We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
565
145
30
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
145
30
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hunting lodge heritage hotel leopard safari small village thali village walk magical experience beautiful hotel ox cart oil lamps elephant rock rooftop restaurant beautiful room horse riding lovely pool the general manager hotel guide
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We wanted to include some rural destinations in our month long trip to India and this was one of them. We were shown to a room in the old part of the hotel but when we asked if there was space in the newer part the staff immediately showed us several options. We selected a newer room which was lovely and it had an enormous modern bathroom and beautiful view. We were very content with our accommodation.
There isn't much to do in Narlai but for two nights it was great to just relax and see some of the local sights.
The hotel is very good about offering some options of things to see in the area.
We did enjoy the stepwell dinner because it is something we will never experience
again and we would recommend it to others in spite of the cost.
The woman who manages this hotel is an amazing personality. She is so full of life and so interested in her guests having a good time. This hotel is very fortunate to have her.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marcoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights during a four week trip in India. The welcome was efficient and friendly and we were given a choice of two rooms in the old building (hunting lodge). The bedroom we chose was quite small but comfortable and there was a spacious bathroom area, all fitted out with antique furniture although storage space was limited. We were very happy with the room overlooking the garden and it was never noisy.
The restaurant had a varied menu and the breakfasts had a good choice of Indian and continental fare. We didn't opt for the step-well dinner which seemed very expensive at 5000 rupees. The evening leopard safari was a highlight; well run with an informative guide , we thoroughly enjoyed going through small villages and crossing the rocky desert terrain before we spotted a leopard at the top of a rocky outcrop. We watched him for half an hour or so as the sun set.
The hotel in the middle of the village of Narlai is in a magnificent setting, overlooked by the rock and the grounds are beautifully kept with a large but cold swimming pool. We enjoyed walking around the village and chatting to the locals.
One of the hotel's major assets is the General Manager, Gareema, who always seemed to be around ensuring people were content and activities were running smoothly. I was particularly impressed with the speed with which she produced first aid dressings and antiseptic powder after I had cut my foot. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: The heritage rooms are well equipped and comfortable
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We loved this place. Super room, excellent food, super gardens, great pool and spa. The rock looks over the hotel but seeing the temples was a treat. We were warned off the stepwell evening so it is each to their own taste on that one. Yes, we had a wedding and there was some noise but I can't say it bothered us that much. I just wished we could have stayed longer. I agree with the comments about the manager. She was charming and most helpful. We like the rooftop buffet meal although the a la carte food in the restaurant was really delicious.

Room tip: We had a room in the new block. Super. The older parts looked OK but not sure they had much view.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank allischarming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We spent 2 nights to chill out after the busy pace of travel and this hotel is perfect for that. The village is very basic and not that appealing but the rock that overlooks the town is amazing. Watching monkeys scaling an almost sheer rock face at sunset was terrific.

The buildings and gardens are beautifully kept and there is a large variation in rooms. Personally I did not like the newer building which lacked charm but has a great view. Our room was smallish but comfortable however the facilities varied greatly from room to room. The pool was great but still pretty cold.

The food generally lacked flavour and none of our hot food was served hot. The rooftop restaurant had no real ambience in terms of lighting or music which could easily be improved with a bit of imagination.

We had planned to do the step well dinner but after we had eaten at the restaurant to find that the food was fairly average we decided not to proceed. It was really hard to justify the cost of approx $130AUD per person without drinks. A lot of visitors were on package deals and probably not aware of the actual price of this event.

We did very much enjoy the leopard safari even though we did not spot one. The cars were very new and comfortable and the guides very knowledgeable. The morning tea spot was terrific.

We would however suggest that the hotel should be for children above 12 years of age. There were a couple of loud young children which disrupted part of our otherwise relaxing stay.

The general manager was terrific and an absolute professional. Very rare to see a woman working in a role like this in this part of India.

Room tip: request the older buildings - more charming
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsBoutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

This is a special place to visit and this was our second time staying. After a slight glitch with the room allocation we were upgraded to a beautiful suite in the recently built building. A balcony with an amazing view. To be fair the staff do everything possible to ensure that the guests have a memorable time and the two issues we faced had nothing to do with the local staff. The website states clearly that every room has a view. This is untrue. They don't. The noise came from a wedding (I assume) but it was disturbing though not the fault of the staff.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Piggywiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews