We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for building No. 5”
Review of Hongzhu Shan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hongzhu Shan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 307 Hotels in Emeishan
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Go for building No. 5”
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed at Building No. 5 and our Chinese driver also stayed in the same hotel, at another building (cheaper, and lower standard). We got a room at 1st floor (ground floor) and had to walk through a corridor of games room, hair salon, etc before reaching our room. These rooms do not give a nice ambience, but upon going into our room and locking our door, what we get is a nice, comfortable, clean, reasonably sized room for 3 persons. The hotel's pond/lake is beside Bldg No. 5, and it's a nice place to unwind. The breakfast consists mainly Chinese food, with some Western food like eggs, potato, salad, cereal.
Location: the hotel is near the entrance to the famous temple. It's a good 12 - 15 minute walk to village/amenities. The bus that leaves for Emeishan is in this village. There are many eateries here and we choose our fish and vegetables, agree on price and method of cooking. The Emeishan snack is over-rated. It's just flour and sugar, some sesame seeds. That's all.
Emeishan: shrouded in midst/fog/cloud/etc and we did not see it. We did take the bus to the mountain, take cable car, etc. But, did not see the mountain from the roads, towns, villages.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsflorencegoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    165
    36
    14
    4
See reviews for
19
32
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed here as part of a private tour by Chinatravelguide. As noted there are 8 buildings and we stayed on the second floor of building 5. Each of the buildings seem to be of a different quality. You will need to be specific in booking. As previously mentioned #8 is at the the top of the mountain, about 20-30 minutes walk from the entrance. Being April , a number of the other buildings were locked up. Peak season is in the summer. Reception staff had reasonable English. Our poor Chinese was good enough to get us drinks and nibbles by the scenic pool that overlooks a nearby lake. Our guide ordered dinner for us, quality was fine. The trees, bridges and lake buildings were lit by neon, probably bad for global warming but looked pretty. No insects at this time of the year. As mentioned Building 5 hall lighting is on motion detection, so it is darker than most hotel hallways. Beds were OK but we have lived in China for 1 year and are used to the harder beds in China. We only stayed one night, we saw the Big Buddha at Leshan on the way up and visted the Baoguo and Wannian temples at Emei while we were here. Enjoyed our time .

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trif589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

This hotel complex is at the top of a winding road. You can definitely walk down (or take a cab) if you're up to it--it's maybe a 10-15 minute walk. There are a ton of buildings in the complex and I think you only get the 5 star quality if you book in one of the upgraded rooms. We paid for a standard room and it was very, very, very standard. The beds were definitely hard (as were most of the beds in China, so that's not much of a comment). The room was small and very basic--I really can't think of another way to put it. The spa was ridiculously expensive, so we didn't wind up going in to enjoy it at all. We ate in the main dining room--breakfast was included and there was a fantastically large variety. For dinner, prices were semi-overpriced but not too bad. Service was good, English was spotty. I'd go back, but only if I could stay in one of the nicer rooms. Although ours was clean (and an excellent price) it was maybe a little too basic for my tastes. Also, there wasn't an elevator in our building and the buildings are spaced apart, so be aware of that when booking and take your luggage into consideration.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loves_Travel_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

I could not quite figure out this hotel. Let me start with the face value. The hotel was located on a hillside and had several buildings. We stayed at building #8 which was a fair walk from the main building, lucky we had a driver with us. The lobby to building #8 was big enough and showing all efforts to impress.The room(twin) was spacious but dirty. Its old but did not age gracefully. Wall paper were peeling and stains are all over. The beds were extremely hard. Breakfast was a nonevent. Between the lower building #5 and the upper building #8, there were several villas that had seen such guests like Cheng Kai Shek, Deng Xiapeng and Jiang Zemin. That made a leisure walk from the lower building to the upper building that much more interesting. However, the narrow road and speeding cars made it a dangerous combination for pedestrians.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iawn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2009

I stayed at this hotel one night, as a starting point for a weekend on Mt. Emei. I was in building 5, which seemed to be the main hotel. Check-in was quick and but no one spoke English well. It took a few attempts before I understood that they were putting a 2000 RMB deposit on my credit card, in case I used the mini-bar. The room looked nice on first impression but it was quite cold. Neither I nor my colleague could figure out how to put the heat on. The beds were very hard, but not terrible. There was minimal lighting in the room, so it was impossible to read in bed.

We went to the huge dining room next to the lobby for dinner. It looked like it could hold several hundred people, yet we were the only ones there at 6pm. The menu had a lot of choices and the waitress hovered next to our elbows while we looked through it. Shortly after ordering, we saw a very large rat scurry across the dining room floor and under the fire extinguisher box. We attempted to tell the waitstaff, but it was impossible to communicate.

While I understand that this hotel is in the forests of Chengdu, there is no excuse for rats in the dining room. We were told that this was the best hotel of the lot, but I would recommend you stay elsewhere.

FYI, for those of you planning to ascend Mt. Emei, a word of warning. Take Dramamine before you get on the public bus up or down the mountain. The road is very windy and about half of the folks on our bus were ill. The bus driver has a supply of plastic bags up front in case you need them.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFreides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2009

This is one of the strangest places I ever stayed in.

Firstly, Mount Emei is nothing to ride home about - it's a fairly challenging walk to the "Golden Summit" and when you get there it's likely to be covered in mist. Think before making the trek from Chengdu.

Anyway, to the hotel. The room was ok, albeit each time we entered it and put the key in the slot to gain power the TV would turn on to some communist broadcast with suitably stirring music. Indeed, if you take the walk up to building number 8, do a bit of poking around. We managed to find what looked like a Communist party meeting room - one of those ones with the big oval table, complete with adjoining smoking and card rooms, it was like something from the 1970s. At the time of writing, the "Western Restaurant" in building number 8 was being used as a store room.

Another point to mention is that most things appearing on the menu in the bars, such exotic items as gin, wine, coke, juice etc. are not actually available, all apart from beer!

The swamp around which the hotel is set is home to a vast array of wildlife. Sadly, most of this is in the form of the type that bites humans, so prepare to be served up as a mosquito banquet each time the sun goes down. They don't illuminate it at night either, like the picture that appears on the website. All well and good I suppose, or else the swarms of bloodsucking creatures would be even worse!

If you need to chechout early in the morning don't be put of by the apparent lack of reception staff in building number 5. You will find them sleeping underneath the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hereandtherelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Emeishan hotels
2.1 mi away
JZ Hotel
JZ Hotel
#1 of 307 in Emeishan
108 reviews
9.2 mi away
Golden Summit Hotel
Golden Summit Hotel
#25 of 307 in Emeishan
98 reviews
3.6 mi away
Teddy Bear Hotel
Teddy Bear Hotel
#2 of 307 in Emeishan
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Century Sunshine Hotel
Century Sunshine Hotel
#5 of 307 in Emeishan
32 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hua Sheng Hotel
Hua Sheng Hotel
#4 of 307 in Emeishan
49 reviews
3.7 mi away
Emeishan Grand Hotel
Emeishan Grand Hotel
#47 of 307 in Emeishan
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hongzhu Shan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hongzhu Shan Hotel

Property: Hongzhu Shan Hotel
Address: Beside Baoguo Temple, Emeishan 614201, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Emeishan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Emeishan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hongzhu Shan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Zhu Shan Emeishan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing