away.

We reserved breakfast for the birthday celebration and the staff sang for us, gave us a lovely breakfast (basically a whole personal breakfast table full of stuff). The staff was super friendly. The staff at the reception helped us to book some trips and what super friendly. Later the staff sent us a card and a bottle of wine, I mean, where are you welcomed so friendly?

We visited the Kruger Park 3 times, which is a few kilometers from the house, as is the supermarket. We were planning on more days, but the villa was so amazing we stayed there a whole day. We actually saw warthogs and some hyenas in the morning. Due to the drought, there was little water in the watering holes so bigger animals stayed away (elephants and giraffes are normal there) and the neighbors placed grass for the animals (and us to view them). The garden around the house was all watered and nicely kept tho. The two big pools are also daily cleaned and even next to the pool you can find interesting things like fruit trees, birds and possibly other animals.

It's hard to put into words, but this villa was probably the most luxurious place I've visited in all of SA. The staff is friendly, the houses are clean and well built, there are animals, there are swimming pools, it's close to Kruger. If you're planning to visit Kruger from Phalaborwa and are visiting with 2-6 people, I really REALLY recommend you stay there. After a long day of Kruger you'll return to absolute luxury and you might see an animal or two even there. We watched warthogs run by 10 meters away, from our personal swimming pool!

Also, a big thank you to the staff and owners, it was absolutely magical!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quality, luxury
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2016
Dear Mrs Kleingeld, feeling almost awkward by this review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay so much and hope to welcome you back soon. We will thank the, indeed wonderfull staff on your behalf and tell them in person how happy you were with their service. And the giraffes just came back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ermelo, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house with that awesome view
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Dec 2015
Dear Bieneke and Els,
We were honoured and proud that you chose our house to stay in. Thank you for the fantastic review and the fantastic pictures you gave us for our umoja-kruger Facebook page so others could enjoy the daily game as well. And on behalf of the baby birds, wharthogs, hyena, ellies and the almost daily falling from the roof baby squirls: thank you for taking care of us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: several items
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mariette...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“A real gem in the bush”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Stunning house with view over a waterhole where the elephants drink. Smaller game walks in your garden. The house is large but also very intimate with beautifull interior and comfortable. It has all you can ask for. Staff superfriendly and attentive very professional (Dutch ) management. We were there for 2 weeks and loved every minute of it. As the website says.. I dreamed of Africa, not it can be your reality... It definitely was our dream come true to go to bed with a hyena (too scared of us so no threat) and wake up to see the waterbuck and wharthogs in the garden. We even got a treat seeing elephants at the pool at night. It is a real gem in the bush.

Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaatjeCho...
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
“Allow yourself a second honeymoon in South Africa”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Our first visit to South Africa started with a stay in Umoja Bushvilla. In advance of our visit we've alreay received a lot of information and very useful tips to manage our stay. The hosts of Silonque (the estate where Umoja is situated) were nice and friendly. The villa was beyond our wildest expectations. We immediately got the "honeymoon feeling", it is such a quiet and luxurious place.

The villa offers a lot of space, both on the inside and the terrace. There are many places where you can enjoy the sun or the shadow and there even is a private pool where you can cool down. The living room is tasteful decorated in South African style, though we didn't spend much time there because it was so pleasant outside.
The kitchen contains all cutlery, inventory and devices you could wish for so cooking at Umoja is truly a pleasure. Dont' forget to buy groceries before you drive to Umoja (there is a Spar supermarket on your way from the Krugergate in Phalaborwa when heading for Silonque) or to make a reservation for grocery service in advance.

There are 3 sleepingrooms with private bathrooms which is an asset if you'd like to stay here with several couples or friends. The villa is also childfriendly as there are toys and books to use. The mosquitonet in the bedroom was useful and we slept really well.

Umoja is close to the Krugerpark gate (15min drive) in Phalaborwa where you can visit the park by yourself or book a safari, which we would recommend as the rangers are very skilled and can tell you a lot about the wild animals. The HESC nearby Hoedspruit is a must visit if you like animals and the Blyde Canyon has many spectacular views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Dear Ritchie and Karen,

Thank you so much for your great and extensive review. We are happy that you have passed a 'second honeymoon feeling' at our house and that you have enjoyed yourselves.

Umoja Kruger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing