We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bitung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Bastianos is a real good place to stay and dive the muck of the Lembeh straight. Management and staff are very welcoming, helpful & friendly. The diving centre is well run with good guides with superb eyes for the macro stuff. We rented the diving gear: it's all good, well maintained and safe. Food is good, the pool has a stunning view, so do the bungalows and (standard) rooms. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchTravellerDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

Let's make it clear, the rooms, food and location of this resort are great...but I had to rate it badly for the lack of professionalism concerning the dives and most of all, their scuba gear which was in very bad condition. My friends and I stayed 3 days in the resort and had issues with scuba gear the 8 times we dived: dysfunctional pressure gauges, leaky tanks, leaky/foamy masks, damaged wet suit...etc. When we mentioned that to the resort manager, he did not care much and actually wanted us to pay full price for the dysfunctional scuba gear...In conclusion, DO NOT GO THERE IF YOU HAVE TO RENT YOUR SCUBA GEAR !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sanchez81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastianos D, Manager at Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Hi there, I was quite shocked to read this review until I realised it was september last year that you visited us, some 9 months ago
I am the new manager of Bastianos Lembeh as of november last year, and can alleviate any concerns people may have regarding this post by saying we have changed our whole equipment (BCD, regs and wet suits) since I have taken over
Sorry you had a bad experience with us in the past though

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at Bastianos in June. The managers Dave and Lauriane went out of their way to ensure we had a great time throughout our trip, and all the staff we met were really friendly. The accommodation is really nice, clean rooms with amazing views over the bay, really comfortable beds and I loved the bathrooms. The food was excellent, a mix of Indonesian and Western food and served with a smile! It's location is brilliant, close to some incredible dive sites and of course the diving is top class. The restaurant has views over the bay and there's a swimming pool where you can chill out after a dive. I would definitely recommend this resort if you're looking for somewhere friendly, relaxing and world-class diving. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Loved the place - its beautiful and well run. Dave the resort manager is great!!!

I wished I could have stayed there for a week.

The diving was splendid - but only if you are interested in macro stuff. But this is what Lembeh Straits is famous for. If you want to see pygmy seahorses, hairy frogfishes, nudibranches, bluering octopus, decorator crabs and all the assorted variety of tiny creatures - this is really the place to be.

I found the resort to be really nice, well built and designed and decorated. Love the hand made solid wooden furniture - even opening the drawers brings out a pleasant sandelwood or camphor fragrance. There was also a lovely outdoor pool overlooking the bay.

I went in late February and there was only two other divers there. This mean that you don't have to "share" the Dive guides with other divers - and you can more personal attention. I found my dive guide - Steven - to be really helpful and eagle eyed. I was continually amazed by what he could find.

Resort wise - I really liked the place- I found it a a very calm and tranquil environment. Bring along some books and perhaps a travel computer loaded with movies to watch.

Probably the only thing missing was... more fresh fruit. The dooku/loong kong (looks like a small potato - flesh texture like that of a grape - has a sweet or sweet/sour taste) season was on - and it would have been lovely if the resort had purchased the fresh fruit from the local village for us to eat. I brought some along the way there but the young kitchen staff placed them in the freezer and ruined them.

It would also have been nice if the resort had an in-house masseur. They did have one but she was only there during the day.

Anyhow I'd go back there again - the next time for a week.

Room Tip: Choose the room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yauming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights, 2 full days diving.
I read various review about this resort. I chose this resort simply my prefered reasort were not available for short notice of my last minutes trip.
They arranged the pick-up service from the airport, the worst driver ever, I could smell alcohol from his mounth which keep talking while driving - he said he drink a bit to celebarte new year; and no drunk - which was not true, many times I had to warn him to drive carefully.

The resort itself was nice, clean, with beautiful garden and nice pool, probably located in one of the best location on Lembeh island.
I booked the standard room, since the room was not ready when I arrived, they upgraded to bungalow for one night only; they next day I moved to the standard room.
No coffee maker in the room, no complimentary water, and no soap in the room, I asked to the receptionis - need 3 reminders and took 8 hours just to get the soap, which is a whitening beauty soap. Probably her own soap.

Food was not bad, but nothing special. Wifi reception in the standard room was intermitently.

Diving in Lembeh is always good for macro lovers, and they have Opo - the most experienced and probabaly the best dive guides in Lembeh. Without him, I will rate this resort below lembeh average.

If managed well, Bastianos can be one of the best resort in Lembeh, but not this time

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisnu315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastianos D, Manager at Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

I'm sorry to hear that you had some bad experiences at our resort
I totally agree that having a driver representing Bastianos and being under the influence is completely unacceptable, unfortunately in this instance all our drivers were on leave being you arrived late at night on the 1st of January, which is a big celebratory evening in Indonesia. We hired a private taxi to pick you up from the airport and of course had no idea this man had been drinking and after hearing this news we will not be using him again
We don't have any kettles inside our rooms but we do offer 24 hours self service tea and coffee in our restaurant and drinking water is available from our dispensers also 24 hours a day. We give a water bottle to each guest upon arrival, which can be refilled throughout the day. Being divers we all know the negative effect plastic is having on our seas, so here we try to minimise the unnecessary pollution by reducing the amount of bottles we use
Maybe you'd like to know also that as of the end of january we took a new, experienced, chef in the kitchen
I'm glad to hear though that our guide did what they do best and that you liked our resort and it's surroundings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I was supposed to write this review 6 weeks ago but this website did not allow me to do so. I must wait 3 months after my last review on the same property. Anyways.

I returned to this resort end of November for a short trip to test my new camera and housing. The only reason why I kept going back was the dive guide, Steven. Steven was as good as always finding me different critters. Though I had been to Lembeh 5 times, every time he could show me something new.

What I found very disappointing and most annoying during this trip was the new smoking policy in the resort. There was only one smoking diver in the resort during my visit and she was allowed to smoke everywhere. When on the boat, she always lit her cigarette in the midst of the divers. The dive guides signaled her to move to the bow to smoke but she ignored them. The worst part is she hogged the table under the one-and-only-one ceiling fan in middle of the restaurant. In other words everybody walking into the restaurant must suffer from her second hand smoke. One afternoon I could not stand the heat and requested to move my table underneath the fan. What she did was holding her cigarette high behind my head. I sat for about 10 minutes and then moved back to my original table located at the far corner of the restaurant and continued to suffer from the heat and mosquitoes. Did the resort manager do anything? No! He was dining with this lady diver on the same table every meal. If smoking was not allowed in the restaurant like in the past, he could have told her.

A smoking freely resort is definitely NOT my kind of resort. I will definitely move to another place next time when I go back to Lembeh.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank woowoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastianos D, Manager at Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Hi, thanks very much for your feedback. We have taken onboard your comments and the restaurant is now none smoking, also on the dive boats smoking is only permitted outside on the bow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Good to see the resort had a manager again. Many old staff had left but those whom I met before all recognized me. There were some improvements. For example, they put a bedside lamp so I could read during the night. They also changed clean linens every 3rd day. New pool chairs.

Food served was about the same standard. You need to arrive the restaurant early in order to get hot food. 2 evenings I was late for dinner due to night dives, I was eating cold food. Another morning I was just 10 minutes late for breakfast, there was no noodle left. If not I specially requested, they did not bother to make more noodles. But it took me half an hour to get my food so I was late for my first dive of the day.

New staff in the restaurant was lack of self-motivation. They just laid the food on the buffet table announcing dinner was ready. By the time guests lined up to get the food, there was no dinner plate and no serving spoons. I stood there for 10 seconds but this girl did not react until I told her what was missing.

I hope the resort could do something on the mosquitoes. They could at least put some coils in both the room and the restaurant. This is something inexpensive.

Diving is always good in Lembeh. Good dive guides are supposed to be the asset of a resort in Lembeh because most of the guests come here for diving. They can bring in repeated guests like me. They all deserve better treatment. I had been seeing them shivering in each dives for the past 2 years because the owner of the resort did not provide thicker wetsuit for them. I really felt sorry for these people.

I will return to this resort for as long as the dive guide I knew for years is still around. To be candid, I return to this place just for the same dive guide. I can get better accommodation and better food in other resorts in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woowoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bitung hotels
0.9 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 2 in Pulau Lembeh
626 reviews
4.7 mi away
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
2.7 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kungkungan Bay Resort
Kungkungan Bay Resort
#4 of 10 in Bitung
249 reviews
2.5 mi away
K2 Dive Resort
K2 Dive Resort
#3 of 5 in Pulau Lembeh
28 reviews
14.0 mi away
Kalinaun Resort - Lembeh & Bangka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort

Address: Lembeh Island, Bitung, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bitung
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bitung
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bitung
Price Range: £67 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched idyllically on the west coast of Lembeh Island, overlooking the strait is Bastianos Dive Resort at Lembeh Island (then it's called Bastianos Lembeh). The key feature of Bastianos Lembeh is that it has surprisingly good facilities yet retains a very modest price. The resort has an elevated swimming pool and large open-air common room with superb sea views, free wi-fi internet connectivity, satellite TV and spa room - facilities one might expect from a mid- to high- budget resort and not one of such clear affordability. The rooms are also of a relative good quality, with Superior cottages that can be rented as air-conditioned or fan only, and Standard rooms for those looking for the cheapest deal. The cottages are stand alone properties for more guest privacy, whereas the Standard rooms are adjoining but close to the water's edge. The resort prides itself on its social atmosphere. It is a popular choice for regular divers just wanting to dive, have fun and meet people, not really for 'hardcore' diver photographers that want to do nothing but spend their time underwater. Divers will, however, appreciate our dedicated camera room and the well-appointed dive center complete with DIN/Int compatible tanks as well as nitrox and the full range of rental equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastianos Lembeh Diving Hotel Bitung
Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort Indonesia/Bitung, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing