We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JZ Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JZ Hotel
Ranked #1 of 303 Hotels in Emeishan
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The sprawling property of Anantara Emei is the perfect setting to relax and feel peaceful at the foot of Mt. Emei, one of the four sacred Buddhist mountains in China. The hotel is brand new and has a few teething issues but the team seems to be trying their best. I specifically enjoyed the hot bamboo treatment I had at the spa. Overall, I'd say it was a 5 star experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cristallebelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin P, General Manager at JZ Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear cristallebelo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us about your recent stay. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your time in Emei and in particular the resort’s beautiful Anantara Spa. I will be sure to pass on your praise to the team and with it our continued commitment to deliver the best in products and services to our guests.

Best regards,

Justin J. Pitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    34
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
39
34
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

1 The official price was 1050 RMB per room, and we booked from agency online which was 830 RMB per room.

2 Good and quite location, but no public transportation. You can reserve local taxis from the hotel if you want to hang around nearby in the town centre--local taxi drivers (the same as any other taxi drivers in China) are immoral. Be aware of the characteristics of Chinese taxi drivers: first, nobody can read a map, second, nobody can afford to buy a GPS, third, all taxi drivers smoke while driving, fourth, drivers do not switch on airconditioners because they want to lower costs, fifth, they do not help you carry luggage on car. We lost our iPhone in the taxi, the hotel staff tried to contact the local taxi driver, and the driver blackmailed us 100 RMB to send the phone back.

3 Hotel room is luxury and very good, I like the bath! while room is a little smell of decoration

4 room is huge around 65 square metres, but hotel just prepared 2 mosquito killers, so you'd better bring one by yourself

5 we used the SPA which is around 1800 RMB for two persons, it is quite good!

6 food is good, but staff service is very bad

7 it is nice to have a small gym and kids room

8 It is strange that the swimming pool is empty, no water

Anyway, the 830 RMB price is very attractive for such a luxury hotel

Room Tip: if you have a big family or many guests travel together, I suggest you book the villa which has more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank todd20013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny W, Public Relations Manager at JZ Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear todd20013,

Thank you very much for your precious review for us! We are glad that you like our hotel and feel very sorry about the taxi driver that you met, we hope that you already get your handphone, if not please feel free to keep our front office in touch to assist you. We appreciate that your detail comments about our each sections that are really helpful! We will improve our services and producst to bring all guests a better indegious experence, we hope we would have the change to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful and quiet hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean, nothing to complain about - until I went to bed and started sweating when I noticed that irrespective of what temperature you set the air con at, it's fixed at 26*C. I sweated the whole night while being stung by mosquitoes, which I won't blame the hotel as I had for a whole left the mesh window opened.

When I checked out the next morning I heard the lady standing next to me complaining about the same thing then I realised that the hotel had deliberately done this. Absolutely ridiculous.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CindyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin P, General Manager at JZ Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear CindyHongKong,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found the property and its facilities beautiful and your room was spacious and clean. Please accept our apologies that your airconditioning control was not functioning, I can confirm the hotel certainly does not set a minimum temperature for its rooms and villas. Our eager team, I am sure, would of assisted if we were made aware of the challange.
In closing we hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel and the majesty of Emei Mountain very soon.

Best regards,

Justin J. Pitt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our 3-day visit to this region was made SO much better by the fact that we stayed at this lovely resort. Its luxury feel and the welcome & friendliness of its staff were a pleasure to experience.

The style is contemporary, think 'Banyan Tree'; this is evident from arriving at & entering the grand soaring lobby area, to passing through the well-manicured & maintained gardens on the way to the rooms (being driven along pathways in a little golf buggy), down to the furnishings & amenities to be found inside the rooms. The resort is very new, and so our stay wasn't without the odd teething problem (for example - wine cellar not yet ready, rain shower in room not working properly). But I suppose this is to be initially expected with a western-style luxury brand being introduced in this relatively remote (by international travel standards) part of the world.

The still-rough-around-the-edges feel was more than made up for by the truly excellent staff. They virtually fell over themselves in their willingness to greet, smile, help, and generally do all they can for their guests. From a culture not generally known for its international standards of hospitality, this was especially impressive. Indeed virtually all staff members spoke some English, or at least tried hard to, making me feel all the more guilty for my non-existent Mandarin!

I'd love to come back to the resort in 6 months' or a year's time, when it's truly finished & polished down to the last tile & plant, and the teething problems have been overcome. I've no doubt this will happen very soon. And then - along with the most excellent staff already in place - this resort will be world-class.

So even if you're in this region in the near future, don't hesitate, book it now.

Room Tip: Regular rooms are actually nicer & more private than the more expensive Pavilion rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny W, Public Relations Manager at JZ Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Mr. Danny,

Greeting from Anantara Emei!
Hope everything is going well when you back to your places.
And it was so nice to hear from you that you had a really great time at our hotel.
As you metioned, yes we are quite new in this area and we have a lot facilities need to be finished and improve. I hope next time when you back to here everything will be soomthly operating, so please send us the Email about your trip next time at aeme_rsvn@anantara.com
We are committed to provide the best services, at least we are trying, so thanks a lot for your compliment about our associates, we appreciated! And continously, we will keep doing and move one, as you said to become the world class one!!!! :)
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I were looking for a resort type hotel to stay and explore Mt. Emei and Leshan but the major ones seemed to be a little tired. I just happened to find this one on the internet and, as it was new and looked great, we booked it. We were pleasantly surprised when I inquired about taxis from the train station to the hotel that the concierge offered to pick us up! That was great. He was the best concierge ever. Very helpful and guided us through our stay and answered all questions about the area. He arranged a taxi for us to explore Leshan (a definite for any trip to the area) and Mt. Emei (also a definite for any trip). We were also given a room upgrade as a gift as it was our tenth wedding anniversary. What a room! Beautifully appointed luxury. I've stayed in great hotels all over the world but this room was about the best ever. The housekeeping staff were so helpful. We felt like royalty. We had a great breakfast and had dinner at the hotel as well. All superb. Everyone was very friendly and knew enough English to answer our questions. The spa was not opened yet but they did arrange for us to have two massages by setting up another guest room with a table, etc. What a great masseuse we had too. Super time, super hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derscut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny W, Public Relations Manager at JZ Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Mr. Derscut,

It was very nice to hear that you and your wife had a pleasant stay at Anantara Emei. And also thanks for choosing us and your precious review for us. Our concierge and housekeeping associates would be more than happy to assist you during your stay to make your trip more confortable and convienient. And we hope you and your wife will come back next time as we will have some new treatments and facilities available. Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeishan
1.8 mi away
Hongzhu Shan Hotel
Hongzhu Shan Hotel
#3 of 303 in Emeishan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.6 mi away
Teddy Bear Hotel
Teddy Bear Hotel
#2 of 303 in Emeishan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.8 mi away
Emeishan Grand Hotel
Emeishan Grand Hotel
#35 of 303 in Emeishan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hua Sheng Hotel
Hua Sheng Hotel
#4 of 303 in Emeishan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.1 mi away
Century Sunshine Hotel
Century Sunshine Hotel
#22 of 303 in Emeishan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
16.6 mi away
Leshan Celebrity Hotel
Leshan Celebrity Hotel
#13 of 175 in Leshan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JZ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JZ Hotel

Property: JZ Hotel
Address: No.8 Shanhu South Road, Emeishan 614200, China (Formerly Anantara Emei Resort)
Region: China > Sichuan > Emeishan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 303 Hotels in Emeishan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — JZ Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your JZ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing