We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings”
Review of Hongzhu Shan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hongzhu Shan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 307 Hotels in Emeishan
London
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I really liked this hotel. I had a lovely room and the gardens, the lake and all the surroundings were beautiful. The weather was damp so the grounds could not be fully appreciated. There was a spa and thermal pool that was reported to be very good. A pleasant walk into the town of Emeishan was well worth it with a waterfall, rock carvings and a range of local shops. We only stayed one night here before visiting Mount Emie. Beautiful area, don't miss it off your itinerary!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    165
    36
    14
    4
See reviews for
19
32
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We had planned a tour of Mount Emeishan and our tour operator had booked the nearby Hongzhu Shan Hotel for an overnight stay before the tour the next morning. The check-in was quick and easy. The room that we checked into was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was also modern in design, spacious and clean. There was a separate bathtub and glass-enclosed shower, An interesting feature of the glass shower is that it also has a glass window that faces the bed.
The included breakfast buffet was very good - omelets, breads, rolls, cold-cuts, cereals, fruits, and almost anything that one would expect in a nice breakfast buffet.
The scenery around the hotel complex is excellent - there is a lake at the center of the hotel complex, an excellent hiking trail all around the lake and a beautiful bridge on the lake. There is a Spa at the Hotel but we did not have the opportunity to visit.
For visiting the Mount Emeishan area, the Hongzhu Shan Hotel is a very good choice for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZCasualTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

rooms were excellent and comfy cos we stayed at building 5, heard other buildings are worse.. stayed for only a night and left for Mt Emei the next day so we actually didn't get to explore the hotel like the other reviewers here did.. but from photos around the hotel, it seems like they have hot springs within the hotel and such.. and it was a pity we didn't get to admire the lake as well.

toilet was really clean and huge, there was a tub and shower as well..
apparently they also have massage services.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherzzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Quite nice hotel located at the foot of mount Emei. The view from the terrace to the lake is astonishing. The surrounding area very green and quite. Perfect place for relaxation. The room i stay was at the sixth building and it was quite spacious, clean and good air conditioning, The bathroom facilities reasonable. It was difficult to communicate since most of the staff were note speaking English but they were quite friendly and happy to help. In a waling distance from the hotel and in the same area the premises of hot springs were situated. A five star establishment with private VIP houses. From the hotel to the Buddhist temples situated at the top of the Emei holy mountain is a two hours drive. Unbelievable experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdimtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xiamen, China
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Oh Dear! This was an appalling disappointment. We went here with close friends who could only book us in to a room in Block 6 which is a disgusting hole. There is nothing whatsoever to recommend this hotel room. Everything about it was dirty from the bathroom to the carpets to the threadbare towels provided. The receptionists were as welcoming as funeral attendents...
When we arrived it was pitch dark and difficult to see anything of the site, we were directed to block 6 but on getting to the "check-in" desk we were told we had first to go to Building 5 and then return.
There was a European group already waiting in the reception area when we arrived and they had already formed the opinion that it was pretty grim too. Fortunately we were only booked for one night but the Chinese Tourist Board (?) should take a close look at this sort of establishment. If this is supposed to be a Five Star hotel then they need their backsides kicking as it is a VERY poor advert for one of China's top tourist attractions.
The following morning brought firstly a reasonable breakfast which had to be taken in Block 5 and then showed beautiful grounds totally at odds with the condition of the hotel itself.
One other thing, we had to pay to bring our car into the hotel car park and then pay again to leave each time we came and went despite the fact that we were guests. Talk about ripping people off which seems to be something that Chinese tourist areas are particularly good at doing....

Room Tip: Get a room in Block 5 overlooking the lake. Do not accept anything else. DO NOT THINK OF USING BLOCK...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xmroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed overnight at this hotel. Quite decent for a night. Has a lake around it. In its house there are many buildings, to coin a phrase, I think we stayed in building 5. No one speaks English. No one. Luckily managed to find one staff member who had a smattering of the language, so managed to order what we wanted at the restaurant. Food is very average but I guess the locals like it, and if a billion Chinese like it, well... anyway, ok for a night or two. Seems to be the best option here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guruprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I went here in April 2010 and we stayed in the first building when you pull in. It is the fancier one, the room we stayed at was $200/night and it is exactly like one of the sample pictures with the double queen beds.

The room was clean and the shower and bathroom was large and clean. It seems to be typical in China in hotels of this rate that you can see into the shower. Unless it's a Sichuan thing.

We took advantage of the spa and went to the hot springs area and I paid $8RMB more to lay in the pool of flesh eating fish. I read afterwards that's not the right kind since the real ones don't have teeth, these did but from what my wife told me my hang nails and skin felt a lot smooth. It felt like sandpaper all of your body.

The area around the hotel is nice, you can walk around and at night the same buildings around the lake are lit up with colored lights. They also strewn the trees with flexible led lighting and it has a weird effect walking through it.

The room included a morning breakfast buffet which was more Western than the other places I've stayed but has a Chinese take on it but it's close enough.

This is the closest hotel before you drive up the mountain. If I visit the Golden Summit again, I'd definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harvey79g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Emeishan hotels
2.1 mi away
JZ Hotel
JZ Hotel
#1 of 307 in Emeishan
108 reviews
9.2 mi away
Golden Summit Hotel
Golden Summit Hotel
#25 of 307 in Emeishan
98 reviews
3.6 mi away
Teddy Bear Hotel
Teddy Bear Hotel
#2 of 307 in Emeishan
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Century Sunshine Hotel
Century Sunshine Hotel
#5 of 307 in Emeishan
32 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hua Sheng Hotel
Hua Sheng Hotel
#4 of 307 in Emeishan
49 reviews
3.7 mi away
Emeishan Grand Hotel
Emeishan Grand Hotel
#47 of 307 in Emeishan
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hongzhu Shan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hongzhu Shan Hotel

Property: Hongzhu Shan Hotel
Address: Beside Baoguo Temple, Emeishan 614201, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Emeishan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Emeishan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hongzhu Shan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Zhu Shan Emeishan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing