We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This place is under new ownership as of 2014, and the new owners increased the price from around $60-$80 to about $150. The location is great, right on the beach. The grounds are very nice. But the price point is just too high. Apparently the American owners will come out in August to oversee several improvements to justify the price, but when we were there it was basically empty due to its price point.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jsegre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncantadaCR, Owner at Encantada Ocean Cottages, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We welcome all reviews and as an owner we take each and every one of them into serious consideration.

Please note that our price for the beachfront cottage in which you stayed has only increased by $25. Since a year ago the rate has gone from $115-140. We believe that the recent room refurbishings more then warrant the small increase in price... New mattresses, high-thread-count sheets, eco-friendly bed frames, new paint and remodeled bathrooms... Just to name a few and with plenty more to come.

We feel our prices for double occupancy are inline with industry standards and the Encantada experience. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    54
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
100
100
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

What a great change this last visit was from the first a year ago. The room was clean, the beds were like sleeping on a cloud compaired to the old lumpy bedding. We had new linen and the redone bathrooms are so much better with new sinks ,toilets ,showers and towels.You can tell the new owners really care about the guests and their needs.The grounds looked great and the guest area finally did not smell like dirty dogs and was clean , bright and welcoming. The food was a great improvement over the barely passable food of the past. Much improved ,much better and I am told this is only the beginning. Keep up the great job and I can't wait until my next trip to Costa Rica and Encantada Ocean Cottages.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank boblakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Harold, manager of Encantada, met us with an extremely warm welcome and a coconut cocktail. He made our trip very relaxing by taking care to arrange our excursions in the area and our meals at the site. He was always willing to give us suggestions and enlightened us with stories of his travels and experiences. The staff was most gracious and the food was exceptional. Our stay of 5 days was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable vacations we have had in a long time.

Thanks for a great time
Your friends from Wisconsin

Room Tip: Pool cabins were very quaint. Pool was fantastic and you were only steps from the beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and it is indeed a charming place as far as grounds, the restaurant and the beach. We stayed in the large cottage and it was spacious but the bathroom is hard to use fully. It is very small and there is no space for toiletries, towels or hanging clothes. If you have 4 people in the cabin, you need some shelves and hooks. There is no shower curtain and so it floods after using shower. The kitchenette is great for having a fridge but for cooking it is not very practical. It has a small toaster oven and one hot plate. But beds are extremely comfortable and I have to say that the sheets were the softest I slept in in a long time. Yes, the dog next door is very loud and annoying. Woke us up in the morning since the large cottage is right next to it. Keeps on barking constantly until it finally tires when it is too hot. In a tranquil place like this, it gets on one's nerves when you try to relax in a hammock and hear howling every 10 mins when somebody passes by the property. Maybe we were just unlucky since there were gardeners on that property so it barked until they left. The grounds, pool are clean. Breakfast is basic but it will do to start the day. We went to Esterillos Oeste one day and got some groceries there. Our kids got surfing lessons one day with the instructor who is on-site sometimes. Lessons were $50/person. Not sure what prices are in other places but it seemed a bit expensive for a 1hr lesson. The instructor said it is for 2-3 hrs but when the kids tired after 1 hr, he said that we will have to pay again if he comes back for more. Bit dissapointing and felt a bit cheated. But again, dont know what the standard is like to compare to. Herald the manager is helpful and always available. We had bonfire on the beach and the food in the restaurant is good. There is a small library in the main house as well. In summary, it is a very nice, charming place and all the little things (other then the damn dog) are not that big of a deal if the price is right. But for the price we paid for the large cottage we would expect more functional kitchen, bathroom, storage in the room and more selection for breakfast. So I agree that it is a bit overpriced for what it offers at the moment.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dureska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

As all the other reviewers have already mentioned, it was Jerald and the staff there that made our stay so wonderful at Encantada. The grounds are very well maintained and the cottages are the perfect blend of rustic charm and very comfortable amenities, just don't expect the Ritz, this is more basic. Everyone in our group was extremely pleased. The food and drinks that are all prepared on site by Jerald and his staff of two are extremely good and well priced. Again, there is no reason to leave the grounds if you want to experience relaxation and the best of Costa Rican beach life. It's away from the mess of tourist places in Jaco and Manual Antonio but close enough to get to everything still. It would be sad is Jerald leaves, so I hope for future visitors sake he doesn't. My only recommendation is to book directly through their website, the Airbnb is harder to use.

Oh and ask for a bonfire on the beach!!

Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Recommend the smaller cabins to the large cabin but all types are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank gtnick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This place is a very relaxing place. It is off the beaten path so if you are looking for a more secluded vacation away from the tourist traffic, this is the spot. The cottages are very spacious and right next to the pool. The food and the staff are very accommodating. We have been there 2 times now and will definitely go back for another relaxing time.

Room Tip: These cottages are really cute. Lots of room and right by the pool. We have been there 2 times and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

While the facilities were not top of the class, they were fine. Jerald, who we understand will not be there much longer, made it work. I noticed other reviewers have commented Jerald is overwhelmed. Our observations are much the opposite. If it wasn't for him, the experience, no doubt, would have been much less enjoyable. If, in fact, he is gone before too long, the owners are going to be hard pressed to replace him. He works constantly, and continually tries to assure a positive experience for his customers.

The location is wonderful, the food was very, very good considering the kitchen facilities Jerald and his staff had to work with. He prepared a special breakfast for us on the morning we left. He made arrangements for us to see various local sites. The staff was also very nice. This was a very positive experience for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DJDAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncantadaCR, Owner at Encantada Ocean Cottages, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We could not agree with you more in regards to how lucky we are to have found such an amazing manager. Herald is extremely hard working and is fantastic with all the guests. Great customer service is definitely something Herald prides himself on. We are happy to say that Herald will continue to be part of the Encantada family!

Since the purchase of Encantada in June 2013 my husband and I have worked very hard in upgrading all the rooms. It is a process and we continue to make changes each and every day to assure a positive experience for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Este
21.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,163 reviews
16.8 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
21.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,310 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
216 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encantada Ocean Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encantada Ocean Cottages

Property: Encantada Ocean Cottages
Address: Beachfront, Esterillos Este, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Encantada Ocean Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encantada Ocean Cottages is located in Esterillos Este. The quaint, friendly community is just 90-minutes from the San Jose airport on the Central Pacific Coast and 30-minutes from Costa Rica's most popular tourist destinations: Jaco, Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. The 7 units can either be rented out individually or for groups. Each is unique and able to accommodate 2-5 people; the property sleeps 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Encantada Ocean Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantada Ocean Cottages Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing