We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highland Resort & Nature Tours
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tomohon
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I had a very nice and peaceful time at Highland Resort: the place is very calm 6 beautiful, settled between the trees and you have a nice view on Lonkon Volcano just at the door of the resort! You jsut need 5 minutes walking to get the public transport if you want to hang around. All the people working there are very kind and care a lot to make you stay as pefect as possible. Moody is a very keen and sympathic guide who will show you a lot if you ask him!

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Lise_GNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie L, Inhaber at Highland Resort & Nature Tours, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you very much! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again one day. It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest!
Warm regards from the Highland Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    44
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
79
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed here in April '12 with a group of friends. The place is beautiful and the staff go out of their way to make sure everything is ok for you. Food in the (very small) restaurant is excellent.

It's only 10 cottages. Rooms are beautiful and cool. The spa is great.
The setting is breathtaking and there is lots to do in the region.
You can take a bemo to the town, do the Minahasa tour, go to Tangkoko park, swim in the public pool (springboard 5m high!) etc.

It's hard to meet an Indonesian that isn't hospitable and warm, but the people at Highland Resort are the best we encountered on our trip around the archipelago.

Room Tip: The suites are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thijs1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A unique resort with a close team of young people to serve you more than 5 stars from the moment you wake up until bedtime. Any request is followed up immediately and correctly, especially the full day local area tour we all enjoyed so much! We have been traveling all over Indonesia for the past 10 years but we must say that we were impressed by the Manado peoples lifestyle of Love, Care and Cooperation!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Passie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soest, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We were very pleased to stay a week at Highland resort. Especially the staff was very friendly. Price/quality was very good. Tours were well organized and rooms were clean.
The climate here is wonderful compared to Manado which was to hot for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Highland Resort as they offered us a night for free if we stayed 3 nights. Brilliant decision on our part! We booked ahead for a delux room as the Standard rooms were all booked and when we arrived, we were informed that the delux rooms were all full. No problem for the very helpful staff and management, they upgraded us to a suite for the full 4 days. What abeautiful room - huge bed with great mosquito net, TV, balcony with bell to summon a member of staff if you wanted anything - no need to walk down the (small) hill to the restaurant. We had a great breakfast on our balcony each morning (included in the price), with views towards the volcano - fantastic way to start the day. The staff were fantastic, even if the trainees were a little unconfident in their English skills, they did every thing they could to make our stay enjoyable - they smiled easily and tried very hard to help at all times - their English put our very lacking Indonesian to shame, so no complaints there! The lady who showed us to our room and genrally looked after everyone, was fantastic - again easy smiles and nothing too much trouble. The food was excellent too - a little slow on the cook's day off, but nothing worth complainting about. The room was cleaned daily - and a proper clean too, which can be lacking in sone places. We also got a free transfer to the airport as we had booked the delux room - well worth the extra for the comfort of the vehicle and ease of travel. When we left, the manager and his staff all came out to wave us off - a nice touch! We would thoroughly recommend this hotel - keep up the good work Highland Resort!!

Room Tip: Not far from Manado, but far enough away from the noise and chaos of the city. Plenty of bemos going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I stayed at Highland Resort for 5 nights in September 2011. I had just been working hard as a volunteer at a wildlife sanctuary for a few weeks and this was the perfect place to unwind and chill out. The staff was so lovely, in particular Aty the cook, who made me special vegetarian meals every day - thank you Aty! I did a tour with Michael, who took me to see beautiful Linow Lake and the Pulatan pottery centre and the beautiful weaving at the Bentenar Centre.
The setting at Highland is stunning, the grounds are beautifully maintained and my room was just gorgeous - clean, spacious, everything made of wood and just such a lovely environment to chill out in. I had several massages at the Spa with the lovely Yona, which were very gentle and relaxing. The resort is close to Tomohon and reasonably close to Manado if you want to go to the city, but I just enjoyed being able to spend some time with my book and having a look around the local area. Special mention to Aty again for taking me to her village for the celebrations of North and South Sulawesi's independence. A unique experience I will never forget. Lovely people, lovely food, lovely environment.

Room Tip: Check out their website for specials. I got a great deal where I got 4 nights for the price of three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Highland Resort last august and would definitively recommend it. The bungalows are clean and spacious, the restaurant serves a good local food and service is excellent.
The rate for the room + breakfast is a very good value in the area.
The owners helped us a lot in arranging various things : motorbike, rafting .. and giving us many tips for our trips around.
We had a very relaxing time - exactly what we needed - and can strongly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coralie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomohon
8.2 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
536 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
14.3 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 45 in Manado
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Onongs Palace
Onongs Palace
#2 of 4 in Tomohon
42 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jhoanie Hotel
Jhoanie Hotel
#3 of 9 in Tomohon
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Lake Linow Resort
Green Lake Linow Resort
#1 of 4 in Tomohon
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Resort & Nature Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Resort & Nature Tours

Property: Highland Resort & Nature Tours
Address: Kinilow Jaga VI, Tomohon 95362, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Tomohon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tomohon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Resort & Nature Tours 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Sulawesi has a lot more to offer than Bunaken. The Highland Resort and Spa is an ideal place to base yourself in the volcanic highland area near Manado. Our unique resort offers a cool respite from the tropical heat of the city, and a quiet venue to relax and enjoy the lush vegetation and birdlife found here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Highland Resort & Nature Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Resort & Nature Tours Tomohon, Indonesia - Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing