We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel!”
Review of Happy Hotel Emei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Happy Hotel Emei
Ranked #16 of 314 Hotels in Emeishan
Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

因為朋友推薦所以選擇這家酒店,完全超出我的想像!
酒店位於車站隔壁,地理位置優良,房間乾淨、整潔,員工友善,食物也非常地道,很有家庭的感覺。
退房去玩後發現沒車回去成都,多得老闆跟老闆娘的幫忙,使我能搭上火車跟特別整理個房間讓我們休息,真的非常感謝酒店的各位!

It's highly recommended you to choose Happy Hotel when you visit Mount Emei!
The hotel is located near the bus station, just two block next to it, room is tidy and clean, staffs are very nice and friendly, food is so delicious, just like eating at home with my family^^
Really want to thank all the staffs in Happy Hotel, because I missed the bus back to Chengdu, person in charge helped me to buy the train tickets, took the tickets from the train station and also provide a extra room for us to take a short rest (full booking that day, no regular room could offer), so I really want to say thank you to all of you!
I hope I can visit again in the near future!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anubiswong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAPPY H, 總經理 at Happy Hotel Emei, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Google Translation
感谢选择幸福树,祝生活愉快,欢迎再来峨眉山,欢迎再来幸福树。
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The service was absolutely marvelous. The staff were very friendly and warm. One of them is able to converse in some simple English and this may be helpful for some of the visitors who don't speak Mandarin at all. The room was clean and have good supply of mineral water. Good wifi. As it's just merely 3 mins walk to the Baaguo bus station, it was certainly very convenient when you want to depart to Emei Mountain early next morning at 7am. Breakfast is served at 7am but the staff happily obliged to serve us breakfast at 6.45am so that we can catch the 7am bus to Emei Mountain. You can also catch the bus to Chengdu at the same bus station. We left our luggage at the hotel when we checked out in the morning and collect then after the trip to Emei Mountain and then take a bus to Chengdu in the evening. Hotel is also within walking distance to other eateries and nearby temples. We had our dinner at the hotel @RMB98 for 3 dishes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamHo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAPPY H, 總經理 at Happy Hotel Emei, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you choose HAPPY HOTEL, welcome to mount emei, welcome again to HAPPY HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Happy Hotel for just one night in early November 2013 on our way to spending a night at the top of Mount Emei. The location is perfect, a few minutes walk from Baoguo bus station. It is also quite an easy walk from the hotel to Baoguo Temple and Fuhu (Tiger) Temple. When we arrived we were greeted by the owner Carey who is wonderful. She speaks good English and it is clear that she loves to give all arriving guests an overview of the area and to make recommendations of things to do during your visit, all aided by a large map of Emei Shan on the lobby wall!
We had an en suite twin room which was a decent size and was functional but somewhat lacking in character. The bathroom and shower were modern and clean. We ate dinner at the hotel, money fish cooked in ginger and garlic, which was delicious. We wanted to get an early start the next day to make the most of the hiking. Although breakfast is not officially served before 7am, when Carey heard that we wanted to leave early she asked what we would like for breakfast. When we came down to the lobby at 6.30am the next day the cook was waiting for us and produced our breakfast in a couple of minutes! The Chinese breakfast was included in the cost of the room which made staying at the Happy Hotel a pretty good deal. We were able to leave our main luggage here and just take small backpacks with us for our stay on Mount Emei. Overall this is a great place to stay when visiting Emei Shan, friendly staff, good location, good value and good food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAPPY H, 經理 at Happy Hotel Emei, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Subject: For thanks

Dear Julianne24,
Thanks s lot for your review for us. It is our pleasure.
First,we thank you for your high praise for us.And we are ver happy for you to stay with us during your Mount Emei tour. And then for your suggestionsof ou hotel,we humbly accept and we will try our best to improve this situation. We are willing to welcome all the visitors in the most sincere attitude.
Wish you good luck !
Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I loved everything about this hotel. Firstly, the staff are so attentive and helpful that it makes for a memorable trip. Carey at the hotel is an absolute gem. She picked me up from the bus stop, orientated me to the area, went out of her way to help me for whatever I needed including tickets for the mountain. She is the epitomy of customer service and always made me leave with a big smile. I also had dinner at the hotel twice and in fact, one of the best sichuan hot pots dishes I've ever had was in this hotel...with the fish and tofu. The hotel also has a free laundry service and the rooms are clean and comfortable with free wifi. Anyone going to Emeishan, do not hesitate to make this place your accommodation...amazing and the best service I received at hotels in China. Thank you Carey and the staff of The Happy Hotel

Room Tip: Anyone going to Emeishan, do not hesitate to make this place your accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zia137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAPPY H, 經理 at Happy Hotel Emei, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thanks a lot for your praises. It’s our great honor to serve you .Your satisfaction and pleasure in our hotel make us very happy . If you like , please tell your friends and others. We’re willing to bring happiness and conveniences to every tourists. I wish you all well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Well, there is just one private hotel in Baoguo Village that is Teddy Bear. And there are lots of state run hotels that all look the same just with differnt name. Happy Hotel is one of them.

When entering, I was first surprised that the hotel guide could speak English. But when things are getting more difficult, we had to switch to chinese. Forein credit cards are not accepted, so be prepared for having cash for the deposit.

We booked 2 rooms in advance. Room types should be clearform the booking. Instead big discussion in chinese. Do you need two rooms? What kind of rooms. When we got our room cards the boss and his wife followed us and starts discussing about sth with the room. He was just confused about sth. Again big discussion, then disapeared to fetch sth. Then I just told his wife that we take the two rooms and throw her out of the room in a friendly way.

Beds where very hard, even for chinese standard. Luxus room hat sittting toilet, standard room squatted toilet. Bath was clean but with mold.

Breakfast consist of toast (no toaster, no butter, no jam), egg and coffee. Nothing more.

Well, hotel is very basic, but ok. But i cant recommend it without knowledge of chinese. Teddy bear hotel can't be worse than this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAPPY H, 經理 at Happy Hotel Emei, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for choosing us—Happy Hotel. But your reviews make us a great surprise. Because it is not possible for us to make a discussion in the guest’s room. Our concept is that service for customers is the most important. And the reviews of others are opposite to yours. But your suggestions let us understand how to receive foreign tourists, especially those from western counties.
Wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have travelled through China for 2 months and this was one of the best hotels we stayed in. The staff was excellent: they were very helpful and enthusiastic. Some of them speak (very good) English. Cary (the owner?) is very involved and is eager to tell you about all possible trips you can do on Emeishan, using her giant map of Emeishan in the hotel lobby. Staff always asked us how our day had been. The hotel, which is in a side alley of the main street, looks new and clean. Our clean room was spacious and the airconditioning worked very well. Shower was hot with good water pressure. Chinese breakfast is included and above expectations: we got very tasteful noodles, of which we think Cary adjusted it to our Western taste (so not too spicy but just very tasteful). Moreover, eggs and steamed bread was supplemented. Hotel staff gave us a WIFI spot, so we always had full reception.
We've been to the Teddy Bear hotel as well, but that hotel looked rather old compared to the Happy hotel, although it is way more backpacker style. When travelling alone or with multiple friends, the Teddy Bear hotel is probably the best choice in Baoguo if you want to meet other travellers.

We stayed in the Happy hotel for 3 nights. Emeishan, Chengdu and Leshan (for the (giant) Da Fo buddha, after arriving in Leshan take bus 13) are very easy to reach by regular driving buses, leaving from the bus station which is a one minute walk from the hotel.
The last day of our stay in Baoguo, we've been to the Hong Zhu Shan hot springs, belonging to the Hong Zhu Shan (five stars) hotel. We think this place is much better than the Ling Xiu hot springs, which is not very clean and is not located in a lush forest like Hong Zhu Shan. The hotel staff can arrange discounted tickets (normal ticket price is 268 RMB, our discounted tickets were 138 RMB!). They offered to take us there by car for free, but in the end we decided to walk (15 minutes). The hot springs (more than 20 little warm to hot baths) were located in a beautiful forest. Eight more are located inside a (beautiful) building. We did like the hot springs very much!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the front side, because at the back side the only thing you can see is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathijs1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAPPY H, 經理 at Happy Hotel Emei, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Your instruction is very comprehensive. For us, is is just like a free advertisement or extension, in other words. Your praises make us very happy. And we’ll keep trying so as to do it better. Hope to see you again and wish your friends come to Mount Emei. It will be our pleasure to be of service to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baarn, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had originally planned to stay at the Teddy Bear hotel, but they did not even bother to respond to our emails. It seems to be a typical case of scoring a recommendation in Lonely Planet and not showing any effort afterwards.

Luckily we found the brand new Happy Hotel on bookings.com and were not disappointed. Ding, the manager is extremely helpful and speaks a little English (with the help of a mobile app). The rooms are clean and spacious and when we mentioned that the Wifi was a little weak in our room, Ding immediately installed a separate hotspot.

The location is great, just 50m from Baoguo bus station, from where you get up Emei Shan, to Leshan and to Chengdu every hour. We took a taxi for 30 yuan from Emei train station, but should have called Ding to pick us up.

Much to our surprise the hotel also did some excellent food, try the braised money fish, which is amazing! A lot of choice for a small place with most dishes just around 25 yuan. There is only Chinese breakfast available (from 7am), but they will prepare you an instant coffee at 6am before you ascend Emei Shan.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AilaAlbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAPPY H, 經理 at Happy Hotel Emei, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your praises for us. We’re glad that you can understand us. Afterall , there’re differences between Chinese culture and western culture. Thanks for your understanding. Please tell your friends about our hotel. Wish you good luck and good health.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Emeishan hotels
0.0 mi away
Teddy Bear Hotel
Teddy Bear Hotel
#2 of 314 in Emeishan
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
JZ Hotel
JZ Hotel
#1 of 314 in Emeishan
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hongzhu Shan Hotel
Hongzhu Shan Hotel
#4 of 314 in Emeishan
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Emeishan Grand Hotel
Emeishan Grand Hotel
#40 of 314 in Emeishan
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Century Sunshine Hotel
Century Sunshine Hotel
#6 of 314 in Emeishan
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hua Sheng Hotel
Hua Sheng Hotel
#3 of 314 in Emeishan
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Hotel Emei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hotel Emei

Property: Happy Hotel Emei
Address: No.31 Unit.4 Baoguo Village, Baoguo Temple, Emeishan 614201, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Emeishan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 314 Hotels in Emeishan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Hotel Emei 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emeishan Happy Hotel offers a unique combination of quality service, comfortable room, local cuisine, clean and safe environment, all at a affordable price. Best for group and individual travelers. We have also added coffee to our breakfast variety, first in Mount Emei. We look forward to your stay in Happy Hotel. Best service guaranteed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Happy Hotel Emei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing