We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thomas' Retreat Bukit Lawang
Nearby Hotels
Ecolodge Bukit Lawang(Bukit Lawang)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Orangutan(Bukit Lawang)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rainforest Guesthouse(Bukit Lawang)(Great Value!)
US$11
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$4
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Junia Guest House(Bukit Lawang)(Great Value!)
US$17
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Riverside Guesthouse(Bukit Lawang)(Great Value!)
US$17
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Jungle Inn(Bukit Lawang)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Sam's Bungalows(Bukit Lawang)(Great Value!)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$14
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
155
37
9
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
37
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsday trekjungle trekthe rivertea and biscuitsstaff was extremely helpfulmoderate fitnesslifetime experiencemedan airportplaying gamesbecame sicklarge bathroomspeaks perfect englishgreat guidebhindihotel restaurantnice clean roomsunforgettable adventure
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow! Wow! Wow! This has been the highlight of our travels. We have been travelling for about 5 months and thought we would splash out a bit on a tour to see the Orangutans. We got so much more than we bargained for, extremely hospitable staff that made everyone feel included and safe. A time I will never forget is my time in the jungle with Thomas Retreat Tours. Terimicasih.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sterling L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Located at the river, we enjoyed our time and relaxed before and after our jungle trek. The room was clean with a comfy bed. The Wifi only works at restaurant and the shower has only cold water which was ok for us. Food in the restaurant is very good and Thomas and the staff very friendly. On request of my wife, they even organized a birthday cake.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Itchy-Feet_AundM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Thomas Retreat is located just by the River which by itself is a beautiful view. The sunrise and the sunset were both very pleasing. Thomas was a pleasant man and his entire crew helped us. He had us picked up from Medan airport and booked our tickets in the super luxury bus to Aceh when it was time for us to leave. The rooms are spacious and beautifully arranged. But their star attraction is their trek. We had a guide called Bhendi and one who was in love with Shahrukh Khan. Our trek wouldnt have been half as fun as it was without Bhendi. Everything from food to routes to seeing Oorangutans at their best was beautifully organised. The camp site is a beautiful unexpected location. Thomas Retreat, a super experience.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhivya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

My friend and I stayed at Thomas' Retreat before and after our jungle trek and it was very good. The room was spacious, really clean and very comfortable. It was more than anything I could have expected. The restaurant was really good and cheap too, I really enjoyed their banana pancakes before heading off for our trek!

Room Tip: I like room 7 and 8 because they are like a little bungalow
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Maude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Thomas retreat for 3 nights and of course for the jungle trekking. The rooms are modern, clean and affortable. Our guide was the very best! He had great knowledge about animals and plants of the jungle and showed us a lot of interesting things. The highlight was seeing 6 Orang Urans very close. Also the night in the jungle camp was great and we had a lot of fun playing games with our guides. They really tried to make our trip unforgetable and it really was! I would recomment to stay at Thomas do the trip with one of bis guides!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AnMiLa1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews