We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went as strangers left as friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Bitung
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have moved on to Manado after a fantastic week at Lembeh. Kathrin and Tarkan are just wonderful. Our room was decorated with flowers when we arrived as this was our honeymoon. We could not have gone to a better place. The food was outstanding, the staff were all amazing and so attentive. The massages were wonderful and the diving was first class. The 2 dive guides Man and Horine were both wonderful. We had 20 dives and all were great. My husband John notched his 100th dive and was very happy to see the blue ringed octopus, flamboyant cuttlefish, other octopus and cuttlefish to name but a few. Overall we have seen, long arm octopus, wonder pus, many many Nudibranchs apart from all the usual coral fish.
Man helped me with my photographs and Horine took us on a night dive. This was only my 2nd night dive ever in 450 dives. This was because I totally trusted both Horine and Man. I wanted to see a squid.. And we did.
The waiter Rivo was lovely and yesterday we had a great day out around the volcanos and lakes with our driver Noldi and our translator the fantastic Kay. In fact we want to take her home with us!
The staff were always attentive and John has just said they were excellent at anticipating our needs. In fact I think they were could read minds. We also need to thank Lydia at Oonas divers in UK for suggesting this holiday.
We are now in Manado but do not see how Lembeh can be beaten.

Room Tip: Tea making facilities in room so don't bother with a kettle it is not needed. Also very little c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife & I enjoyed a leisurely 12 dives over 4 days at Eco Divers Lembeh in early May and of course the muck diving was world class. Even more so, though, was the combined efforts of Tarkan & Kathrin, & their team, who hosted us to an incredible stay. We have never felt more at home and spoilt with their brand of genuine care & hospitality delicately balanced with top-notch efficiency, often going beyond the call of duty. If all you want is to dive, be safe, have fun, with good rest in between, there is no better place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0urneyMan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 days to dive, having first been to Eco Divers Manado. Kathrin and Tarkan who manage the operation are really superb: perfect organisation along with an enthusiasm and expert knowledge which they are happy to share. The dive guides are great - I particularly enjoyed the day we spent with Man, whose ability to spot critters was amazing. We did 3 dives per day, plus 2 night dives on top of that, and on every dive we found new things and it just kept getting better. The accommodation at the resort is very comfortable and quiet, and the friendly and helpful staff really add to the experience. The diving in Lembeh really is unique. I loved it and really recommend it to all my fellow divers without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AChandler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I went to Bitung for our first experience of muck diving and stayed with Eco Divers. We'd already spent a week diving in Minado and went to Lembeh just for 3 days. On arrival we discovered we were the only guests and were concerned that might be a bit strange but Tarkan and Kathrin made us feel really welcome and were excellent hosts. The food was delicious and the diving fantastic. The diving set-up is great and Man and Horin were knowledgeable, friendly and great fun. Kathrin's advice on photography was excellent and turned my happy snaps into something resembling underwater photographs. We loved it here; it felt like staying with friends. It's well worth visiting the Macaques too - thank you Tarkan and Kathrin.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKWadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our second time at Eco Divers Lembeh, and we're the kind of people that usually vary our destinations. That says a lot, and even more when we are considering a return within a couple of years I'm sure.
It really is best of both worlds with the setup. When you're back at the cottages you're looked after by a team of professional and friendly hospitality staff, served delicious food, get to relax in nice surroundings, chat to fellow divers and take a drink before going to sleep in a comfy bed. There are great and very spacious camera facilities too, a must due to the amount of large cameras potentially there.
Then on to the diving. A short drive down to the boat through rural Indonesia and it's time to focus on the real reason you're there. By staying on the boat away from the resort all day, it's easy to get into and stay in the mindset of diving and keeps other divers focused and punctual too - important when there are 3 day and 1 night dive on offer every day. This means that all sites can be dove according to the best conditions or divers requests, not having to stay close to get the timing right. The daily mother boat and the speedboats all have comfort and photo features, there is real thought about what divers need and want. Wifi, plentiful rinse tanks, towels, hostess services, relaxing areas etc the list goes on.
The people always make or break any trip. The drivers, chefs, boat staff, housekeeping, hostesses are all friendly and fun. The guides excel at their main task - spotting critters. Hurin was humble, eager to please and professional. Franky exuded experience and was full of information about the area. Man (Edward Muckstickhands) was phenomenal, eyes like a hawk, encyclopaedic knowledge and a control of his group of divers (limited to 4) that showed a deep understanding of what each person was after and an ability to deliver that. It was an individual applied service that was amazing to watch - I too am a professional diver and was seriously impressed. And the team was headed up by Tarkan and Kathrin who kept big smiles on hand whatever time of day (we arrived at 1:30am....) and became members of the holidaying dive group (always eating with us, often drinking with us, occasionally diving with us) while keeping a handle on things. Bravo.
So in all, very good, top marks 5 out of 5! And that's before listing the critters: hairy frogfish, Pygmy Seahorses, ghost pipefish, Lembeh sea dragons, more shrimp species than you can comprehend....octopus, cuttlefish, squid of all shapes, sizes and species....but if you're looking at Lembeh you know about the diving. If you're looking at Eco Divers, stop looking and book it, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed here with my husband for 7 nights for the first half of our holiday to Sulawesi. We were made very welcome, despite the torrents of rain when we arrived. All the staff were very friendly and the managers, Tarkan and Kathrin are excellent. The food is delicious and by ordering dinner at breakfast time, it ensures there is no wastage as only food ordered is then bought from the local market. We rarely had any space for dessert even though the chocolate brownies were yummy.
The rooms were clean and provided ample space for storage. There are separate rooms with no air conditiong for setting up underwater camera equipment, with PCs for reviewing photos at the end of the day. Do not expect views from the windows, the resort is within Bitung. It can be noisy when the neighbours decide to have a big party. They seem to celebrate Christmas and New Year throughout the whole of January!
The diving is well organised and the guides excellent. The creatures we saw were amazing. There is a 15 minute car ride to the sea which takes you through the centre of Bitung. This was interesting as you get to see the local activities.
Tarkan arranged for us to visit the rain forest to see the Tarsiers and Black Crested Macaques. This was well worth missing an afternoon dive for as we had very close encounters with these animals and the bonus of seeing a Cuscus Bear and a Hornhill.
There is no swimming pool, however we would not have found the time to use one. It would only have been missed if we decided not to dive one day.
I would highly recommend this resort for those wishing to dive on a daily basis.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

stayed here for eight nights with diving included as part of a two centre stop over in northern Indonesia, the whole operation is well organised, food is cooked to order, rooms always clean and well laid out, staff are attentive, i've normally chosen dive centres on the beach, but I enjoyed the 15 minute taxi ride to the boat every morning, nice to see the area enroute.
from the outside the accomadation looks tired but as I said inside its something else, the communal areas are well laid out with telly and plenty of reading material.
special thanks to Tarken and Katherine, the managers, who were very pleasant and professional and tried to satisfy every request, even going out of there way to fetch plug adaptors and memory cards from the local town..... i'd definetly come back !!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bitung
5.2 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 2 in Pulau Lembeh
642 reviews
5.4 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
4.4 mi away
Kungkungan Bay Resort
Kungkungan Bay Resort
#4 of 11 in Bitung
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Casabaio Paradise Resort
Casabaio Paradise Resort
#25 of 49 in Manado
33 reviews
0 mi away
Botanica Nature Resort
Botanica Nature Resort
#10 of 11 in Bitung
11 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cocotinos Lembeh, A Boutique Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Divers Resort Lembeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Divers Resort Lembeh

Address: Madidir Ure Lingkungan II RT 07, Bitung 95515, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bitung
#4 Spa Hotel in Bitung
Price Range: £76 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Eco Divers Resort you'll find the very best value service anywhere in Lembeh. These resort is designed by Eco Divers specifically for discerning divers. It is a stylish yet intimate retreat, from which you can conveniently explore all that Lembeh has to offer. Why pay more? Eco Divers Resort Lembeh has all you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Eco Divers Resort Lembeh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh Hotel Bitung
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh Indonesia/Bitung, Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing