We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“magic happens”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of NAD-Lembeh Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bitung
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
NAD-Lembeh Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bitung
Certificate of Excellence
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“magic happens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

many divers pop in for a few days on their way through. We stayed for three week long vacations 2 years in a row. Each day brought something new and eventually the magic started happening. Things that only a lucky local got to see began to appear. Tides and currents changed and brought new rare critters daily. Our fantastic, diligent, skilled guides cared for us and our gear and assisted us to dive our profiles to hunt for our muck wish lists. We had a few camera and scuba problems and they were repaired in house. Meals and accommodations were as good if not better then we have had at other dive destinations in the world. But the dive program coupled with the photo support is world class. NAD is a dive family atmosphere full of camaraderie and of course "magic". Will we return? Absolutely!

Room Tip: individual bungalows are handcrafted and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edward f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    38
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
83
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Diving in Lembeh is awesome muck diving. You will see some amazing creatures on almost every dive. One dive here we saw 7 different ornate ghost pipefish. yeah

I do not usually stay at places like NAD as it is usually a little out of my price range ($55/night...and I live in Asia so used to cheap prices :P ) but I was thoroughly impressed with this resort, the diving, the the food, and the service. I would go back in a heartbeat, and in fact am already looking at my next vacations.

The atmosphere was nice, calm, and beautiful in a gorgeous little bay. The food and service was exceptional (man, their cooks really know how to cook well). And their dive guides were organised, attentive, and very knowledgeable.

I would recommend NAD-Lembeh to anyone who is interested in muck diving.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solarscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was our second trip to NAD and it has improved since the last time. The rooms have been upgraded and the camera room is great.

Resort-
We were picked up from the airport and transferred to the resort smoothly- it was pouring rain but we finally arrived and were greeted upon arrival. We had a hot water issue in our room which they tried to fix for a few days but finally we were moved to another room when it became available. Not the greatest as since it rained everyday we were looking forward to a nice hot shower. The food was OK, comparable to other dive resorts that have all inclusive packages. Only one morning there was no bread as the bread machine had broken down- a few hungry divers that day. Internet was ok, bit hard to connect sometimes. I agree the long table system isn't for everybody though.

Dive Centre- dive centre and boats were good, well maintained and clean. The guides were amazing at finding a variety of animals. Nitrox costs extra and I would suggest it should be free- having just returned from Bali and most of the centres there offer free nitrox. There was a little bit of confusion what time the dive boat was scheduled to leave daily but it got sorted and everyone was aboard. Snacks and drinks on board as per usual.

We enjoyed our time at NAD and met some great people- thanks Simon and Zee. looking forward to returning and checking out their secret dive site ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BKKME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed as a family of five (occupying 2 rooms) over Xmas and had a really nice time. The staff are friendly and efficient and made us feel very welcome and relaxed. The rooms are basic but functional and come with aircon and a fan (had no need for aircon though) as well as a bathroom/shower room with sink and some storage for clothing. The rooms also have a nice covered area in front with some furniture in case you feel like some wind in your face. I took a travel adapter as well for my electronics but didn't use it because each room also comes with a small (4 gang) extension board with universal socket openings - very useful.

Catering was in the form of 3 meal times: breakfast, lunch and dinner and all provided decent food for hungry divers. Tea, instant coffee, hot/cold water, chocolate or fresh brew coffee available throughout the day and cookies biscuits usually put out for the post dive 3 returnees in the afternoon.

The eating area/lounge was a comfortable place to sit when not dining but there is also a small TV lounge for those not ready to relinquish their grasp on modern conveniences. Wifi is available everywhere and although not top speed it was more than enough for browsing and uploading pics during the day.

There is also a great and useful small library with reading material as well as reference books for ID'ing those elusive critters.

Lembeh of course has a worldwide reputation for its muck diving and critters and people who visit this are will not be disappointed. NAD caters for the muck diver i.e. diver with a camera and there is an onsite room dedicated solely for the care and maintenance of your photographic equipment.

There are several dive boats (three that I know of) that can cater for when the resort is busy, although they keep a strict rule of 4 divers per guide, so places don't get too crowded or backed up. The guides are excellent at spotting the smallest stuff and I was amazed at some of then things that were spotted. It's well worth following the guide and listening for when he finds something to see.

I dived air and it was nice to have a place that gives you a generous airfill (usually 230 bar min) and extended bottom time limits (max dive time 75 mins). Too many places I have been that are stingey with their air and dive times, but thankfully not at NAD. Being quite a conservative air user I found myself being allowed to stay under (near the boat) to take pictures for quite some time after everyone else had already surfaced, so it was nice to be treated as an adult rather than being told to finish the dive with everyone else :-)

All in all a pleasant stay in a friendly environment mingling with friendly staff and fellow guests from all areas of the world.

I will definitely return to Lembeh and NAD at some time in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OS_HK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We travelled back to Lembeh and stayed with NAD again in April 2013, and things only improved at the high level of quality it previous was at and we were thankful and happy for NAD's hospitality. Highlights were (in no particular order):

- Amazing guides who found amazing things, took care of dive sites, and made sure to respect guests from NAD and other operators (same can't be said elsewhere from my first hand experience)
- Meals were local and well made, rotated and hooked us into sambal
- Boats were well care for and FAST!
- All gear was taken care of meticulously
- Amazing camera care/equipment and advice from both guests and staff
- Felt like all staff really cared for your welfare

NAD makes plans to improve the resort (facilities and services) and executes them - you can definitely see, feel and experience the improvements (boat engines, camera towels, cleaner air to mention a few) that you won't be disappointed that you picked them to stay with.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franktai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is not a review for diving Lembeh. Lembeh is renowned for its muck diving and all the sites we've dived do not disappoint. This review is for the resort facilities and services.

NAD provides fantastic facilities for the serious underwater photographer. It has a sizable camera room complete with individual work stations and even an electric dry box for cameras and lens.

We requested for a private guide and he was an excellent spotter. The boat crew was attentive and always ready to help after each dive. The end of each dive also saw them offering tea, coffee, water, fruits and cake. You need only tell them once your preferred beverage and they will serve you the same beverage after the rest of the dives.

The bungalows and rooms are clean and comfortable, the meals simple and filling. For those who enjoy a cuppa during the day, they have a Krups expresso machine in addition to the instant coffee mix.

There is a good collection of reference books for marine animals and also many fiction books for lighter reading.

Our dive experience was enjoyable and positive except for two issues:
i. We stayed at Bungalow 4 and had problems with the water supply on two nights. On the first night, the problem was attended to promptly but on the second night, I needed to prompt the staff three times before the management stepped-in to resolve the problem.

ii. We did beach dives at about 4.30pm on two days. When we surfaced at about 5.15pm, there was no staff to help with the dive gear at the end of the dives. Most of the dive staff return to the main land at the end of each day and this may explain why no one helped us. That said, it would have been helpful if we could be informed of this before our first dive.

Overall, NAD is a well-run resort that would cater to the needs of divers, especially those engaged in underwater-photography.

Room Tip: Opt for the Bungalows only if you need absolute privacy and do not mind climbing some uneven stone s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spooky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAD-Lembeh, Owner at NAD-Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for writing the review, we appreciate the feedback ☺

Just some feedback for your points:

Internet! Yes it’s a pain, I have a plan for the new year! Hopefully it will be better. You were visiting us at a very busy time and our provider did not cope well.

Dining! If you tell us we’ll do it ☺ We were sat next to you on some of those evenings so I hope it wasn’t my soup slurping! We do have some guests who prefer to eat alone – just let us know. We have spare tables for that exact purpose. I hope no one told you that it was not allowed – please let us know if that was the case.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

As always, Lembeh is a great place to dive, especially if you're into small critters and muck diving. I won't spend time talking about the diving as we've always enjoyed the diving in this area, having dived in Manado many times. In this regard, you will not be disappointed - the dive guides know the terrain well and are good spotters. The camera room is really a plus and we were impressed with individual cubicles with lights attached for cleaning our camera gear, a dry cabinet and lots of towels. I have never seen such a good camera room before, even in places like Wakatobi.

The resort itself is not really a resort but more of a lodge, so don't expect more than clean rooms with 24-hour AC. The bungalows - while larger and more private - can be a strain to get to if you have wobbly knees and poor eyesight at night, so if you prefer to be closer to the restaurant and dive centre, opt for the smaller chalet. Our water in the bungalow ran out twice, which was quite a bummer, but the staff members were able to see to the issue as quickly as they could, and were apologetic about it.

Now on to the dive service. There were a few issues: 1. We were diving on Nitrox but the tanks were at best 29% EAN, and never hit above 30% except for one time. 2. We requested for a private dive guide (and paid a premium for it) but there were occasions where we had an additional diver join us, and even a time when one diver was on AIR while we were on NITROX, so that was not ideal as we were mindful to ensure the diver on AIR did not follow our bottom time readings. 3. We did two shore dives in the late afternoon but were quite surprised when no one was around to help us remove the tanks when we resurfaced. We don't expect a porter or someone to wash our gear but at least to remove the tanks and set them aside - the tanks were still strapped onto our gear the next morning. Maybe I am expecting too much but these 3 issues I have listed were never experienced elsewhere.

Room Tip: The bungalows - while larger and more private - can be a strain to get to if you have wobbly knees a...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Spookybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAD-Lembeh, Owner at NAD-Lembeh Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Hi Spookies,

Thanks for taking the time to review. We take your feedback seriously and will take action on this. Firstly thank you for staying with us – I will post the same answer to both of your reviews for clarity.

Shower Water – we are sorry that you had this inconvenience, we just upgraded to a system with higher water pressure and it seems that B4 was not plumbed in as we thought. This is being acted on immediately.

Nitrox – We use a membrane system to produce our nitrox and this typically produces between 30 and 33%. Depending on ambient temperature. Our average over the course of a month has to hit a target of 31.5 and 33%. Upon investigation it seems that one of the analysers had been dropped (by another guest) and the oxygen cell damaged. This unit was replaced already – we check them monthly and this one broke in between those checks.

Housereef – With us being on our pre-Christmas break on your arrival day this may not have been explained in depth and for that we apologise. Normally we do not allow housereef dives on the day of arrival but our staff were trying to help you out due to your flight cancellation and late arrival. With regards to your equipment being left where you dropped it, our housereef is free and self-service. Normally people do not have a problem disassembling their own equipment after the dive. We will be sure to have someone standing by if you should visit us again.

Private Guide – On checkout SpookyT (husband?) was asked if 4 days of private guide had occurred by the resort manager (the answer was yes) and then this was billed.

I can understand that you may feel that our private guide fees are a great expense, but they are in line with other resorts in the area. Also, it clearly states that we do not refund due to flight cancellations in our policy. In effect you got a free private guide for 4 days because my reservation staff broke policy to help you with your missed day / cancelled flight. Taking your feedback on board we believe the solution for the future is to not to allow this confusion to occur, and to recommend the guest to pursue the losses from their travel insurance / airline when flights are cancelled. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope that despite these issues you will come visit again, our management team can remember discussing nudibranchs, diving and other things with you in the evenings , although they are a little confused about the dive problems not being mentioned directly as then we could have found a solution for the remainder of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bitung
1.1 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 9 in Bitung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
4.9 mi away
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
24.2 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
2.6 mi away
Cocotinos Lembeh, A Boutique Dive Lodge
32.8 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#2 of 46 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NAD-Lembeh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NAD-Lembeh Resort

Property: NAD-Lembeh Resort
Address: PO Box 49, Bitung 95500, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bitung
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bitung
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NAD Lembeh is small owner operated family style resort on Lembeh Island, home of Critter and Muck diving. We have FOC house reef diving and 13 full time dive guides. Our camera facilities, with wet and dry camera rooms are highly popular. We offer 2:1 diveguide ratio and full rebreather / nitrox and tec support. Our Head Chef in the Kitchen, Tommy ensures the blend of food is to our guests' tastes. With 10 aircon rooms and 5 aircon bungalows we believe we can offer you a fantastic holiday on a budget. The Resort is compact without feeling small and our staff are very friendly, our location is also in a small private bay on Lembeh Island, far away from the city and its associated noise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nad Lembeh Hotel Bitung
NAD-Lembeh Resort Indonesia/Bitung, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing