We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent diving and great place to stay”
Review of NAD-Lembeh Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bitung
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
NAD-Lembeh Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bitung
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent diving and great place to stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Transfer from the airport was $18 US each and went smoothly. It is a long drive and short boat ride. We were greeted by Zee, one of the owners, and a welcome drink. We arrived at lunch so we had a quick bite, filled out our forms and went for the afternoon dive.

I felt like a kid in a candy store – this place is amazing! Every dive there is a lot to see: octopus, cuttlefish, flying gernard, seahorse, pipefish of all varieties, nudibranches, snake eels, dragonets, frogfish, etc. Dives are fairly easy. Crew looks after setting up your gear if you want them to. They even had our tea made the way we like it when we got on the boat after each dive. Gear stays on the boat after each day and is washed at the end of your trip. There are towels on the boat and lots of room to move around.

Breakfast is 6:30 to 7:30, lunch at 12:00 – 12:30 and dinner at 7:30 – 7:45. Dinner is late to accommodate those doing night dives. There are always home – made cookies each afternoon and water, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and espresso is available 24 hours. On the boat, there is fruit. You might want to bring snacks as 7 hours can be a long time to wait for dinner.

We had a cottage to ourselves but the rooms look great and you still get a view of the bay. All have large porches and plenty of windows. The bed in the cottage is a queen and firm with a sheet. We got extra pillows and blankets. There is plenty of hot water but the hot is on the right side. There is soap, conditioner, body wash, shampoo, towels and washcloths. Water bottle is provided and is refillable for free. A/C works well. There are gaps in the floors so bring bug spray. I did get quite a few bites even with spray.

Food is community style and they accommodated our diet of no beef, fish, seafood or pork. We found it decent. Usually there was a cold salad and always fruit and rice. Do be careful if you are a vegetarian. One night the menu said tofu soup and I bit into what I thought was tofu but was tuna.

Internet is extremely slow and we couldn’t get our email to load so if you need to check bookings or do any sort of planning for the next leg of your trip – have a back up plan.

There is a large camera room if you’re into photography and Serge teaches a course. Simon and Serge are both very knowledgeable should you have questions about starting up. Zee worked tirelessly to make our stay great and when Zee and Simon left for vacation, Serge filled in with grace and good humour.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gbonez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    38
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
86
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We made a second trip to NAD in December, and once again they exceeded our expectations. Simon and Zee just make everyone feel so welcome, and if you're a photographer, they've thought of and provided every convenience down to the smallest detail.

Since I last reviewed NAD, they've remodeled the common area, improved the camera room, built a couple more bungalows, and improved the beachfront rooms. We stayed in one of the latter and were very comfortable - digitally controlled AC, comfy bed, hot shower, and plenty of organization space. Their prices are a good value, the food is yummy, boats are never crowded, guide-to-guest ratios are small, and their guides are amazing. We were lucky to dive with Paulo for most of our stay. He found every critter on our wish list and then some. NAD's guides are also very respectful of the critters, unlike others we've seen in Indonesia.

It's not just the guides that are great at NAD. Last time we were there the office manager, Linda, fixed our return flight fiasco before we even knew there was a problem. This time she managed to retrieve a piece of luggage that Air China had left sitting in Beijing a week before we arrived at NAD. I'm not sure how she did it, because no phone call we made to try to get it delivered had any impact, but she came through! And in the meantime, Simon and Serge fixed us up with the critical components we were missing.

Thanks for another great visit NAD - you once again set the bar that we measure every other resort against. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jdivemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Spent more than 2 weeks of my holiday at NAD, and I could not have choosen better destination: the rooms are nice and clean, with own patio and view of the Lembeh Strait; the food is yummy and there's lot of variation..Furthermore I am vegan , and in case a dish wasn.t suitable with my diet, I used to have a vegan variation done just for me from the Chef!
The straff is really nice and helpful, with the owners in primis , and willing to take care and pet all the guests ( There must be a reason if a very huge percent of guests is repeater!!!)
And, of course, GREAT diving ( but you MUST love muck, since Lembeh is muck diving at 99%, even if there's he chance for a day trip to visit coral walls!)
The guides have very sharp eyes to find the smallest crazy critter, and the 2:1 diving ratio allows everybody to enjoy and take pictures without pressure; last , but not least, they also have a special core for the environment and they teach divers how to behave in order to avoid distressing the Sea Creatures;
So, IF YOU ARE A DIVER, this is the place!
Cannot wait to come back :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Palitoscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was a part of a group of underwater photographers who spent six days at NAD and loved it. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed. The dining area looked brand new and was very comfortable. All the staff at meal times were excellent and could not do enough for us. Each meal was delicious with mainly local dishes. The meals were the best food I have had in my life and would recommend the resort just for the tasty food.

As far as the dive side, each of us had a very spacious cubicle for our camera gear and the camera room was well lit, had plenty of electrical outlets with dry towels. Rinse tanks were large and convenient. Our dive boats had plenty of room and the dive guides were responsible and incredible at spotting critters. I would come back here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewZealandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The resort is small in size but big when it comes to being looked after. For any serious UW photographer or for anyone just getting into UW photography NAD is the place to be. The services offered by the very experienced and knowledgable guides are the best I have encountered on my travels. No worrying about getting a space for your camera as the purpose built camera room can easily accommodate everyone's rigs. The rooms are not luxurious but they are very comfortable and practical. The boats that take you out for your dives are the best in Lembeh. High speed without bumping up and down. On board rinse tanks and most importantly a toilet. This was my 4th vist to NAD in 9 years and I have seen it change a great deal since my first visit. The owners and manager of the resort are all friendly, helpful, extremely knowledgable and enthusiastic. The food is served buffet style which is a mix of local and international fayre. The sunset views from the resort are to die for. Getting there from the UK was via Singapore which is a long haul but well worth the effort.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samui30c1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was my first experience in muck diving and my first diving trip to the Lembeh Straits. After much scouring for the most competitive rates at ADEX 2014 and online, my diving group chanced upon NAD Lembeh and a simple enquiry returned with the most competitive rate amongst the dive resorts in the area. We then proceeded to book in our dive party of 4 at the resort though still not totally sure what to expect. A fellow diver who had dived with NAD Lembeh previously did assuage our fears a little by assuring us we made the right choice.

We were picked up promptly at the airport and ushered seamlessly to the ferry that would took us to the resort and we were warmly welcomed by Zee, the owner, with drinks and wet towels. That set the tone for what turned out to be 5 days of awesome diving!

The resort was superbly maintained with facilities specially catered to divers like a camera room. The rooms were nicely furnished and done up and overall, it was such a quaint setting that it became our little hideaway dive paradise! Our meals had a nice blend of local and western cuisine and there was always enough for everyone at any time, even for in-between meal snacking!

Everything at the resort was so organized and managed so professionally that it was totally hassle free and such a joy to dive with them. The staff were all extremely hospitable and it made our stay very pleasurable.

With regards to the diving, the crew has to be one of the best around! Professionalism was impeccable and not only were they all warm, friendly and fun, they took pains to find out what we were looking for on the dives and endeavored to surpass all our expectations!

The staff and crew are truly commendable and I would strongly recommend anybody looking to go muck diving in the Lembeh Straits to go with NAD Lembeh for they are my new benchmark for diving!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SebastianSimSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This was our second diving trip to the Lembeh area and our first to this resort. Simon, the owner, purchased it a couple of years ago and has completely transformed the place. His attention to detail is evident everywhere from the food to the rooms to the diving. The resort is continually being upgraded - for instance, they have just added a floating dock and were building a canopy over it while we were there.

The best thing about the resort is their commitment to the diving experience of their customers. Simon is an excellent photographer and wants his underwater photography guests to have the trip of a lifetime. They are the only resort in the Lembeh area that has a policy of one dive guide per two divers. Most places are one-to-three or even one-to-four. They have also hired some of the best guides in an area renowned for excellent dive guides. We dive with three, Abner, Paulus and Aso who found everything there was to find. In addition, Simon has built a new camera room for underwater photographers with spacious individual workstations.

Serge, the diving operations manager, is also an excellent photographer who was eager to help us with our setups and making sure we were able to leave with pictures of all the critters we came for. Linda, the resort manager, made sure everything we needed was available, including getting my new Indonesian SIM card to work.

We spent over 30 amazing hours underwater while we were there and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edder1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bitung hotels
1.1 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 2 in Pulau Lembeh
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort
4.9 mi away
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
1.6 mi away
Kungkungan Bay Resort
Kungkungan Bay Resort
#3 of 10 in Bitung
244 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cocotinos Lembeh, A Boutique Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NAD-Lembeh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NAD-Lembeh Resort

Property: NAD-Lembeh Resort
Address: PO Box 49, Bitung 95500, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bitung
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bitung
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bitung
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NAD Lembeh is small owner operated family style resort on Lembeh Island, home of Critter and Muck diving. We have FOC house reef diving and 13 full time dive guides. Our camera facilities, with wet and dry camera rooms are highly popular. We offer 2:1 diveguide ratio and full rebreather / nitrox and tec support. Our Head Chef in the Kitchen, Tommy ensures the blend of food is to our guests' tastes. With 10 aircon rooms and 5 aircon bungalows we believe we can offer you a fantastic holiday on a budget. The Resort is compact without feeling small and our staff are very friendly, our location is also in a small private bay on Lembeh Island, far away from the city and its associated noise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nad Lembeh Hotel Bitung
NAD-Lembeh Resort Indonesia/Bitung, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing