We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for muck diving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Bitung
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the resort as part of a package trip in Sulawesi and had some superb muck diving in the Lembeh Straits. The resort has comfortable fully air-conditioned rooms and caters to a wide range of culinary choices. The staffs are very welcoming, and the mangers (Turkan and Katherine) excellent hosts who made us all feel very welcome.

Considering the high temperatures, the outside sitting area can be very humid most of the time and unfortunately the fans cannot be turned on at full speed (as the ceiling pillars began to shake otherwise). So in terms of things that could be done to slightly improve, would say some padestal fans for the sitting and dining areas. Apart from that, an excellent choice of location where you'd not be disappointed.

Oh, a swimming pool would be highly desirable but I can see how that could interfere with barbeques. The resort organised a barbeque for us which was a lovely touch of Indonesian hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerThruTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

We were a group of 18 on this trip, full capacity for the resort. On some days it must have seemed to the managers Tarkan and Kathrin to be like herding cats! They coped well and with patience and care. They listened to the needs of the whole group and accommodated us in every way possible. A lovely resort that really attempts to embrace ecologically friendly ideals. Great hotel and dive crew.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We recently returned home from a one week stay at Eco Divers Lembeh and I can say - this is a trip that we will be looking to repeat. As a dive shop owner, I bring groups to locations around the world and Eco Divers Lembeh was top notch!

The resort is small and located off the water but the daily trip to the day boat gave us an opportunity to see town and discover how the locals lived. The resort itself is very comfortable with townhouse style cottages - 3 bedrooms and a huge common area. The three cottages share an outdoor living and dining room that was very a great place to gather. The food was outstanding. Our group had vegetarian, vegan, gluten free, egg free, dairy free, and numerous other food allergy requirements yet the staff was able to deliver delicious, healthy and generous meals made fresh based on their daily market trips.

The liveaboard style day boat was comfortable, spacious and had all the amenities you might need (including wi-fi - amazing at this remote location!). The skiffs which we used to dive from were also well set up for divers and transported us easily to the dive sites which were all between 3 and 15 minutes away. Diving was amazing - Lembeh is known for its critter diving and our guides were able to spot, identify and interact with the marine life in a way which demonstrated their commitment to ensuring minimal environmental impact. No matter what we saw - they were able to tell us both the common and the latin name - making our fish identification and easy job. With small diver to guide ratios even our most discriminating photographers were happy with the sightings. Clearly the boat staff are some of the best.

All in all, Eco Divers Lembeh is a fantastic resort and we would have no problem recommending it to divers of all levels. The management team - Kathrin and Tarken - were able to exceed every expectation of our highly travelled group and ensured this was a truly amazing experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OceanProDivers_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

tarken and kathrin ,the managers, are waiting on you hand and foot as well as the entire staff. it is a small resort but big hospitality. the food was super as well as i ate sushi twice.. no problem.. if i needed anything they picked it up in town. the dive operation is a short ride away and that experience is a daily treasure to see the local people. be prepared for the ride.. take a camera. the dive guides cannot do enough for you. nado horin and denny? are great.. without them i wouldnot have seen anything or very little.. you go to a small liveaboard and depart for each dive and break for an hr each time on the liveaboard. i took a nap on top deck each time. lol. way cool. saw critters i never thought possible . mimic octopus and all.. tarken has never seen one so i am rubbing it in. thanks so much to all

Room Tip: all are the same with ac, which i was not expecting.staff and managers will get whatever you want. n...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrkfdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Just returned from a 9 day stay at Eco Divers and I had a great time. 1st and for most, wonderful diving, great guides and boat staff. Everyone friendly, helpful and accommodating on the boats and at the resort. The rooms are nice with a large shared common area and a photo room. All air conditioned for your comfort. The trip through Bitung is quick and then it's 5 minutes out to the boat to get your gear and get underway. It's a good system. Back to the houseboat for some hot drinks and a snack or lunch while you wait out your surface interval. Tanks are changed, and your gear is washed overnight. Everything goes smoothly.
Back at the resort it's time for your dinner selection off the menu. The cooking is great and the menu has many selections, both Indonesian & American? food. Desserts are also wonderful. Everything is fresh and cooked to order. Best resort food ever!
The resort also has a good library with field guides.
I had a great time - no regrets, no disappointments.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My dive buddy and I stayed a night here at Eco Divers Lembeh back in December last year and met the owner Jim and his wife.. this place is one of the nicest well designed dive resorts I have ever stayed at. The only reason we could not stay at the Eco Divers Lembeh more than one night is they simply didnt have space because we did not book early enough.. so we stayed at the Eco Divers Minahassa Lagoon in Manado for the bulk of our trip.. Eco Divers Lembeh has everything you need and is very comfortable.. if you're a diver going to photograph the amazing marine life in Lembeh straits, then look no further.. Eco Divers Lembeh set the standard and I would recommend them to anyone.. I will certainly be booking well in advance next time so I can get a few more nights at this place!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a communal area lounge and kitchen plus a dedicated camera room, well air conditioned...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

On first appearance i was a little disappointed but then thats because as a rule my wife and i look for resorts with pools, beach side, stunning views, access to night life and ideally on site dive access. (Note only the later point really impacts on the quality of diving).
Eco seem to know although i might like those things the reality is we came to dive and serious divers rarely get time to lay on hotel sunbeds, laze in the pool or go out into the town late at night. So they seem to focus on comfortable accomodation, good night sleep, excellent food, access to chargers, computers for photo and web access, and significantly a superb diving base on a boat moored in the middle of the Lembeh Strait from which there are great views and the tenders operate.
They round that all off with great guides and support staff and excellent management above and below water by Cary whose presence and interaction with guests ensures you get the best out of your trip.
The resort is small consisting of a number of villas with guest rooms off them. Each villa has a large lounge and dining area tea and coffee facilities, water tower and popcorn in the afternoons. The villas also have a camera room with chargers and PC with web access. Bedrooms are comfortable with ensuite walk in showers. The communal area lounge bar and restaurant are in a seperate open sided building.
Transfer from resort to harbour is about 15 minutes but the journey is interesting as it gives you a chance to see local life. At the harbour one of the tenders takes you a short trip to the large boat moored in the middle of the Strait.
This boat has a dive deck, saloon and top deck for sun and shade. The boat makes a great base for briefing and relaxing at lunch and between dives. I recoommend the hot chocolate and cakes between dives. The tenders run divers to the Lemeb sites which are fairly near and tanks and kit remains on them between dives. The guides seem very good at finding local marine life which can be very difficult to spot and also rounding up slow divers in my case. The ratio was about one guide to four. Lots of muck diving and a superb night dive.
On the last day they offered a trip to see the Tarsier Monkeys, Hornbill and Macaques in the jungle.
In conclusion: on arrival i was a bit disappointed when i left i had had a great diving holiday, slept and ate well and felt that maybe Eco Divers know what i need more than i do.....
Reviewer Own Kit, Regular Buddy, Approx 400 Holiday Dives, Photo Enthusiast

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkdon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bitung
5.1 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 2 in Pulau Lembeh
624 reviews
23.2 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
542 reviews
5.4 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Kungkungan Bay Resort
Kungkungan Bay Resort
#4 of 10 in Bitung
248 reviews
12.4 mi away
Kalinaun Resort - Lembeh & Bangka
5.9 mi away
Black Sand Dive Retreat
Black Sand Dive Retreat
#6 of 14 in Bitung
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Divers Resort Lembeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Divers Resort Lembeh

Address: Madidir Ure Lingkungan II RT 07, Bitung 95515, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bitung
#3 Spa Hotel in Bitung
Price Range: £80 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Eco Divers Resort you'll find the very best value service anywhere in Lembeh. These resort is designed by Eco Divers specifically for discerning divers. It is a stylish yet intimate retreat, from which you can conveniently explore all that Lembeh has to offer. Why pay more? Eco Divers Resort Lembeh has all you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Eco Divers Resort Lembeh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh Hotel Bitung
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh Indonesia/Bitung, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing