We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet hotel”
Review of Rawla Narlai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rawla Narlai
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narlai
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet hotel”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We were sorry that we only spent one night at this hotel. We felt that we could have very happily stayed for another day. We were taken on a village walk with a member of staff which was delightful and interesting. We also went to the step well dinner. I agree with another contributor that this was rather contrived and we felt it was not worth a rather huge £70 per head and drinks were not included although they were served with gusto, so we assumed they were! I would have preferred to see the step well in daylight.

Our room was in the new part and very big and comfortable, with its own verandah. The staff were very good and the pool looked very nice with lots of comfortable beds around it. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, but we would very happily visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMMDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    112
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
104
276
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was a great stop over night on our way to Udaipur. The hotel was another heritage hotel, and the flora was beautiful here as well. The service was a bit "cooler" (we had been treated like royalty at some of the other locations). I wasn't feeling 100% and that could have skewed my perception. We did a trip to the Stair Well in the evening. Kind of fun experience, but felt like we were watching (or rather participating in) a play, and the dinner was not that good (would skip the Step Well dinner). The Step Well itself would've been great to see in the daytime. All in all, a great place to stay. Rooms were spacious, as were the bathrooms - and we had hot showers :) Very clean too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMTX2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here. It is part way between Jodhpur and Jaipur and was a perfect break in the journey. It is an old Royal hunting lodge in a small rural village dominated by a granite 'hill' with a temple on top. The rooms were modern and extremely comfortable but still full of character, and the staff charming and helpful. The hotel was full of character in the best possible way with a lovely pool in a delightful courtyard with pretty gardens. We had dinner in the ancient stepwell, taken there by ox cart - great fun if a little surreal. We wished we had had time for a second night to fully enjoy the tranquility of this place. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank AlpUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is a lovely heritage property. Although I enjoyed the bullock cart ride to the step well dinner just fine, the experience was a bit contrived and at times I felt badly for the "players." Dinner at the step well was just so-so. Room was comfortable, host was gracious, staff was friendly. We were only there one night so it's difficult to make an evaluation beyond that. I'd recommend the location if the spot is at a logical stopping point on your trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICTS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed four nights here in a February and were so glad that our stay was so long. We had a wonderful time. Our room in the historical block was excellent with a balcony and lots of space. The staff are very friendly and keen to help. The hotel general manager is extremely efficient and a great asset, if there are any problems they are immediately sorted out and she is always around. The pool is not heated but next year they are putting in solar panels to sort that out. Throughout the gardens are lounge beds where you can read peacefully. It is a good idea to keep your windows shut as the local monkeys are quite inquisitive ! We did several walks in the local village, where everyone is very friendly, and in the countryside with our hotel guide Lala. So many people only stay one night and regret it - stay at least two, it is well worth it and you will leave feeling very relaxed.

Room Tip: The historic rooms are the best choice with quirky ornaments - not all rooms have a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Midway between Udaipur and Jodhpur, this heritage home was an old hunting lodge now transformed to a beautiful boutique hotel of unique charm.
We met the current owner and he hosted the Step Well dinner which you are taken to by bullock cart. Not the most comfortable experience but all part of the fun.
The very old Step Well is magically candle lit and the atmosphere is completed by lilting music.
Surrounded by the Aravalli hills we only had one night, two would have been better to really enjoy what was on offer.
Lovely people with service to match.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor Jharoka room which had great views of the huge hill with the temple sitting on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This lovely hotel is a treat to walk around and enjoy the grounds and landscaping. There are all sorts of little nooks with places to sit and relax. Our room was spacious and clean. It is very old fashioned, but had lots of charm. There is a pool at the hotel that looked great, although I did not use it. Breakfast was good, a bit limited on options.

Room Tip: I liked the old rooms, but some in our group found them dark. There is a newer building, so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibbyJ6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narlai
13.4 mi away
The Kumbha Bagh
The Kumbha Bagh
#1 of 7 in Kumbhalgarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ghanerao Royal Castle
Ghanerao Royal Castle
#1 of 1 in Ghanerao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
12.8 mi away
Aodhi Hotel
Aodhi Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kumbhalgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Mana Hotels Ranakpur
Mana Hotels Ranakpur
#2 of 8 in Ranakpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
14.3 mi away
WelcomHeritage Maharani Bagh Orchard Retreat
13.5 mi away
Royal Kumbhalgarh Villas
Royal Kumbhalgarh Villas
#4 of 7 in Kumbhalgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawla Narlai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawla Narlai

Property: Rawla Narlai
Address: Village and Post Narlai | Near Desuri Rajasthan, Narlai 306703, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Pali District > Narlai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narlai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rawla Narlai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stepwell Dinner : Guests are taken on a magical journey from the Rawla through the village streets into the jungle before arriving at the 1100 year old “step well”. The magical setting is brought to life by dimly lit oil lamps that illuminate the setting through flickering light. The very private dinner is laid out in a traditional manner, it promises to remain unmatched experience to anything you will ever experience for a long time. The entire evening is like a secluded sanctuary inspired by the mystical past, bracing Indian spirituality and the unique experience of one being completely with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rawla Narlai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawla Narlai Hotel Narlai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing