We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky surprises....love this hotel!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Stav Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Stav Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hommelvik
Richmond, TX
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Funky surprises....love this hotel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Unique..Funky...even a bit quirky...but we loved our stay...perfect for a nights stay. Only wish we had arrived earlier to be able to enjoy all the hotel has to offer. This hotel is built over a highway...major thoroughfare...one would think it would not offer a quites night rest...far from the fact of the matter. At breakfast in the morning we had the most breathe taking view....it was comparable to a resort...and the breakfast was hot and fresh food. Nice clean room, fair sized, comfortable beds, WONDERFUL STAFF...exceeded expectations!!! Just make certain to arrive in time to enjoy the den above the freeway with a good book or the many board games. Excellent choice for families with children or adults with the heart and wonder of a child!!!

Room Tip: West facing rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    17
    9
    7
See reviews for
14
21
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

First of all, the reception staff was rude and very unprofessional (check in took ages). The hotel was located on a highway, and before going, I was assured by email that I will be getting a renovated room with minimum noise - well, I got just the opposite. Noise was evident and bothered my sleep and the room was probably renovated in the 1990's. I was very dusty, dated and the bathroom was simply disgusting and dirty. When I asked to move to another room, I was told the hotel was fully booked (though it seemed quite empty at most times).
Breakfast foods were simply not fresh at the very least, and cutlery was dirty. The worst thing was that at dinner, we got the same foods that were just left out in the open in the breakfast room all day!

Stay away at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank primitivepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToneDahl, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Stav Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Hello

We are very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Great customer service is something we take very seriously, so we apologize if you experienced our staff as rude. Most of our rooms have minimum noise so it is very unfortunately that you did not get a room like this, especially considering that you were assured by email that you would get a renovated room with minimum noise. Unfortunately we could not change your room when the hotel was fully booked.

We do not leave the breakfast out in the open all day. We clean up everything when the breakfast is done, and we do not serve the same food for dinner. I do not know when you stayed here or what happened during your stay, so it would be nice if you could send me an email, so that I can check it out. My e-mail address is tone.dahl@stavhotel.no.

Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your stay at out hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hommelvik hotels

Hamar
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

The staff were competent and service-minded.
The location is good between Trondheim and the airport.
The room was large and had everything necessary. In the bathroom, they could well have replaced the shower curtain. But otherwise quite ok. I miss the opportunity to select rooms with bath, but there are not many hotels that have it now days.
Breakfast was quite ok, and it was ready already at. 06.00
Free internet with no troubeling codes, etc. was a big plus.
They helped me and book my next stay on the journey in Oslo. They managed to provide a room in the center of Oslo at a very good price. Recomend others to take advantage of this offer. They had access to good prices in Oslo!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Finn

Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadOnceAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromsø
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

Nice Hotel with wery friendly staff. Great view from both the room and restaurant. Ok standard in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjellmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hommelvik
5.9 mi away
Scandic Hell
Scandic Hell
#1 of 1 in Vaernes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
6.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Trondheim Airport
6.6 mi away
Quality Airport Hotel Vaernes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
10.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
10.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Stav Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Stav Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Stav Hotel
Address: Sveberg, Hommelvik 7550, Norway
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Malvik Municipality > Hommelvik
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hommelvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Stav Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your BEST WESTERN Stav Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing