We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tom O”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bitung
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kasawari Lembeh Resort
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I have traveled to many dive resorts but have to admit, this small boutique dive hotel is a top resort for comfort, intimate, and overall a must do place to go to if you want easy diving but bountiful sea life. The 10 villas are roomy with both an inside and outside shower. The air conditioning works perfectly and there is plenty of storage. The views from the dinning level are spectacular as the sky is ever changing along with the various boating life on the straits is fascinating. The dive shop is undercover with freshwater rinse tanks and a really great camera cleaning.assembly, storage room. The food is either Asian or Western. However our policy, when in country, eat the local food that is served on the menu. The staff is great and very responsive to your requests.
I would also take a day off and take a town tour. It includes everything from a large open market to see the various types of fruits, meats, fish, grains, etc are not only sold but various dishes are prepared and sold. The shear number of fish brought in at the sea food landing is amazing. It comes from all over and consists of just about everything that you can imagen is available. We also saw temples, and the local zoo which was unique.
The diving was as expected, as you can't ask for anything more. I spent 10 days in Bonaire and saw 2 frogfish. On one dive here, I saw 7 frogfish. There are more critters that you can ever expect with one of our favorites being the coconut octopus.
I would suggest if you think about traveling to this resort, spend 5-7 days in Singapore, it's worth it. Also go on line and pull up Lembah Straits video's to see what you can expect, especially if you are a photographer. Enjoy the trip if you go because there is no other place like this.

Room Tip: get one of the rooms towards the back, they have the best views looking out at the gardens and the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

Kasawari is a relatively small resort but offer almost the best services in Lembeh from my opinion. With less than 10 villas the resort always focus on the guests and offer excellent dive experiences. The dive masters are all great and attentive, with lots of experience t the dive sites and be able to help me to find my most wanted creatures in Lembeh. The services from the boat crews are also great. No where else you can enjoy the most relax dive trips with hot towels, fruits platters, even hot chocolate fro night dives. I can feel that every feature of the resort is managed well with attendtion to details so that I can fully enjoy the relaxing moments during the stay.

I'll be back Kasawari!

Room Tip: Rooms are all good only depends on how many ppl are you booking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieLeungHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is our first time in Lembeh. I traveled there with my wife and 17 friends. If you like muck diving, look no more. All dive sites are 5-15mins away tops. Tons of crazy little critters and some nice wall dives. The resort is clean and well maintained. The rooms are nice and roomy, and the AC works great. The resort is small, so getting around is easy and quick. If your not diving you may want to look into staying somewhere else, there is not a ton to do there but diving. They really cater to the diver. If you want to read a book and chill at the pool every day, then you will be fine. They do offer excursions, but most of them are far and take up most of the day. The food was nothing extraordinary, but good and plentiful. There were alot of reviews regarding loud music. We heard the "Loud" music one day for a few hours and it was nothing obnoxious. I thought it was actually nice.
The dive staff is amazing!!!! These guys work there butt off for you. You will get yelled at if they see you carrying anything. Big Thanks to Dedy, Nonsix, and Rusli. They will find you all the crazy critters you want. I recommend doing the mandarin dive, very cool. The camera room is the best I have seen, tons of plugs for charging all your camera equipment and good space.
The resort staff is awesome they will bend over backwards for you. they always have a smile on there face. They are always working to keep everything nice and clean and the grounds well manicured. Thanks Aneetha and staff for all your hard work.
Not to many places can get away without having some type of gripe. There were 2, which one was not Kasawari problem. There is alot of trash in the water, its on every dive. It would be nice if the local people could put a program together to help manage that. The 2nd was the lack of a bar, which was a bit disappointing, especially when we gave them good heads up that we enjoy a good cocktail. With that being said, they did offer there local Bintang beer and some wine. My suggestion is if you enjoy a good cocktail grab a bottle at duty free or pack a bottle or 2. They are more then happy to accommodate some mixers :) All and all we enjoyed our time there and would recommend it to anyone who want to do some truly unique diving.
Alittle room tip, 1 and 2 are probably the best views, but all the rooms are nice and close. Also we ran into a very tiny issue in our room. Which for a full day I thought we had a crazy bird living in our room and was keeping me up at night. Turned out it was the TV power converter making the noise. if it's to loud for you, just pull the plug on it before you go to bed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

But certainly not our last time here. The resort is small, intimate, well appointed and run by the legendary Nus Lobbu, THE dive guide for Lembeh back in 1998, our first time in the area. The food has western and Asian dishes (we stuck with the Asian), good prices for the local Bintang beer but BYOB otherwise. Diving was for "the critters" and Ali, our guide who also goes back to the earlier days of diving in Lembeh was an expert at finding them--they seem even smaller now, maybe thats my eyesight.

If you don't dive, don't go. If you have never been in Lembeh and particularly if you are a photographer, this is a must do destination (pack your macro lenses--wide angle will be unused weight in your luggage). This resort will fill all your needs--and they don't stint on dive time--we did 34 dives, three a day and the shortest was 70 minutes.

There have been "noise" comments, they were not a problem for us. Whatever sounds we heard were usually for less than an hour and not late into the night. The rooms are well built and any sounds were muted.

The staff, ranging from the check in, the housekeepers, the restaurant (who kept up with my endless demand for Mangosteens in the early part of the season) to the groundskeepers are just wonderful. Our next trip at Lembeh will be here at Kasawari.

Mike and Raynalda Bryant

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This is supposedly a first rate resort but falls short of the mark. First, it is often noisy - and I mean unbearable from early in the morning - 5:30 AM to late at night. There are villages and dwellings on both sides of the resort - which is very small. Individuals and the villages play loud, amplified music at all hours.

There are two breakfasts. The first is before the first dive. This breakfast offers virtually nothing. Stale bread, colored water - aka juice, stale cereal. Just horrible. The second breakfast is ordered before you leave for your first dive and is better.

The diving is what you expect of Lembeh but... a shadow of what it was even five years ago. The cleaning of fishing nets, over diving, and increased population pressures have taken their toll

Room Tip: When the villages are playing music your only options are very high quality ear plugs and even then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Just returned from a seven night stay,Garry just loved the diving and said it was some of the best he has done in the area,done quite a bit elsewhere same region.Dive guides were excellent camera room excellent and the Villa 1 was terrific, only a small resort and only half full while we were there, only fault we found was they had no bar facilities,they did have one but had no stock of anything much except beer etc,could not make any cocktails as they had no ingriedents,we missed the happy hour that you share with other divers at the end of the day,we are not drinkers much at all but did love to be able to have a cocktail at the end of the day.The pool I had to my self as a non diver and only a couple of steps away from the villa,so very nice,pool kept very clean,umbrella's could do with an update and a few signs warning you not to dive,as it is not a deep pool.As a non diver not much to do,so be prepared to sit around and swim or read. The food was very good quality although fruit should have been ready available at the early morning breakfast,just a bananna would be good,without having to ask staff to get one for you.as they had no orange juice apple juice became a bit sweet,paw paw is not for every one.We thought we would get a xmas day lunch provided but nothing special was done at all, not even any entertainment by staff,would have loved to here them do something for xmas day.They need ice cube trays as the ice machine is broken,staff were having to try to chop up blocks of ice to put in your drinks,a few ice cube trays would have gone down a treat.The staff were all very good indeed and most helpful if asked,they don't all understand english well so take it slow for them.Overall we had a very nice holiday and the diving was terrific for divers it's great.resort very nice setting.Be mindful loud music is played constantly by the two villages along side the resort,almost all the time, it did not worry us as we liked the music being played,but if you don't like loud music it could become an issue. Take some balloons and sweats for the village kids,they loved them.It was still a good holiday and the dive guides and wait staff and house keeping are all excellent.So just go.

Room Tip: if you have the money Villa 1 and villa 2 are the absolute best,but even the other units looked very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faye h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed at Kasawari Lembeh Resort for the last two weeks of a six-week dive trip. It was the perfect ending to our trip, making us regret going home. The most endearing element is the personal service. The famous Lembeh guides from many years ago, Nus and Ali, work here and they manage operations.

We dove with Nus and Ali on a live-aboard in 2006 and stayed at Kasawari for two weeks in April 2011. As manager of the dive operation, Ali makes sure that divers see what they come here for. He knows where to find everything. If he can’t find it, then I am at peace that it was not around. I feel a great deal of affection for him. Another dive guide, “Rusly,” is also excellent. My husband and I had him as a guide, everyday for two weeks.

They have two large, fast dive boats that come back to the resort after every dive. If you miss a dive because you overslept, then you can catch the next dive. You are not stuck on a boat for hours for a two-tank dive. If you request them, there is a Mandarin fish dive at 5 pm and a night dive at 6 pm.

A non-diving spouse would be comfortable reading on the deck or by the pool. If your spouse is a nervous diver, Ali or one of the guides will give them TLC and special hand-holding services.

What is interesting about Lembeh is that the creatures differ by the season. This October we saw 5 or 6 blue ring octopuses, even a pair mating. Last March we saw none. This year we saw no crocodile flatheads, last year we in March, we saw many.

We've stayed in Villa #1 and #2 which are slightly large than the regular bungalows, but all bungalows are nice. The air conditioning really works in getting your room cool. When we left it was raining, and we dried our wetsuits in front of our highly effective air conditioner.

We used our reasonably priced mini-bar. There is a phone in the room to call for room service, although the restaurant is not far away. The restaurant menu has some odd combinations but the menu can be adapted. For example, I requested an avocado and tomato salad, even though these salads are listed separately. I usually ordered fresh string beans instead, whenever French fries were the side dish. Just explain what you want, and they will do it.

All and all, Kasawari is a very pleasant place to visit. There is a large camera room and large camera rinse tanks. Two weeks is a comfortable time and is not too long. There are sufficient dive sites to fill two weeks. If you want to see tiger shrimp, boxer crabs, blue-ring octopus, devilfish, and all the other cool stuff, it is here. The staff is so nice that you will definitely regret going home, no matter how long you have been away.

Room Tip: There is a culture of load music in all the villages of Lembeh Straits. In December and around New Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaruthe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bitung hotels
1.6 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 2 in Pulau Lembeh
626 reviews
5.0 mi away
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
2.3 mi away
Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kungkungan Bay Resort
Kungkungan Bay Resort
#4 of 10 in Bitung
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
0.3 mi away
Cocotinos Lembeh, A Boutique Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasawari Lembeh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasawari Lembeh Resort

Address: Kelurahan Makawidey Jaga 1 Lingkungan 1, Bitung 95528, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Bitung
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Kasawari Lembeh Resort Indonesia/Bitung, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing