We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time to unplug, relax, and rejuvenate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Time to unplug, relax, and rejuvenate”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

After some vacations to the Caribbean and Central America for snorkeling, diving, boating, and sightseeing Mayan ruins, we needed a vacation to unplug, relax, and rejuvenate.

We wanted a quiet, end-of-the-road, relaxing time at a smaller locale. A place where we could go for long walks on a secluded beach, flop around pool-side, and enjoy excellent seafood and local dishes. Choice of hammocks swinging under tall palm trees a plus. And if we decided to take a side-trip, we wanted to be able to do that, too.

This is what we got at Encantada Ocean Cottages. Other reviewers have gone into much detail about specifics so I won't do that here. Just to say: this is the place to go to completely unwind and get away from it all. Herald makes this place happen. He's the manager and the head chef, and so much more. The meals he concocts out of his kitchen with one assistant are simply amazing. We enjoyed 8 nights of his cooking. Wow. Seafood you just can't get in the U.S. Fresh veggies like you can't get in the U.S. Even the mashed potatoes. Flavor unending. (What are we doing to our food supply in the U.S.?) Herald will make arrangements for any day trips you'd like to take. We ended up not doing any because, like I said, our purpose was to completely relax.

We stayed in the seaside cottage. Extremely comfortable bed. Clean tiled floor. "Open"-style bathroom with roughed-in floors and stone/concrete in the large shower area. Lovely view from the front porch. Breakfast is delicious local fruits, coffee, juices, toast, and home-made "cupcakes". (Tip: Wear DEET to dinners in the outside restaurant; the mosquitoes are rough.)

Thank you, Herald and staff, for making our stay so nice, so relaxing. You made us feel so welcome; and we felt so sad when leaving!

Pura Vida! Todos Bien!

Room Tip: Ocean view cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank RJGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    54
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
98
100
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My boyfriend and I were looking for a nice, relaxing end to our hiking adventure in Costa Rica. Let me tell you, this was beyond perfect. It is the "green" season there, which basically means 1. It's super sunny from 6am until 2pm, then it rains, 2. Less tourists, and 3. Everything is way cheaper. We got upgraded to a nicer room for no extra charge, which was wonderful! The beds here, let me just tell you, are unbelievably comfortable. The cleaning staff may have thought we were insane because we basically took all the sheets off trying to figure out the brand so we could buy one at home. And the pillows! And the linens! Second best bed I've EVER slept in, behind one in SF that I'm pretty sure can't be beat. The cabins are cozy, clean, and cool. The water is hot in the showers, and the AC worked wonderfully. The hotel itself is right on the beach, and we sat out there for hours without seeing another person. You can walk miles in either direction without seeing another human. It was amazing! The hotel itself has a pool, bikes, surfboards, and a plethora of games (recreational and board). We never left and were never bored (2 days). We interacted almost exclusively with Herald, who was professional, helpful, and fun (and who speaks great English). He made his own cornhole set and played with us, enough said. He was also our bartender and our chef, and DANG was everything delicious. HUGE drinks (we made margs and coladas) for I think $6 each. He took an entire fresh pineapple and made a pina colada from it. And then he used the carved out pineapple as the glass. Yes, that big. For dinners we had the ribeye (whiskey marinated and grilled) and the whole red snapper (wood fired with potatoes and veggies), and they were both fantastic. We split each dinner between the two of us, and the snapper was an absolute steal (something around $18). Breakfast was light and delicious (and included). Yogurt, toast, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, etc...At night (which is typically boring pretty much anywhere in CR) Herald plays movies in the restaurant area to liven up the scene. Any movie you want really; he suffered through the immature hilarity of Eurotrip with us! There's chickens running around, one of whom is completely adorable and thinks Herald is her Papa. She has her own bed in the movie area :) All in all, no real bad things to say. We got lunch next door at the Pelican something, which was also fantastic. Large portions here, so consider splitting if you're budgeting. I just really can't believe how much of a value this place was--it's astounding. For 2 days of food and lodging, my total had a 2-- in front of it. A LOW 2--. I will definitely be coming back here, 100%. Adored it. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kbruce08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Service is fantastic thanks to Herald the manager and the owners Nome and Tiffany. Beautiful location, grounds and rooms. Herald even assisted with recommendations and reservations for our activities. Thank you! We will be back with friends!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were looking for a quiet getaway for our family (2 adults, a 6 yo, and a 4 yo), away from San Jose, away from Jaco, but not too far from the airport (Quepos felt like too far to drive after just arriving in CR). It was the perfect beginning to our CR vacation. It would also be a nice relaxing end to a CR vacation down the south pacific side. After an overnight flight, we were exhausted and ready to relax. Well, that's about all we did for our first 3 nights. We were just going to stop in for a night or two but we loved it so much we stayed an extra night. If we had more time, we would've stayed much longer and we were in CR to find a place to live, and as much as we would like to, I don't think we could live permanently at Encantada, though we dream about it. Our main goal at Encantada was to relax and unwind. The beach there was practically deserted while we were there. There were surfboards for us to use, so my husband and daughter went out a few times. There were bikes, too, but with the kids we couldn't make use of them. The beach sand is hard enough where you can go for long bike rides right on the sand! We lounged in their beautiful new hammocks, we swam in their sparkling clean refreshing pool, we went searching for giant sand dollars, and we went walking for miles without passing a single person (well, one fisherman) on the beach. They also had activites on the lawn that the kids liked (ring toss, badminton, soccer, horse shoes, etc). The rooms were cozy beach cottages. We really felt like were on a beach vacation with our doors opening up to the beach and our porch area steps from the sand. They also have their own private restaurant and the food was excellent. Even their version of the CR casado plate was the most delicious one we had during our whole stay in CR. Though, as with most restaurants in CR, the food could get expensive, we chose to eat there every day because we just loved the food so much. We had a small burner and microwave in our room but we decided not to leave the grounds to buy our own food because for these 3 days we wanted to just chillllllll. There are large supermarkets about a 20 minute drive, and a tiny supermarket 2 towns over, that we visited for snacks and sundry goods. There is not much other than other small low key resorts in the town so it's best to just relax and stay put and then take day trips down to Rainmaker or Quepos. We would rather stay here and visit Manuel Antonio than stay in Manuel Antonio or Quepos (too busy down there!). Herald, the property manager, was a friendly face during our entire visit. He helped us get settled, helped us with our spanish, explained to us customs in CR, and such. We felt better prepared for our CR trip after our free cultural consultation with him. Some of the recipes are from him, and they are delicious! We were also fortunate to be there when the owers Tiffany and Noam were there. They were so friendly and helpful. They got a bonfire for us going one night, Tiffany took my daughter searching for shells, and they provided us with much information about CR. They are also passionate about their place, and lucky for you, they'll be living their full time soon. They told us about all the changes they had made to the place and all the changes that were still to come. I imagine this place will only get better and better. One more thing, the place is compact so my husband and I could relax at the restaurant while the kids swam in the pool nearby or played on the lawn or went out to the sand. You could spread out and relax. The other guests were mostly Costa Ricans and they all seemed to be enjoying themselves, too.

Room Tip: We loved the big room that opens up to the lawn and ocean views, though with two big beds we shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stumbled onto Encantada a year ago for one night, loved it, and just returned for a much longer stay.
My wife and I took our two boys, 4 and 2, with us and though I think there are a lot of better spots in Costa Rica (I like to hike in the jungle and fish, and this isn't the best spot to do either on location), this was a perfect spot for a long family.
Encantada has a lot of great advantages, being relatively close to San Jose, the pool is clean and great for the kids, it's a very slow sloping beach so we felt safe playing on it with the boys, the beach is great in that it feels like you have an entire beach to yourself. It's a good location for day trips as Quepos, Jaco, Rainmaker are all less than an hour away by car.
The food at the restaurant is great, a little costly but delicious. The rooms are very clean and the place is kept up well. It's quiet and cozy and a great place to stay for one or seven nights.

Room Tip: I think they are all great. We stayed in the one ocean facing cabin and it's cool to open the Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank ToddIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Loved it! It was our best vacation so far! Great atmosphere, great staff, will definitely go back!!! Best of all location and ambient that you can't beat. Thanks Andy for making us the best piña colada every day and thanks Herold for tips and suggestions for making our activities enjoyable and affordable.
If I could give them another STAR I would.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our stay at Encantada was too short. We had the most relaxing laid back vacation and have absolutely no complaints. From the cozy cabanas, inviting swimming pool, to the helpful friendly people that are there to help and serve in anyway they can. Travel from the airport was easy as well. Have to say we'll definitely be back, but next time we'll stay a bit longer. Great times!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Joellataft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Este
21.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
21.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
13.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encantada Ocean Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encantada Ocean Cottages

Property: Encantada Ocean Cottages
Address: Beachfront, Esterillos Este, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Encantada Ocean Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encantada Ocean Cottages is located in Esterillos Este. The quaint, friendly community is just 90-minutes from the San Jose airport on the Central Pacific Coast and 30-minutes from Costa Rica's most popular tourist destinations: Jaco, Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. The 7 units can either be rented out individually or for groups. Each is unique and able to accommodate 2-5 people; the property sleeps 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Encantada Ocean Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantada Ocean Cottages Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing